We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Adequate Accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #9 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Adequate Accommodations”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

One night stay in the motel. Adequate, clean, comfortable, drive right up to your door. The whole place has a laid back feel. The room had a nice little wicker sitting area with a wicker coffee table, mini-microwave, and fridge. Water was hot, shower was good, bed was comfortable. Nice spacious closet area. AC is a small room unit mounted in the wall. Heat is baseboard. TV was low quality but worked fine with cable. This is a no frills kind of place, so if you need more keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedred1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel during a recent visit to the Outer Banks for a wedding. The location was excellent for attending the festivities, which were on the Manteo waterfront. This hotel is definitely no frills. But it was clean. The towels could use an upgrade. They were extremely small and I had to use 2 towels in order to dry myself after showering. There is no breakfast here although they do have a Keurig coffee maker in the office where you can get coffee in the morning. The room had a small refrigerator and so we bought some yogurt and granola and had that for breakfast along with the coffee. The television was ancient and while there was an extensive listing of cable channels, our television was not able to get any of them. Fortunately, we did not have any small children that needed some entertaining. We were also fortunate that the weather was not too hot or humid during our stay because the air conditioner in our room was very challenging to operate. It seemed like it was either too hot or too cold. For the most part, this is a decent little hotel but they should invest a little bit of money on upgrading the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the little lifeboat house for a long weekend. The floors, counters, and bathrooms were VERY dirty. I actually went out to buy my own cleaning supplies. We spent far less money on a beachfront five star hotel in Delray Beach Florida for the same amount of nights.
Positives- great location in walking distance to historic downtown Manteo. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pettravelstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
283 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We needed one more night in Manteo and our two choices were the DARE HAVEN which acceptts dogs and ISLAND GUESTHOUSE- We chose the latter. PERFECTLY BEACHY- clean friendly small and personalized motel. easyto drive right by it as it looks like a house from the street and is on the left side as you head to the fort and other sites on Roanoke Island. It is across the street from the lg elementary school which is the second big school you will pass. Driveway is super narrow so go slowly! This same proprietor has fancy more expensive cottages that won awards in COASTAL LIVING MAGAZINE so he knows his stuff. The COASTAL LIVING spread is framed in the lobby for all to enjoy. We could not have been more comfortable and they do accept well behaved dogs for a small fee. Tile floors in the rooms are ideal andwe rolled up our throw rugs which had some spots from a previous four legged visitor. My only suggestion would be to get rid of rugs with obvious spots like those. But we would head back in a skinny minute if you like spacious motel style rooms with window airconditioners like we do. BTW, there are tons of closeby restaurant choices at all levels of ":foodiness." Have fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

You are ten minutes from the beach and paying a third less (at least) than in-season beach prices. These are clean, simple beachy accommodations. The wifi does not work in the rooms (I was told this before I booked. It works in the lobby) and we did have some issues with electricity as two of the outlets did not work. But in general it was a very nice room and we loved the little seating area under the palm tree behind the lobby. There is also an ice maker with plastic bags to bag your own ice for your cooler! There is a coffee-pod machine in the lobby as well, that makes good coffee. We have not seen the cottages, but they look very cool in the brochure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay in Manteo. Nice, clean cottage. Not on the water. But a short walk to downtown. The Endless Summer Cottage owned and operated by the Island Guesthouse and Cottages is, as my wife would say, "cute as a button". Small but well stocked and quaint; fairly new and in excellent condition. Our only gripe was that both bedrooms were upstairs with a bath between. But that bath only has a tub; no shower. So we had to make the trip downstairs for the shower. In any event, yes, I would recommend the place without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the little life boat house for our honeymoon last July. It was the perfect place. The cottage the island, the people were all wonderful!! It is such a laid back island but plenty to do and see. The history is rich and the scenery breathtaking!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazmodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,433 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
796 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Property: The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing