We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but beware of credit card charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but beware of credit card charges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here one night mid April on our way to Moab. Very nice place but they overcharged my Visa card. When I complained 2 weeks later when I received my Visa bill, they reluctantly refunded the overcharge only to overcharge me the same amount again 2 days later. Had to cancel my credit card and file a formal complaint with VISA. The overcharge fees were very suspicious to me. Check your bill closely. I might stay here again but will pay in CASH.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torreyutahracefan, Owner at Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
As I told you, we were going through the growing pains of not only new computers, but also a completely new reservation system.The mistake was made and every time we tried to fix it, it was compounded It was finally resolved,and you were refunded in full. There was no dubious intent or willful overcharging..
We work very hard to make our guests stay a pleasant one, and am so sorry this happened to you.
Thank you for your review.
Randy Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    257
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
192
312
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

booked here based on excellent trip advisor reviews exceeded expectations clean, comfortable, friendly staff enjoyable stop on cross country motorcycle trip close to capital reef national park no disappointments here

Room Tip: request ground floor room walk right from parking lot to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here while visiting Capital Reef NP. It was clean and handy to the park and restaurants. Nice pool, great general store with a deli and a Laundromat as well. Nestled in the trees it was a nice oasis from the sun. It is family owned and they were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a pleasant stay here for one night after driving hwy 12 from Bryce. Had a ground floor room in the main block. Had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. Went to the pool for a short while and found it also well kept and clean. Ate dinner in Cafe Diablo, very nice, if a bit pricey. Next day just grabbed a coffee (free) in the morning before continuing on with our touring. Would recomend this motel if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliveasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We passed thru Torrey on a tour of Southern Utah while headed to Capital Reef National Park. As we rode thru town we noticed this interesting looking small lodge/motel. After a short inquiry, we booked a room and found we had stumbled on a little gem. The room was standard motel but recently renovated and nice and clean. The outdoor pool and hot tub were great! The small general store on site was well stocked and had a deli area where we got fabulous sandwiches made for us! There was an on site laundry mat which we needed badly and there was even an on site beauty shop. We loved this place and its friendly people!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We read the reviews on trip advisor and could not pass this hotel up. We booked about a month before arrival. We had never stayed here before and honestly it was better than we had hoped. Last year we stayed in Richfield, but had been through Torrey. The town looked old and we didn't think we wanted to stay at any of the hotels. We are SO glad we stopped this time! The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful! The woman who checked us in gave great recommendations for dinner and lunch, the young woman who checked us out gave us great hiking recommendations for the day. We ate breakfast in the deli which was delicious and made us feel right at home. Again, the whole staff was just great. They have a pool and hot tub that we enjoyed as well. The location is perfect, and the whole lot is actually quite beautiful. How often can you say a hotel lot is pretty?! We hope to return next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarissaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the start of our Grand Circle trip to view Capitol Reef National Park. I had thought it would be an just an okay place for one night, but I underestimated both the lodge and the park. They both deserve more than one day! We had a king-size bed in a ground-floor room. It was very clean and quiet--no noises from the top floor either. From the deli in the grocery next door, we had a really good piece of berry pie, a made-to-order sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit the next morning, and a boxed lunch we picked up for the park. No complaints about any of it. My experience with the staff was that they were friendly, helpful, and honest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.6 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.1 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
2.5 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store

Property: Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Address: 12 W Main St, Torrey, UT 84775-8050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin`s Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Hotel Torrey
Austins Chuckwagon Torrey
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing