We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Manteo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar

Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Manteo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into Ortega'z! The service was outstanding and the food was even better! The spinach chorizo pasta and macaroni and cheese were out of this world! We didn't know that Guy Fieri was there until our server told us- which was pretty cool! I totally understand why! I really liked how the owner and his wife were there working as well. Such a cool place and we will definitely return again and again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    101
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service sours our visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited Ortegas and we're told that our wait would be 20 mins. 45 minutes later, we still had not been seated. With a party of 8 , I understand that it sometimes takes longer than expected. However, they had several empty tables and parties that arrived after us were being seated before us. We were told that a party of 8 had to leave in order to seat a new party of 8. After being told it would be another 20 mins, we gave up and left. I don't fault the staff, they were very polite, but the management could stand some lessons in customer service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMW97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“guy fieri was right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is putting out phenomenal fish tacos and crab mac n cheese. Customer service is spot on, and smiling making me feel like their number one priority. Next year I will come back to have the same fish tacos and crab mac n cheese. Tom was our waiter, and he is fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really good local fare with a tex-mess flare. The tilefish fish tacos were tasty. Portions are large and good knowledge of GF options for the person with celiac in our group

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Psycnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Food with Large Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A hidden restaurant off of the main beach drag is located in downtown Manteo. Our group of nearly 20 people tried just about everything on the menu and our only complaint was that our stomachs could not fit it all in. I loved the pork nachos ( excellent eastern nc BBQ with nachos, cheese, salsa) and their tequila chicken with mashed potatoes. Others raved on the steak with blue cheese on top. Bring an appetite and go check out this hidden gem!

Helpful?
Thank NickandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing