We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing/Viberant”
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cameron House Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing/Viberant”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wife and I checked in around seven p.m. Met Mrs. Hannah
Very sweet young lady.
Went out to dinner!!!
Retired around nine p.m.
Extremely quite.
Almost had the Inn to ourselves.
Nice tub!!
Awoke early six a.m.
Chef was busy in the kitchen at seven thirty we were served breakfast....delicious made to order eggs!!!!
Plenty of food however breakfast is scheduled for
Eight a.m.-ten a.m.
All around very quant and cozy
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkMonkey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
99
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

First off, the Inn is perfectly situated in Manteo, near downtown and docks (walking distance) and delicious places to eat. It is also easy to access the beach over the nearby bridge and the water and beach are just gorgeous any time of the year, but summer is the only time the water is warm enough to swim and then only later June. Don't let that stop you, however, because the beach walking and shell collecting is fun and sun bathing and surfing, especially board surfing is good. The Inn itself offers lovely, roomy accommodations in a restored house and a most abundant breakfast, complete with cooked to order eggs, great pastries, and local fruit. The InnKeepers also are the editors and printers of magazines on the other towns and attractions in the area, so are an abundance of helpful information. I can't recommend this stay more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneTravelerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I would highly recommend the Cameron House Inn if you are visiting the Outer Banks. We stayed in Creef, a downstairs bedroom, which was beautifully decorated and well equipped. It had a nice bathroom with a good shower. The staff at the B&B were extremely friendly and helpful. There were lots of nice extra touches - free cold and hot drinks all the time, fresh made cookies available, lots of good towels, comfy bed. The breakfasts were excellent with a choice of hot items as well as fruit, cereal, toast etc. The inn has lovely gardens and is walking distance to the waterfront and bars and restaurants. We will definitely use the inn again in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I spent our 26th anniversary at Cameron House Inn. We had a wonderful time. We especially enjoyed the warm hospitality of Bern and Susan. They are both very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. They also took time to make a delicious breakfast each morning. One morning we had quiche, bacon and fresh fruit. Another morning we had biscuits and bacon gravy with eggs cooked to order. There were fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies always available. We loved the cool evenings by the fire and the afternoons swinging in the front porch swing. The house is well appointed and was restored true to its original character of craftsman style architecture. We really slept well in that Kingfisher bed. If you are looking for a place to rest and refresh your body, consider The Cameron House Inn. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Room is my personal favorite. However every room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We enjoyed the Cameron House Inn. It is in the village of Manteo and just a 2-3 minute walk into the center of town. There are plenty of shops and restaurants and a great boardwalk along the waterfront. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy a view of the sound. But it is hard to leave the great back porch at the Inn. Comfortable rocking chairs, a fireplace for the evening, and surrounded by Jasmine. We spent a couple of hours on it every morning and evening. The rooms are very nice and the bed was comfortable. The average rating is based on the breakfast - the food that was supposed to be hot was cold and none of the items served were worth mentioning - the quiches, cakes, and other items were all from the grocery store. I expected more given the room rate.

Room Tip: Bring a bottle of wine to drink on the back porch in the evening. The town theater is just a block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Cameron House Inn in Manteo is a first class experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay there and hope to return soon. The room was spotless, and well appointed, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. This will definitely be my B&B of choice next time I visit Manteo.

Room Tip: This is one of the few B&B I have found that has a with a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This past weekend we got to stay at the Cameron House Inn. I have stayed in quite a few B&B's but this was the absolute cleanest stay by far! My husband and I enjoyed riding bikes all through Manteo and along the water, then we returned and chatted by the fire with some coffee and cake which was left out for our convenience. We loved the Jasmine filling the air. Such a neat, relaxing and homey place! We hope to return again!

Room Tip: The Avocet has a great tub and shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Property: Cameron House Inn
Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cameron House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing