We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price near Capitol Reef”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location and price near Capitol Reef”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the Red Sands Hotel for two nights while visiting Capitol Reef. We mainly chose Torrey due to reviews of the restaurant Cafe Diablo (see review). The hotel was clean and comfortable. The service was good. The pool and hot tub were fantastic after days of hiking. Another plus for the hotel is that they have laundry facilities. If you are traveling for a long period of time, it is nice to do laundry someplace where you don't have to sit at a laundromat. Overall, this was a very good place to stay in the area, and we were not disappointed. I expect many more people will stay here in the future due to its location, friendly staff and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road--you get great scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gopher_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    228
    95
    19
    6
See reviews for
182
282
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Point Arena, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Price was right, not uncomfortable, not dirty, not loud. Great for two exhausted tourists, road weary and ready to pass out!

Room Tip: no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were traveling with Elderhostel/Road Scholar through all the national parks in southern Utah. Some of these places are definitely "out of the way" and you are definitely not going to find totally upscale hotels out here. We were so warmly greeted at this clean and comfortable hotel. There is no elevator but the owners immediately grabbed our suitcases and took them upstairs for everyone. We had a lovely overnight stay, enjoyed the indoor pool and would definitely recommend this hotel if you are heading to Captial Reef.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris - France
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We staid there one night, when visiting Capitol Reef this summer. Our expectations, given the price paid, and former reviews, were met. The hotel is located on the main road of Torrey , close to the heart of the town. Check in was great, we were welcome in a friendly manner. Also staff was agreeable in replying to our questions on the neighborhood. The room was spacious enough, and even if no frills, it was comfortable and clean. We made good use of the available fridge. The Wifi connection worked fine. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. It is rare when I find fruit salad offert in complimentary breakfasts, but here it was the case, so I was pleasantly surprised. We went on an excursion the day we left the hotel, and there was no issue to let our car parked in the parking lot during the whole day. All in all, it is not a fancy hotel of course, but it was perfect for the price paid ! We dined nearby in the rim rock restaurant, which has a great panormaic view, and where we enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panaca, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our family-grandparents, parents and grandkids-went to Torrey for the 4th of July. Stayed three days at Red Sands Hotel. Very clean property. A fun swimming pool, very relaxing place for all of us. I left clothes in the drawer of our room and they mailed it to me. They didn't expect to be reimbursed, but I mailed them a check anyway!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nevadagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frostburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved the area and enjoyed the hikes. Our room was very comfortable. The pool was cold, but the hot tub was great. The waffles were delicious. The fruit cocktail was good the first morning, but it was old on the seond morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city, UT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Very friendly, great deal, only $69 with AARP/AAA, clean, but the beds in our room were horrible, very old, very soft, back hurt in morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing