We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly! - No elevator to second floor.”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very clean and friendly! - No elevator to second floor.”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The staff was helpful offering dinner suggestions. This is a relatively new simple motel where things work well. Hauling heavy luggage up to the top could be tough. The room was spotless and the tv works well. Mattress was a bit soft for my taste and the lobby is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    228
    95
    19
    6
See reviews for
182
282
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Excellent choice for this area, and the room is good value for money. Front desk staff were courteous and efficient. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was decent, and they kept everything in stock until the end (when we showed up). Recommended if you are visiting the Capitol Reef area.

Room Tip: Away from parking lot where tour buses start up in the wee hours of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed there one night, when visiting Capitol Reef. The hotel is located on the main road of Torrey , close to the heart of the town

Check in was great, we were welcome in a friendly manner. The hotel seems to be recently renovated. They had some interesting coffe table books that I enjoyed browsing The room was spacious and we got one facing the meadow with horses in it. Nice!

The Wifi connection worked fine.

Breakfast in the morning was nice - boiled eggs, fruit, bread, waffle maker to make fresh,hot waffles and coffee/tea.

I believe they have laundry and a pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I have just finished a five-day drive from Scottsdale, AZ to Park City, UT through some of the most beautiful landscapes to be found in this country. One of our days was from Kanab, UT to Torrey, UT via Bryce Canyon National Park and the mountains between it and Torrey. Fabulous! We picked the Red Sands Hotel through the TripAdvisor reviews. If we were to judge it by hotels found most places, it would get a "poor" rating, but Torrey is one of a string of really small towns and itself has only one internet tower (run by a local resident) where service drops out if the wind blows too much, and only one cell phone tower. Wonderful way to get away from it all, and an indication that this is an isolated area--even if it does boast a great hamburger stand ("Slackers") and a great coffee shop at the intersection of routes 12 and 24. At any rate, the room was perfectly adequate and the bed comfortable, but the pillows, towels and bed linens were not high quality. Why is it that so many hotels have such cheap pillows, and thin towels?! The breakfast was not at all appealing--we skipped it entirely and got muffins at the coffee shop. The people who worked at the hotel were very nice and the hotel was clean--a good spot for the night if your travels find you here at night, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalisburyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed at the Red Sands Hotel for two nights while visiting Capitol Reef. We mainly chose Torrey due to reviews of the restaurant Cafe Diablo (see review). The hotel was clean and comfortable. The service was good. The pool and hot tub were fantastic after days of hiking. Another plus for the hotel is that they have laundry facilities. If you are traveling for a long period of time, it is nice to do laundry someplace where you don't have to sit at a laundromat. Overall, this was a very good place to stay in the area, and we were not disappointed. I expect many more people will stay here in the future due to its location, friendly staff and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road--you get great scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gopher_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Arena, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Price was right, not uncomfortable, not dirty, not loud. Great for two exhausted tourists, road weary and ready to pass out!

Room Tip: no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We were traveling with Elderhostel/Road Scholar through all the national parks in southern Utah. Some of these places are definitely "out of the way" and you are definitely not going to find totally upscale hotels out here. We were so warmly greeted at this clean and comfortable hotel. There is no elevator but the owners immediately grabbed our suitcases and took them upstairs for everyone. We had a lovely overnight stay, enjoyed the indoor pool and would definitely recommend this hotel if you are heading to Captial Reef.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing