We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for families, not great for grownups” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place for families, not great for grownups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Our room was OK. There were some cleanliness issues including a musty smelling bedspread and blanket and some stray hairs in the linens and the shower. The hotel has an indoor pool, which apparently attracts a lot of families, so the hotel was full of noisy kids running around until late at night. The breakfast was OK, but you are not allowed to take food out of the breakfast room, and the tables in the breakfast room were all dirty from lots of kids who had already beaten us to breakfast. It would be a fun place to stay for kids, I guess, but I would probably prefer a different hotel if visiting again with my husband.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    216
    85
    18
    5
See reviews for
170
265
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yarker, ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Has recently been renamed, so gps may not find it. Clean, neat and tidy! Desk staff was extremely helpful. Indoor pool is very nice as is the hot tub in the corner - only minus is there is not shower to use before or after!
Breakfast was very good, standard fare.
Looking for a great place to eat? Go to the 'Patio'. Very basic, paper plates, plastic utensils! But the meals are fabulous and reasonably priced! The night we were there they had a great blues singer. Darts on the patio, as well as frisbee golf! Nachos plate was heaping with lots of cheese and salsa and peppers. They make their own sauces which are excellent - very friendly staff!

Room Tip: worth the money - great base for exploring area!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ken_dYarker_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The Red Sands Hotel is a very good deal. The hotel is quite new and modern. Our room was very clean and comfortable. If you get a room facing the rear of the hotel, you'll have a lovely view of nature. We even found a goodie bag in our room with some cranberry snacks and a few useful coupons!
They include a nice breakfast. The hotel has a good-sized indoor pool and jacuzzi. There are a number of quality restaurants nearby. I don't mean fast food joints.
Torrey, UT is right at the entrance of Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupermanRoSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I had such a great time, I didn't want it to end. First of all, The Red Sands is surrounded by beautiful country. The staff was warm and very welcoming. I don't usually take the time to write reviews, but this is well deserved. Although not overly luxurious (which isn't what I was expecting anyway), the rooms were very clean and comfortable (loved the "comped" toiletries - more substantial than any place I've stayed). One of the great amenities is the hot tub and pool...a great way to unwind at the end of day of hiking and exploring. The neighboring Capital Reef National Park has much to offer and this hotel is in the midst of all of it! Thanks Red Sands for being such a great supplement to an already fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lseethaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I went to the area to hike and explore the beautiful landscape. I didn't really expect to find a reasonably priced hotel to be as comfortable and beautiful as it was. The staff was efficient and welcoming and they made me feel like family.
They went the extra mile...good food, crisp beds, and ease.
I will return to Capital Reef and I WILL only chose Red Sands as my home away from home.
It's worth the trip and it made my visit there even more enjoyable.
Thank you to all the staff and my hosts...for being part of a memorable visit.
See you soon, friends!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddlebex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrey, Utah, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I would rate this as one of the niceswt places to stay with your pet. Has a large field behind the hotel to run your dog.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for three nights in the King suite. The room was clean, the bed comfortable the room had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and small sink area that allowed us to make our own breakfasts (although the hotel does provide breakfast for those that want it and 24 hour access to coffee). It also allowed us on two evenings to heat up our own dinner which as we had arrived pretty much before the season started and not many of the restaurants in Toreey were ope was quite useful.There was also a large Jacquzzi bath in the main room area (as well as a seperate normal tub/shower) The hotel has a heated pool and spa area on the ground floor. We had stayed elsewhere when we had visited Torrey previoulsy but would go back here in preference. Our only slight gripe was the smell in the main areas, I think it was carpet cleaning fluid but it was pretty strong and not very nice, however our room did not smell of it at all and it might be because it was the start of the season.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HillWalkerCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.3 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing