We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with balcony and view, fantastic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room with balcony and view, fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here July 29th, it was still Best Western then. The room with the balcony and view (beautiful view) was very nice and parking was right up to the door. The adjacent restaurant left a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank You so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    534
    211
    35
    16
See reviews for
354
564
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed in room with balcony and view, also easy access from parking area. Loved the room and the view! Ate the restaurant adjacent to hotel. Not to crazy about it. Food and service was fair. Wish it had been better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Veea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Great review thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

There isn't a whole lot around Capital Reef. It appears recently changing out of Best Western chain. I don't remember if I thought breakfast came with rate but the front desk was very direct in that the restaurant was independent and not part of room rate. Restaurant was fine for breakfast but I would go across the street at night to the Pizza place. That pizza was very good. Rooms were fine, motel style -- we had mountain view room which was just beautiful. Wonderful sunrise and sunset back into the Capital Reef area. We were staying one night and the rooms were just fine -- hot water, comfy beds, clean, free wi-fi and really close to Capital Reef National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

There are not many choices for Capital Reef Hotels. This hotel is located in Torrey and is about 10 miles from the center of Capital Reef. The location is great. The views and pool were good for the entire family. The hotel is across the street from the Rim Runner restaurant which has very good pizza.

The front desk crew is very rude. I was surprised at the hostility when we did not even ask for anything besides our room. The on location restaurant provides sack lunches which are a terrible value.

The rooms were clean but nothing special. We did get a good nights sleep. I think this was due to the exhaustion of the hikes,

Overall, I would stay here again due to the location and would just ignore the rude staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The motel has a great location and it's a pitty customer service is poor. During the check-in the employee at the front desk was not as friendly as you would expect. The room was clean and modern ( TV signal was bad). Perhaps the most positive aspect of this hotel is the great view of the cliffs it offers from certain rooms and the pool area. On the morning of our departure, housekeeping came in the morning, when we were still sleeping and woke us up with heavy and repeated knocks on the door. This is just bad organization since you just wait for the guest to check-out when he is leaving the same day before making his room. I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of its service.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were very surprised that the hotel was no longer a Best Western hotel. The welcome at the reception was not what we are used, maybe the staff still needs to learn. They start checking in at16.00 not a minute early. They sent us off because we were to early, on our trip the first time... As most hotels just assign you a room that has been done. And no rollaway beds available either.

The pool was great, the view from our room even better, good restaurants nearby and it was just for one night. That made it a reasonable good stay after all.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
263 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've been happier with other Best Western hotels. The location at the far eastern end of Torrey, very close to Capital Reef Natl Park, is great. The scenery around the hotel is fantastic, but the rooms have no views. They either face the highway or the parking lot. The motel is not attractive at all. They offer no free breakfast. Those working the desk were not particularly welcoming. Noise from 2nd floor comes readily down to first floor. On the plus side, the computer in the lobby worked and the free wifi worked in the room, although a bit on the slow side. And the motel is right across the highway from a great restaurant, Rim Rock.

Room Tip: One building is one floor only, so you would not have someone above you and it would be quieter. Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
1.8 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing