We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Endless Summer Cottage is Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Endless Summer cottage is excellent in every way! It is a new build so all of the fixtures are brand new; it had beautful wood trim and tastefully decorated in surfing decor. The kitchen was fully stocked and plenty of towels, soap, TP, etc. in the bathrooms. It is located on a residential lot with two other new cottages; they share the yard and large tree house; there was a patio for sitting outside. It is close to the Manteo waterfront shops, etc. and you could walk it if you wanted. If you want a beach front location or need a pool for kids, this is not for you. We arrived around 7pm, and the lady at the motel check-in desk was not friendly; she seemed perturbed that we arrived so late, but I did call ahead and let her know were were on our way. The owner of the cottage had left a guest book with his name and cell # in case you needed to contact him; I appreciated this. The cottage is very relaxing and we would return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in the 3-bed efficiency, in the motel part in back. This place is totally old-school - right down to the hand written registry. The bedrooms and bathroom were super small. But is was clean enough and met our family's needs with a nice sized refrigerator/freezer, microwave, enough sleeping space for six and cable TV. We enjoyed the shared patio space between the buildings for an hour or so each evening, but found it odd that the owner/manager, who lives on-site never appeared or introduced herself. The lock on the exterior door entrance was minimal - just a push button - and there was some noisy foot traffic through the property in the middle of the night that was a little disarming. But, the price was awesome ($99/night) and considering we were out and about during the day and we really only needed it for sleeping, The Island Guesthouse/Motel was just fine. Not fancy, mind you. But perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MusicMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

After searching, searching and searching for a roomy place to stay in the Outer Banks area that wasn't a large house rental, I came upon this property and the three cottages. We stayed in the Little Lifeboat house, and it was really nice. Two levels, with a bedroom and roomy bathroom upstairs (nice whirlpool tub for two) and a small kitchen and living area plus bathroom downstairs. The place had all the amenities to make our stay comfy. We could cook in the kitchen (might need to be stocked with some new pots/pans), barbecue on the little grill outside (charcoal and lighter fluid supplied!) and even do laundry. It was great for a short stay but would be nice for even longer stays. The location was great on the quiet island of Roanoke and close to the historic waterfront area downtown. My boyfriend and I took walks in the evenings to the waterfront area and really enjoyed the cute residential areas to walk through. There is a 'Food-A-Rama' right down the street so you can stock the kitchen (be sure to pack your coffee with you as there is a coffeepot, but no coffee -- not something you want to discover first thing in the morning for those coffee addicts!). All in all, it was a great place -- quiet, comfortable and peaceful. We really enjoyed the built in sound system, watching DVDs (there is a Red Box rental service in the Food-A-Rama) and relaxing over the memorial day weekend. We would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahleah311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed at the Endless Summer cottage and were pleasantly surprised. For a small cottage it had all of the amenities: granite countertops, stainless appliances, flat screen TV's in living room and both bedrooms, tiled bathrooms. Crafted well with attention to detail - loved the "surfer" theme that was present throughout. Close to downtown Manteo shops and restaurants. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WkndTravlrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This was a charming 60's style motel.It has been remodeled and is everything you need when staying on the outer banks! It was clean the service was great.The staff was excellent.I stayed here on July 4th 2009 and Manteo has an excellent fireworks display.This little motel only had 9 rooms but service was great and dollar for dollar it is the best stay in the area.If you have to have the Hilton stay at the Hilton ILL STAY HERE AGAIN!!!! You will have to drive to the beach (5 minute drive)but research Manteo NC this is a great little water front town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parrothead6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We were going to stay in the motel part. We saw the room when we got there and were disappointed. It looked very outdated and dark. We asked to see an open cottage, and The Wright Getaway was available. We loved it! Small but great amenities (kitchen, jacuzzi tub, private driveway). We're glad we upgraded! The cottage was about 15 minutes from Nags Head. We were allowed to have our Yorkie there for a fee.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We spent a weekend at the Little Lifeboat House last spring and were very happy with the experience. The house is so cute and perfect for two people, though it could easily fit four.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank george1ai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
8.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: £49 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Guesthouse & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Island Guesthouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing