We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cameron House Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th Anniversary and had a lovely stay. We liked the fact that it is a little more of a "hands off" B & B. You don't feel like you have to sit down and talk to someone all of the time. It is in a nice location and convenient to the Nags Head area as well. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
97
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

If, of course, your grandma has impeccable taste in decorating arts and crafts style bungalows. This is not the kind of place that waits on you hand and foot - you have to put your own breakfast on the plate and take it to the table. But when you're finished, your hostess will clean up after you, clean towels will magically appear in the bathroom, and the bed elves will have snuck in to tidy the sheets. That's relaxed, not stuffy, OBX hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask about the firmness of the mattress. We got a hard one in Featherstone (the fireplace room), but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernlizbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Cameron Inn right before Christmas. We were unfamiliar with the Outer Banks area and just guessed about staying in Manteo. The Cameron House was the perfect place for us. It was cozy, extremely clean, very comfortable, very attractive and just what we needed. Our bedroom was large, our bed was extremely comfortable with good linens, and the bathroom was perfect. The breakfasts were yummy and varied. Cake or cookies were always available, also a stocked refrigerator for water, one's wine storage, etc. One could explore the charming town of Manteo on foot, or drive to the other towns in the Outer Banks. The staff were delightful and very helpful in directing us to the Outer Bank attractions. We had a great getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousegland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at Cameron House. Susan was our host. What an excellent employee to have! Excellent food, immaculate housekeeping, wonderful little surprises (homemade cookies, cakes, breakfasts, fires on the porch) Twas a wonderful expeience for us. Having had several hundred employees myself, I could only wish that 10 percent of them were like Susan at the Cameron. We will definately be back!!


Bill, Deb ,Mick, and Molly

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandDebandMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just had my second experience staying at Cameron House and couldn't be more delighted with the fun staff, great accommodations and good food. Great place to stay and look forward to my next stay with them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLY SPRINGS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our stay at the Cameron Inn was nice and quiet. Great time and hostess' were very friendly. Very close to downtown and the waterfront. Breakfast was great and sitting area around fireplace was very nice.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONES J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our stay at the Cameron House Inn was our last night here at the outerbanks. Absolutely the right choice to unwind and relax. I loved the atmosphere, it was so layed back; if feels almost like home. The room was so comfortable and quiet, nicely furnished and clean. We slept extremely well. The common areas were great and I specially loved the front porch swing with pillows. Lots of stuff included like the drinks, cookies, snacks, awesome breakfast etc. I hope to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: I loved the upstairs, more private and quiet. I also think the rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
796 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Property: Cameron House Inn
Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cameron House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing