We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back!”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Right off the road at the turn to Capitol Reef, this hotel was convenient to everything in this remote area. Clean and modern, with a pleasant view of a horse corral from our hotel window, made us feel like we were in the real west. The room was just a bit cramped, but overall very nice for this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeBill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit our area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for Red Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Red Sands Inn was a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. I felt they really took great strides in taking care of the place. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with any questions. The complimentary breakfast had many choices and the view from our room was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardinalsfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for saying at the Red Sands Hotel for your family trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Friendly staff
Close to Capitol Reef National Park
Nice and clean rooms
Pet friendly!
Lots of outdoor space
Horses live on the property!
Complimentary breakfast (eggs, sausage, coffee, tea, waffles, bagels, etc.)
Free WiFi

Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kloup91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in late October while hiking in Capitol Reef NP. We were very happy with our choice. The room itself was quite nice - with a microwave and a mini fridge (which many of the hotels in Torrey do not have). Our room looked out the back and my wife enjoyed seeing the horses in the fields. The breakfast, while nothing to rave about, was adequate. The location is good, a little further away (maybe a mile) than the Best Western from the Capitol Reef, but closer to the main eating establishments in Torrey. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandM_from_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Red Sands is an excellent choice for the Capitol Reef area, well located and of good quality. We enjoyed the views of horses behind the hotel. If you have baggage and don't like stairs ask for a room on the first floor. The king rooms are functional, clean and well supplied. We utilized the frig and microwave in the room too. Torrey Utah (but not the NP) basically shuts down towards the end of October or beginning of November, so my suggestion is mid-October or earlier. Be prepared for some colder weather in late October. We would return and stay longer if we had the opportunity. The trip to Torrey is memorable if you come up through Hwy. 12 from the Bryce Canyon area. It's a great drive take your time. The website info was accurate and we had no issues on either check-in or out.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter but you need to walk up stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. You made some great suggestions for traveling to our area as well! We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's a very nice modern place. The staff was polite and efficient, and the room was clean and modern. They responded quickly to a problem with the TV remote not working.
The free breakfast was nice, some hot items.

The only problem is the lack of an elevator, which seems very odd for a new building.
You have to carry your luggage up a long flight of stairs to the 2nd floor, were most of the rooms are. (No bell hops)

But compared to other motels in rural Utah, this looks like one of the best.

Room Tip: Get a ADA room, unless you need exercise climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. Along with all the other hotels in the area, we do not have elevators. We are so sorry for the hassle. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Unfortunately we had reservations for only one night. I'm sure we could have stayed longer since the national parks were shut down but we had reservations someplace else the next night. Loved this place & the town of Torrey with it's population of 182. The front of the hotel had cows & the back horses. We used the pool & the hot tub, the only time we could on our trip as they were inside & we enjoyed both. They served wine & cheese at 4 pm. There was a bus load of people who were all chatting to one another so we sat out in the lobby & talked to Joe who worked at the hotel. Very nice man & gave us some good tips. Breakfast was really nice, lots of hot food. The only down side is there are lots of stairs & if you are carrying luggage this could be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovelyliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
784 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: £77 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing