We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well appointed room with a beautiful view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burrus House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burrus House Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Tidewater, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed room with a beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The staff is wonderful and helpful though they push a mediocre restaurant nearby when you check-in. The room was actually a 2 room suite with a bathroom with a jacuzzi. It was finely appointed, well stocked with coffee and a real coffee maker. The view from the private balcony is breathtaking at sunrise and sunset. The floors were recently polished and extremely slippery which required constant vigilance to avoid slipping. The oddest feature was a tiny tv placed on a high shelf in the living area. The screen was no bigger than a computer screen which made it impossible to watch from the bed and almost impossible to view from the sofa in the living area. The location is the only down side to the Burrus House. It is located outside the town of Manteo, not within walking distance on a road full of strip shopping centers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamPamTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    12
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I were in town for a night to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. After looking at several options in Manteo we settled on Burrus and couldn't have been more pleased! Room and bathroom were beautiful and we loved the views we got to take in while relaxing on our private deck and watching a storm blow in over the water. Very laid back and quiet here, which was just our style. In addition, all necessities in the kitchenette were thought out, with a bottle opener/corkscrew in the drawer for the non-twist beer we picked up on the way in. Would definitely stay here again and have already talked about how nice it would be in the fall!

Room Tip: We stayed in Amelia Delnoy. Super spacious with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lascassas, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Beatrice Estelle suite on the third level. As other reviewers have noted, this suite is wonderful. It is beautifully furnished with everything you need for your stay. A kitchenette with granite countertop, sink and microwave, a separate living area with a leather loveseat with an orential rug. The bedroom is also beautifully appointed with a king size bed and sitting area. Then there is the bathroom!! You will love the double sinks and the shower for two. There is also a jacuzzi for two as well. We have always wished for a bathroom like this when staying at B&B's and inns!

The suite has several decks. The main deck has a settee and two chairs which looked to be made of teak. The views are absolutely wonderful. We love nature and found the deck to be a great place to view all of the wildlife in the area. We spotted an osprey's nest, saw a raccoon and numerous egrets. There was also a pair of Canada Geese with their goslings of which I was able to photograph.

I also have to mention the fact that tropical storm Andrea was in the area. Vickie was so accomodating and anticipated our every need. She furnished us with an umbrella and flashlight just in case. The weather ended up being great aside from a little rain. Vickie also gave great dining and attraction recommendations.

We loved everthing about the Burrus House Inn. If you are looking for a place that is peaceful and relaxing with great proximity to town and many restaurants and shops, this is it. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a room at the third floor with two great balconies overlooking the bay and Manteo. It was wonderful to sit outside at night and in the morning, hearing nothing but crickets and birds. Inside the room is very spacious, with a small kitchen and living room, a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed, and a beautiful bathroom with a king-size shower and a jacuzzi. Our room couldn't be better. Breakfast is not included, but the owner is happy to give tips on restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I were married in manteo in April 2012 and spent our first night at the Burrus house (arriving by boat). It could not have been more ideal. Fireplaces, hardwood floors, romance, intrigue -- it's all there. Vicki is super helpful and even gave us wedding ideas as we were making plans. We went back to Burrus this year to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and hope to return again soon. We miss it.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent a beautiful weekend in this fabulous Inn, indifferent to the chilly evening outside and enjoying the view, with the warmth of a fireplace. Elegant and cozy! First class construction and appointments----everything is top drawer and it's one of the nicest B&B's we've ever visited. Can't say enough nice things about it.

Room Tip: Reba Irlene was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blountstreetadvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I love to stay at the Inn. It is in a quiet location overlooking the sound with beautiful views. The rooms are cozy and relaxing. I have never slept better in my life. I find the Inn the best place in the world for me to escape from the everyday stresses, hustle and bustle of life. It is a wonderful place to recharge your energy. Vicki is very knowledgeable about the area and always a joy to talk to. I hate when is time to leave but always look forward to many return visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Colony Inn
First Colony Inn
#1 of 5 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrus House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrus House Inn

Property: The Burrus House Inn
Address: Highway 64-264, P.O. Box 913, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrus House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront suites with private decks, king beds, kitchenettes, separate living areas, showers and jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Burrus House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing