We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dare Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here thinking we got a good deal after staying in a wonderful bungalow at Ocracoke for the same price-WRONG! The first clue should have been the smell of urine and dirty animals in the small office/lobby. The rooms looked fairly clean I admit, but I couldn't get past the torn comforter and the mildew (I guess) stains on a pillow case as well as the icky feel of walking barefoot on the carpet. But, the outside was nice and the location was pretty good .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daijasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

It is old and worn, but so is the town. We had a great trip to the Outer Banks and stayed at a number of different places. This place is old and very basic.

Something odd... They had an area for their dogs to run around behind the hotel... like right behind our windows. Also, the dogs were in the lobby / room where you check in. Cleanliness issues? Perhaps.

The rooms, however, were very clean. If you need a cheap place to stay that is clean, this place is decent.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlenio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

The first impression when we got there was not too good. The lady behind the counter was somewhat rude, but later that day after the shift change, the new front desk clerk was much, much nicer.

We stayed in their "honeymoon suite" which was somewhat nice, but nothing special. The walls were tissue paper thin. We could hear everything being said by a group of people outside of our door. The beds were comfortable though, but the rest of the furniture was very old and worn. The rooms were also incredibly small.

The location was wonderful just miles from shopping and the beach at Nags Head. The "Lost Colony" attraction was right down the street as well.

Im not going to say that this is a bad motel, because it certainly is not. My wife and I would return if we needed a weekend get-a-way and didn't have a lot of money to spend. However, if you can afford 30-40 dollars more, I would recommend finding a good deal on the internet and invest in a nicer hotel. All-in-all we were satisfied because for 90 dollars a night, one couldn't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clemmon, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

I stayed one night on a duck hunting trip..found the room to be clean and pet friendly..motel even has an enclosed dog fun, so I you have your best friend with you, its a good place to stay for a decent price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticketwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

My husband and I had stayed at this motel five years ago and found it had character. The place was old, but the rooms were clean and unique. I returned in June and found it still old, but the rooms clearly have had no repairs in the five years since I was there last. It was clean, but we didn't feel what we were charged was comparable to the quality of the rooms. I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Easy to get to
  • Disliked — It was too run down
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NCtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.8 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
6.6 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Property: Dare Haven Motel
Address: Rt. 64/264, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing