We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view. Responsive staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Light bulb at entry was out, but was immediately replaced when I asked. Overall lighting in the room was poor. View from the balcony was great. Room did not include breakfast, as there is a restaurant connected to the motel. Food at the restaurant was average.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank You Bob, we are so glad you comments on our property, we have a Breakfast for 2 rate available its more per night for this option. Thank Again CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Rooms are great, view is good, it was a nice stay until Wake up time : everybody has been beaten by bed bugs. I checked Under the sheets and I saw a lot of bugs. It was a very bad memory.
The girl at the front desk didn't even care.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, General Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I have check all out record I'm defenantly puzzle about your comments we keep close records of our issues this I would remenber with out a record, even from a year ago. We take matters such as this very seriouly we do not take them lightly. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In chilly Utah in February, the Best Western Capitol Reef Resort was comfy, clean, warm and inviting. The young front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. She warned us that due to being off season, the restaurant closed at 7:00 pm, so we got dinner in time. The dinner was filling and well prepared.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank You we are so happy you enjoyed our property, yes it is very limited for service in our small town during off season. Lots of people enjoy the quit, and no crowds, rates are lower by about half price. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

As we pulled into the parking lot we were not sure about the look of the motel/hotel - however, after reaching our room we were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in room 228 which had a great view. The room was modern, clean and spacious with refrigerator and microwave, which came in handy as breakfast was not included in our room rate.

It was also very close to Capitol Reef NP and a lovely restaurant across the road.

If in the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank You so much we are happy you enjoyed your room and the views CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had been paying attention to rates on line. I opted for the slightly more expensive view room.

It appeared to me they were trying to make it look like those rooms were quickly filling up, but when we arrived, it appeared only two of the other rooms with the views towards the wonderful north red hills were being uses. Looked like about 2 other rooms were being used. The hotel was mostly empty.

Check in was quick and friendly. The clerk gave us the wrong closing time for one of 3 restaurants that were open. That could have been a problem, but we knew we were given erroneous information.

The pool was closed, and it appeared the hot tub wasn't open.

The rooms were plain but clean.

The bathroom was small but well lit. The shower had decent water flow, but I didn't like the shower head. The hotel provided lotion is very good which was nice in this arid place.

The room had a fridge, which was nice, but the door should have been mounted on the other side. The small kitchenette area didn't have a sink (if I remember correctly.) There was a small microwave.

The carpet was clean. There was a sliding door, but the room really needed another window on the side of the sliding door so you can enjoy the great view. We were probably the only crazy ones to actually eat our reheated breakfast out on the balcony in the below freezing weather so we could soak up the great view.

There is a restaurant on site, but breakfast isn't included.

There is a computer for use by the front desk.

I would probably stay here again if I was in Torrey, but I would be open to other options too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank You for you response sorry about the times on area restaurants they have estimated time of closing but it depends on the crowds they don't really have set time in the off season they close early if no business. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a wonderful resort in the nicest of surroundings. The room was at the back at the far end of the resort and as we made our way along this lovely building, we thought perhaps we might be getting sent to the 'cheap seats', as we had managed to get a good deal when booking. Oh no, not at all. The room had a small veranda and wonderful views of the Red rock walls across a well kept lawn and to sit there and watch the sunset was amazing and incredibly romantic. Our room was clean and very well furnished and it has to be said, was one of our favourites of many on our road trip. The adjoining and independent restaurant I found to be quite nice. We ordered from the Asian menu and was very pleased with the quality and service. The hotel WiFi was sketchy, so they offered us a free breakfast as compensation without us saying anything. The breakfast was also very nice and plentiful !

Almost perfect ? The only issue we had was at the front desk. When we arrived the young lady at the desk was polite and told us what we needed to know, but not exactly warm and friendly. OK fair enough. When we checked out their was a different young lady on the desk and she was to pre-occupied with her computer screen to even acknowledge me. When I asked her a question in the hope of getting her attention all I got was a "Maybe" without her looking up or stopping what she was doing, or asking me to wait one moment. As we had to get going I left it alone, but it took the shine off the perfect stay.

I would 100% stay here again, but it left me thinking that the waitresses, breakfast attendents and cleaners could teach the front desk staff a thing or two about being pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank You for your comments CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We're not a fan of Best Western but my husband and I stay at this one every time we visit Capitol Reef. The customer service is very good, the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, and the view is fantastic. Don't eat in the restaurant EVER.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms farthest from the road behind the office and restaurant they have porches wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewella72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank You for your comment on the Hotel. Also so about the eating issues I will make sure they see this Chimney Rock Restaurant is separate from the Hotel. But does reflect on our property. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
806 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: £72 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing