We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great view and location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

balcony view is of a ridge line. beautiful in both sunrise and sunset light. easy access to capitol reef trails. great grub across the street. room decor was nicer than most hotels. we stayed for two nights and enjoyed it. Nice small town within a few minutes of hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Yes we have a great location close to the Park and we try very hard to keep the property up and help were ever we can to make the guest stay comfortable. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    560
    221
    39
    17
See reviews for
374
596
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mechelen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

BW Capitol Reef is a great stay : you're close to Capitol Reef and the place is a nice place with charm. Great dining in the neighbourhood and quiet at the same time.When going to Capitol Reef; this hotel is a must...Great base to do your thing...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank You for a great review and for you comments CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Room was clean. Beds were comfortable. Light bulb at entry was out, but was immediately replaced when I asked. Overall lighting in the room was poor. View from the balcony was great. Room did not include breakfast, as there is a restaurant connected to the motel. Food at the restaurant was average.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank You Bob, we are so glad you comments on our property, we have a Breakfast for 2 rate available its more per night for this option. Thank Again CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Rooms are great, view is good, it was a nice stay until Wake up time : everybody has been beaten by bed bugs. I checked Under the sheets and I saw a lot of bugs. It was a very bad memory.
The girl at the front desk didn't even care.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, General Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I have check all out record I'm defenantly puzzle about your comments we keep close records of our issues this I would remenber with out a record, even from a year ago. We take matters such as this very seriouly we do not take them lightly. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, CA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In chilly Utah in February, the Best Western Capitol Reef Resort was comfy, clean, warm and inviting. The young front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. She warned us that due to being off season, the restaurant closed at 7:00 pm, so we got dinner in time. The dinner was filling and well prepared.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank You we are so happy you enjoyed our property, yes it is very limited for service in our small town during off season. Lots of people enjoy the quit, and no crowds, rates are lower by about half price. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

As we pulled into the parking lot we were not sure about the look of the motel/hotel - however, after reaching our room we were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed in room 228 which had a great view. The room was modern, clean and spacious with refrigerator and microwave, which came in handy as breakfast was not included in our room rate.

It was also very close to Capitol Reef NP and a lovely restaurant across the road.

If in the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank You so much we are happy you enjoyed your room and the views CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
496 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had been paying attention to rates on line. I opted for the slightly more expensive view room.

It appeared to me they were trying to make it look like those rooms were quickly filling up, but when we arrived, it appeared only two of the other rooms with the views towards the wonderful north red hills were being uses. Looked like about 2 other rooms were being used. The hotel was mostly empty.

Check in was quick and friendly. The clerk gave us the wrong closing time for one of 3 restaurants that were open. That could have been a problem, but we knew we were given erroneous information.

The pool was closed, and it appeared the hot tub wasn't open.

The rooms were plain but clean.

The bathroom was small but well lit. The shower had decent water flow, but I didn't like the shower head. The hotel provided lotion is very good which was nice in this arid place.

The room had a fridge, which was nice, but the door should have been mounted on the other side. The small kitchenette area didn't have a sink (if I remember correctly.) There was a small microwave.

The carpet was clean. There was a sliding door, but the room really needed another window on the side of the sliding door so you can enjoy the great view. We were probably the only crazy ones to actually eat our reheated breakfast out on the balcony in the below freezing weather so we could soak up the great view.

There is a restaurant on site, but breakfast isn't included.

There is a computer for use by the front desk.

I would probably stay here again if I was in Torrey, but I would be open to other options too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank You for you response sorry about the times on area restaurants they have estimated time of closing but it depends on the crowds they don't really have set time in the off season they close early if no business. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
1.8 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing