We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comedy of Errors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comedy of Errors”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had received an email telling me they changed to being Affordable Inn, so that was the sign I was searching for. Nope. Not there. I noticed a small Howard Johnson sign and that turned out to be the place. We got signed in and went to our room. The key wouldn't work. Back to the desk. Second key didn't work. Neither did the third. By that time the clerk came to our door and said the lock was broken and he gave us a different room. It was a lovely room with a separate sitting area, a micro and fridge. However, the hair dryer blew out the circuit and the clerk had to change the fuse. I left the hair dryer alone after that for fear of doing who knows what to all the electrical in the place. I always like having a cup of coffee in the morning as I get dressed.. however, the coffee maker was for a single cup, but the packet was for a potful. TV channels wouldn't come in and the next morning the fan/AC didn't work. Now maybe I was doing something wrong at all these points of convenience in the room, but I doubt it. This place was seriously messed up. Hopefully when they shed Howard and become "Affordable" someone will check all the fine points of the rooms.
It was quiet here and I saw five deer in the back field.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DuluthMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    101
    68
    40
    19
See reviews for
67
177
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this hotel through booking.com and had to do some detective work to find that it's really a Howard Johnson's. The room and bed were acceptable, but nothing special. Got in pretty late (after 10pm) and found that many other people were active outside of their rooms. Bookings didn't indicate that the room had a fridge or microwave, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that it did. It seems to be family run and is well maintained for a mid level hotel. Breakfast was provided, but the seating area was a little small and choices were limited.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, make sure you get the address exactly correct because we drove right pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A good base for the start of our drive on Scenic Byway 12. The receptionist was both helpful and polite. Rooms were well equipped and the furnishing was good. We had a lovely view over the mountains. In a quiet location, but there is a restaurant a very short walk away. The continental breakfast was good.
Pity about the name change to Affordable Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepybexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Exterior is not very different from any other "motel" but the rooms are excellent on the interior.
Very modern throughout and very clean. Quiet and a good nights sleep.

Wifi was very good.

Attached restaurant was OK b.ut not great. Restaurant probably a bit overpriced for what you get.
I ordered the Chinese food and it was bland at best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked the Affordable Inn on Booking.com and lucky that I looked at the picture because there is no sign for Affordable Inn, it is the Howard Johnson. It is located between mile 70 and 71 on highway 24 east of Torrey Utah about 2 miles. It is a great location to Capital reef, clean room and a decent breakfast well priced for what you receive

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear and lower floor it is better parking and further from the highway. It is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibumFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great place to stay the staff were great . Brandon was very kind and returned my husbands I Pod he left behind. Thank you very much Joyce & Peter. P S we would love to stay again when we come to the U S again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
0.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
1.5 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef

Property: Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Address: 877 North State Road 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Howard Johnson Capitol Reef)
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Affordable Inn Of Capitol Reef Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing