We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome choice!”
Review of Sunlit Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunlit Oasis
Ranked #6 of 8 Torrey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you're looking for a room with a view, Notom Ranch is the place to stay! Amazing location away from everywhere, huge bedrooms and bathrooms, chairs on the balcony, extremely quiet although it is possible to hear a coyote barki which only makes it more of an adventurous place! Best breakfast ever: fresh fruit, bacon and eggs, fresh juice, cereals, home-made jam, tea and coffee, real milk! Last but not least: Chad, Roma and Johanna make you feel at home and you just feel like staying there longer than planned...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Sunlit Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Notom Ranch on a driving trip this summer and it was definitely was one of the highlights of our trip! Johanna, the caretaker of the B&B, was absolutely delightful and friendly. We arrived in the evening and were shown to the homestead room. Our large room had a king sized bed and a large bathroom. Note: all the upstairs rooms have a jet tub, no shower. All the rooms have access to a large wrap-around porch so you can sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Breakfast was a french toast casserole with yogurt, fruit, sausage and granola. After breakfast we got to feed the resident buffalo, Bill, which was awesome. My only regret is we only stayed one night!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent! There are three rooms upstairs, all with king beds and private bath. Th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Delightful!!!
A fantastic surprise, a beautiful ranch with really fantastic people.. Everything was perfect (context, food, room, cleaning).. The problem is that if you go there then you would never leave.. We are really sorry we couldn't stay more..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raffaeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Geology junkies that we are, we were excited to stay in the capital reef np area. We had read the praises of Notom ranch as well. Our car had a different idea, however, and broke down on a nearby mountain road. As we were towed into nearby Torrey, we got cell reception and called to explain why we would not be there. Chad and Roma, the delightful owners, and Johanna, who is the unofficial greeter and co hostess, would have none of it. They gathered us and our gear, treated us like family, and showed us why in so many ways why their b n b is number one. This stay will be a fond memory for years to come.

Room Tip: In addition to three large guest rooms with balconies, they have an enormous apartment for families.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We can't rave enough about this place, our only regret is that we didn't book another night or two!
Rooms were super comfortable and cosy, the breakfast was terriffic. We were lucky in that Rosa made sweet-potato pancakes and home-made granola.
We found it very nice when the hosts, Roma and Chad sat down to talk with us and other guests during breakfast - we felt very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turasoirglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My original intention was to stay here overnight to break up the drive from Monument Valley back to Salt Lake City and maybe see a little bit of Capitol Reef. As we were driving to it, I wasn't sure if I was in a social mood and wondered whether we would have been better off in the anonymous Best Western in Torrey. However, once again, TA came through. The 3 hosts were totally charming and I had no problem being social with them or the other couple we met at dinner. We had Navajo Tacos for dinner and they were really good. Breakfast the next morning was a delicious egg/sausage casserole plus fruit and yogurt and granola.

The room (Homestead) was spacious and comfortable. The view out the porch was wonderful. They are three of the nicest people I have ever met and gave us a lot of insider information we would not have received at Best Western. Bonus: they have wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Well, my only advice is: CALL THREE TIMES, and at least once the day before the scheduled arrival, to make sure the hosts have your reservation straight. I only called once, about a month-and-a-half prior to the scheduled arrival, and after I made the reservation by email a few months in advance.

You can probably guess what happened... My wife and I show up around 6pm the Saturday of the Memorial Day weekend only to find out that our reservation was messed up, the hosts thought we were supposed to arrive the day before, and all rooms have already been taken. And it the Memorial Day Weekend! So, we are stuck with no place to go because everything around the National Parks has been booked up months in advance...

So, the only reason I'm rating this place "poor" rather than "terrible", is that they admitted the problem was their fault (I did have a printout of the email reservation, so it was hard to argue with that...) and did manage to find a room for us in a Rodeway Inn about 10-15 miles away for the same price. To be fair, this particular Rodeway Inn seems to be OK, I may give it a separate review, but it is still a high-end motel instead of what was supposed to be a top-of-the-line B&B that we were looking forward to staying at.

The bottom line: This may be a great spot, but you are making the reservation there at your own risk!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Slava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
15.8 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
16.1 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
782 reviews
17.3 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
15.9 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
24 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlit Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlit Oasis

Address: 4400 South Notom Road, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Notom Ranch Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range: £109 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that everyone deserves a place where they can relax, learn and grow, and enjoy time with family. That is where we come in. Against the beautiful backdrops of Capitol Reef National Park and the Henry mountains, we feel that happens. Come and see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunlit Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlit Oasis Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing