We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

booked here based on excellent trip advisor reviews exceeded expectations clean, comfortable, friendly staff enjoyable stop on cross country motorcycle trip close to capital reef national park no disappointments here

Room Tip: request ground floor room walk right from parking lot to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here while visiting Capital Reef NP. It was clean and handy to the park and restaurants. Nice pool, great general store with a deli and a Laundromat as well. Nestled in the trees it was a nice oasis from the sun. It is family owned and they were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a pleasant stay here for one night after driving hwy 12 from Bryce. Had a ground floor room in the main block. Had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. Went to the pool for a short while and found it also well kept and clean. Ate dinner in Cafe Diablo, very nice, if a bit pricey. Next day just grabbed a coffee (free) in the morning before continuing on with our touring. Would recomend this motel if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliveasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We passed thru Torrey on a tour of Southern Utah while headed to Capital Reef National Park. As we rode thru town we noticed this interesting looking small lodge/motel. After a short inquiry, we booked a room and found we had stumbled on a little gem. The room was standard motel but recently renovated and nice and clean. The outdoor pool and hot tub were great! The small general store on site was well stocked and had a deli area where we got fabulous sandwiches made for us! There was an on site laundry mat which we needed badly and there was even an on site beauty shop. We loved this place and its friendly people!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We read the reviews on trip advisor and could not pass this hotel up. We booked about a month before arrival. We had never stayed here before and honestly it was better than we had hoped. Last year we stayed in Richfield, but had been through Torrey. The town looked old and we didn't think we wanted to stay at any of the hotels. We are SO glad we stopped this time! The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful! The woman who checked us in gave great recommendations for dinner and lunch, the young woman who checked us out gave us great hiking recommendations for the day. We ate breakfast in the deli which was delicious and made us feel right at home. Again, the whole staff was just great. They have a pool and hot tub that we enjoyed as well. The location is perfect, and the whole lot is actually quite beautiful. How often can you say a hotel lot is pretty?! We hope to return next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarissaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the start of our Grand Circle trip to view Capitol Reef National Park. I had thought it would be an just an okay place for one night, but I underestimated both the lodge and the park. They both deserve more than one day! We had a king-size bed in a ground-floor room. It was very clean and quiet--no noises from the top floor either. From the deli in the grocery next door, we had a really good piece of berry pie, a made-to-order sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit the next morning, and a boxed lunch we picked up for the park. No complaints about any of it. My experience with the staff was that they were friendly, helpful, and honest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The big names are all down the street and claim to have fantastic views. The bottom line: The best views are in the park, not from a hotel room. This place has incredibly friendly/helpful staff, a fantastic outdoor pool, a small market (with fresh produce, dairy, and yogurt), and it's in the center of town. This place is perfect for families, couples, family reunions . . . and this is coming from a "Four Seaons" kind of guy.

They have some cabins, but the rooms in the lodge are also very nice. Stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.6 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
610 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store

Address: 12 W Main St, Torrey, UT 84775-8050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin`s Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Hotel Torrey
Austins Chuckwagon Torrey
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing