We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
252 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed 20 May 2008

The BW Capitol Reef is an excellent little hotel just outside of Capitol Reef NP. The best part? Probably the view. Most of the rooms have a direct view of Capitol Reef, via private balconies.

The basics were nice... clean, large rooms, free internet in the lobby. I had a room with a good price (<100 incl. taxes) during a peak season (I think- in May), not bad for a walk-in rate.

Overall, very pleased, and I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    560
    221
    39
    17
See reviews for
374
596
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We stayed at the Best Western Capitol Reef location at the end of our wonderful trip to Southern Utah. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol Reef National Park which is an amazing place to visit.

Our check-in and check-out was quick and easy. When we first checked in it appeared that we were just about the only people booked at the hotel. After returning later in the evening we had trouble finding a parking space!

Our hotel room was on the second floor and the view from our private balcony was terrific. My husband got up early in the morning and set up the camera on the tripod, fixed a cup of coffee and enjoyed watching the sun come up and the colors change on the landscape.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The lobby had a computer for the guests to use. There is a restuarant connected with the hotel although we did not use it.

Our biggest disappointment was having to shorten our stay by one day due to a change in our flight. We would have loved to stay and explore the area more.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This hotel is located a few miles outside of Torrey, UT across from another hotel (can't remember the name). The rooms are OK, clean, a little dated. The wireless internet worked great even though it was very windy the evening and morning that we were there. The TV had one fuzzy channel but the rest were clear. The beds were the typical motel hard. There was a nice view of the typical red rock formations that you see in this area. There is a new gas station just a half a block from this hotel in an area where gas stations are sparse. The restaurant (I think it was called The Red Mountain Restaurant) was very pricey for the quality of the food. My husband ordered the ribeye for $23.95 and it was tough and gristly. His baked potato fell into crumbles when he tried to cut it into two pieces lengthwise. It was very overbaked. Their menu lists alcoholic drinks available. I asked for a vodka martini on the rocks with an olive and was directed, by the waitress, back to the menu that listed five drinks. The waitress said that those five drinks were all that they had the ingredients to make. They didn't have all the ingredients (4 if you count the ice) to make the martini that I had requested. If my husband and I were ever to stay at this hotel again, we would try the restaurant across the road at the other hotel.

  • Liked — Its location and price.
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationer-At-Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake In The Hills, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western Capitol Reef Resort for four nights in April 2008 while poking around Capitol Reef National Park.

The staff at the front desk were polite and check in was quick and easy.

The rooms were clean and well kept. The grounds were well maintained. The wireless high speed internet worked well during our stay. The onsite laundry came in handy after spending days hiking around Capitol Reef NP. The water in the shower was nice and hot as well to ease those sore muscles after hiking all day.

The small restaurant associated with the resort had a good breakfast and dinner menu with reasonable prices.

For a great dinner try the Rim Rock Restaurant across the street. May wife and I thought the food was great and the views from the restaurant are wonderful. There is also a pizza place across the street from the Best Western but we didn't try it (we can get pizza anywhere).

Overall we had a great stay in Torrey, UT and would stay at the Best Western again if we ever make it back out to Capitol Reef NP.

  • Liked — Close to Capitol Reef National Park, friendly service, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank m1a1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Stayed for a week in one of the Garden Suites which is a two room suite with the bathroom in between. It was slightly more than the regular king size room rate, but worth it. Most people stayed down at another building. The Garden Suite building was mostly empty and very quite. Room had an awesome view and bunny rabbits to watch every morning and afternoon. Maid service was good. Room had newer bathroom fixtures, new carpet and a pretty good bed. Came with a refrigerator and microwave. Saw that the Chuckwagon Hotel was rated better on TripAdvisor. However, the Chuckwagon is close to the highway (noisy?) and has no view. Hard to believe it would actually be better. The Best Western also has a nice restaurant serving mostly comfort food, reasonably priced with a salad bar included with most dishes. Both nights we also had good service.

Torrey is very small town consisting of less than 10 hotels with restaurants and a few gas stations. That's it. Nothing more to it. In such a remote area, I was suprised at the quality of the Best Western. Not glitz and glamor, but everything we needed for a nice restful stay. I found both the people at the hotel and in the town to be pleasant and courteous. Not the kind to explain their whole life story to you, but plenty of help for what we needed.

  • Liked — Quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SFtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We stayed at the Capitol Reef Best Western during April 2008. Room was a nice size, very clean and modern. Great location, right next to the park. Restaurant was good taking into consideration the somewhat remote location. Overall a great stay and very good value for money.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank schombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2008

good breakfast, located right near the national park, but the hotel staff stole some of my Easter Candy out of our room! Plus, check in staff quoted one room price but then tried to charge a higher rate.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — hotel staff took some Easter candy out of my room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank georgiadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
1.8 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing