We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listening to coyotes in a wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 Torrey B&B and Inns
Wehl, Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Listening to coyotes in a wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We travel a lot and stay often in a B&B. A few weeks ago, we stayed at Notom Ranch B&B. It IS the most special and wonderful B&B we experencied until now. Notom is a small community practically in the middel of nowhere.
The big house in a ranch is authentically decorated in a Western way and each room has a special theme (ours is about Butch Cassidy). The room is very spacious and the bed is most comfortable. Bathroom is big with a whirlpool....
Our room has access to a balcony where you can watch the wonderful sunrise every morning (see pictures). You can also watch the wonderful sunset every evening from the big garden (see pictures). In the night, you can hear howling coyotes, which for us, living in a city, quite exciting. We are in the middle of nature and wilderness!
In the room are books and literature about the area. If you stay here, you should take a look into this book (paper) to a little bit understand the very interesting history about Notom.
Well, did I mention that Chad and Roma are most wonderful and welcoming hosts? The breakfast they prepared (pancake and a tasty granola a.o.) are more than delicious and filling. They also let us take a "lunch package" of the pancakes.
The nearby Capitol Reef NP by the way, is a wonderful NP. Do hike the Grand Wash or other hiking trails and if you have a high clearance (and preferably 4WD) car, do visit the Cathedral Valley.

Room Tip: Every room is OK I assume.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

All the previous reviews are true. Chad and Roma have made some wonderful investment into their new B&B, and have created a luxury destination. Why stay at one of the Torrey motels when you can be treated to a well designed (even the towels match the decor), inviting B&B complete with home made breakfast (great granola and jam).

Although Notom looks out of the way, Notom is set in a valley just east of the Capitol Reef and is as beautiful as any place around Torrey. It's only a couple of miles away from some nice slot canyons. Capitol Reef is a beautiful park and only 20 minutes away. The B&B also has a working ranch with a pet buffalo.

So add Notom to your stay as you drive northeast from Zion and Bryce, Highway 24 is a must drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable (yes, we saw most of them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you love rocks, color, texture, hiking and the wilds of canyon country, Capital Reef is one of the places to be and Notom B&B is absolutely the place to stay. The B&B is like coming home to a great family. We’ve always gotten to know the people we stay with, but Chad and Roma go the extra step, sitting down and enjoying their exceptional home cooked meals with you. They have long time family ties with this rugged land, are ex-teachers and are oh so knowledgeable making morning breakfasts hard to break away from. Conversation becomes as enticing as the landscape that draws you to the place. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the patio that wraps around three sides of the house affords sensuous views of this undulating country.History abounds in the books they leave in the rooms and the stories they have to tell. The first morning sunrise treated me to a grazing deer, a wild turkey, their buffalo, horse and a field full of cattle, who eyed me with suspicion as they put distance between us. We shared a supper with our hosts as well, which, like breakfast, was a real treat. These are people who love what they are doing and it reflects in what they have created.

My husband, an amature astronomer, can vouch highly for the star packed dark skies. The restaurants in Torrey are an amazing find in such an out of the way place. The food is unique and superb. The obvious tourist hikes of Capital Reef can not compare to the slot canyons and winding trails that surround the park, and in this Roma and Chad can direct you. If you are an artist, prepared to be dazzled as the world around you becomes your palette.

Room Tip: The rooms are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rigsby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I stayed with Chad and Roma for one night and will definitely be back to visit again. The experience of staying on their ranch was truly unique, and they are gracious and welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Robber's Roost room, which was spacious, comfortable, and well-decorated, with access to the balcony that wraps around the second floor for incredible views. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and we enjoyed chatting with Chad and Roma so much we sat for two hours. Stargazing the night before was amazing -- with no man-made light for miles, you can see not just stars but the glow of the Milky Way itself.

The location is the most amazing aspect of the ranch. The house is part of a working ranch, and is perched on a bluff overlooking some of the most beautiful and remote country in Utah. We felt like we had been transported back in time. Roma's family has owned the property for more than 100 years, and she grew up in the area, so it's like staying with true locals.

In terms of proximity to Capitol Reef, it's about a 15 minute longer drive to the visitor center than staying in Torrey, but is far more convenient for access to all the hikes/canyons on the east or south side of Capitol Reef. It's also more convenient than Torrey to the Cathedral Valley district (if you have 4wd to get there), as well as Goblin Valley and the southern San Rafael Swell about 45 minutes away. It's important to note, however, that the ranch is truly remote and you'll have to drive 30 minutes to find any restaurants, markets, or other services.

Because of that, as much as we loved it, I do have to say it's not for everyone (especially if you're the type that likes hotel-style amenities). But if you're looking for a uniquely western experience in some of the most remote and beautiful country there is, you should visit the Notom Ranch.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here for one night...very short stay though....but loved the ambience and the hosts. The ranch is very close to Capitol reef and waking up to some beautiful sceneries was an awesome experience....the room was very well maintained...had a hot tub...i loved the interiors....would definitely stay there again when i am in Torrey area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gottagoforit
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Spent two nights at Notom Ranch...and will definitely go back, hopefully again and again. Retirees Chad and Roma are charming, knowledgeable hosts and good home cooks to boot. (Take them up on their offer of dinner for $10; you probably don't want to drive back to town to eat, and you may be served a local specialty.) Accommodations are spacious, and every room has been thoughtfully and individually designed. The B and B extension of their home is relatively new, and Chad and his family and friends have done much of the work themselves, with fine craftsmanship, attention to detail, and a Western flair. Enjoy a stroll down the driveway with their friendly cats to enjoy the views and explore the stream that runs through the property...

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the second floor share a wonderful balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagoforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

All that is said about the breakfast and hospitality of Chad and Roma are understated. Chadakes a great cup of coffee too!
Half an hours drive from the touristic hustle of Torrey on the western edge of Capitol Reef NP.
Quiet and secluded, amazing large bathtub with solar heated piping hot water, in room reverse osmosis chilled water.
Weak wi-fi, but enough to check basic email.
BBQ grill available for guest use- a nice option to going to town (but you should eat at Cafe Diablo in Torrey at least once!)
Great location for some great slot canyon hikes just a few miles away.
The family has had the ranch for nearly 100 years- can't get much more local than that!
We stayed 4 nights, and would definitely recommend more than two nights as there is much to see in the area.
One room downstairs has a kitchen, and there are three large rooms upstairs.
A great place for travelers, but tourists might better consider a hotel in Torrey.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
15.8 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
16.1 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
724 reviews
15.9 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
15.8 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
267 reviews
16.5 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast

Property: Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4400 South Notom Road, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing