We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mom and Pop place in the heart of Manteo”
Review of Dare Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you need huge rooms, room service, valet parking and a cafe, then this is probably not going to suit you very well. Or if there are more than three of you, or if any of your party is very large...

However, my wife and nine year old daughter and I found it to be quite comfy, and without the musty smell other folks experienced. We were in room 27. It was clean, cheap (65$ per night), had a decent inroom fridge, and a wall unit heater/ac. It was also about 5 minutes easy drive to the NC Aquarium, Festival Park, Ft. Raleigh and the NC Mariner's Museum. Several restuarants within a couple minutes drive, and a Italian eatery right across the road. Desk staff was personable, and we could park right in front of our room. Wooden chairs, benches, and a friendly cat made me feel right at home.

Ok, so the bathroom is small... We didn't plan to spend much time in there anyway... The hot water worked fine, and plenty of it. Overall, I'd say it had character, something most of the newer ones don't. We'd go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tyaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I really wanted to love this motel. Its got a great location, and a stop along the way for us to get to Buxton, OBX. The outside is well landscaped and maintained, the front desk check in easy and the staff very friendly and easy to work with. The room (28) was clean, but a bit dated. The large mini-fridge and microwave were a nice touch. The bathroom was tiny, but the water was hot. It took about 2 hours for the room to cool down, since the AC must be cut off after each visitor leaves. All this was fine. My only issue was the same as other reviewers. An overwhelming musty smell that never went away. I just can't move past it. I smelled it when we got there, when we came back from dinner, and every minute in the room. If this is not an issue for you, all the other things offered (cleanliness, price, location) are worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After checking the reviews, decided to give the old place one more chance. Love the location, great person at checking in, parking in front of the room was great, great outdoor sitting allowed for great fellowship and breathing in that OBX clean air. The room, however, was something to be desired....as soon as we walked in Room 17.........the musty smell and humidity would knock your socks off. A/C was cut on immediately and the windows opened. We contemplated on getting another room but.............heck fire, this was a fishing trip, and maybe by the time we got back the air would be better. After supper, the air was better but the musty smell hung around after we shut the windows. Checking around I found fresh paint over delaminated paneling in several places and could only surmise that the musty smell lurked behind. Linen were clean but after finding a small waterbug or roach bug crawling up the wall, made us check the mattress edges for possible surprises.........nothing found! Again, it was the cheapest place to lay our heads after a long day of fishing and the beds slept good but...........the musty smell was the biggest issue....and that definitely made Room 17 a bummer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This certainly is not a fancy motel, nor does it have many amenities, but if you are on a budget and simply looking for a clean place to rest your head the Dare Haven is for you! I had a great experience staying here with a friend. There was plenty of space for two (four would have been a little more cramped, but manageable) and everything was clean. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling in the area who is on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Best price we could find for an OBX hotel/motel. While a little dated, the room was clean, cozily decorated, with a small fridge, flat screen tv, and comfy rockers on the "porch". Park directly in front of your room. They were full up and turning folks away while we were there, so glad we booked in advance. Wifi worked. Several other guests had pets with them -- didn't cause any problems. There was a large group with children having a picnic in the grassy central area. Kids were a bit noisy and kicking a soccer ball around (which had me a little worried about the rental car), but no problems. Short drive to the Elizabethan gardens and the Aquarium. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, around a central parking and picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area however most places were well over $100. We decided to search hotels in the surrounding areas and found reviews for this hotel. I called and was informed that rooms were available and the price was a little less than $100 so we decided to check it out. We stayed in a room with double beds. The room was clean, had a refrigerator, a good sized shower (no tub) and cool air. We actually found the place to be more than expected. We would definitely consider staying here again. Negatives would be no hair dryer, microwave or coffee pot in the room. Positives far outweigh these minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1a9v5i5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Close to everything and very clean. Half the price of other places in OBX. Park in front of your room and enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. Quiet & a great place for couples without the noise of a pool or kid activities. The owners are super nice. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just2Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.1 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Address: 819 US Highway 64 and 264, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9462
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing