We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

They asked us if we wanted to look at the room before we booked. Beautifully furnished, spacious and well equipped we liked it so much we stayed a second night. Torrey was a great little town and the restaurant attached to the inn was good eating.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and it was fine! Picnic table outside and lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbrown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here July 2013 during a cross-country hiking, backpacking, camping trip. Asked for a quiet room and they put us in an end unit that overlooked a trailer park/junk yard. Room seemed ok (except for the tv which was a, no kidding, 12-14" computer monitor), then it started raining and the ceiling started leaking and then we discovered that the toilet was stopped up. We tried to call the front desk, phone wouldn't work, so we trudged (in the rain) over to the front desk. Now, you would think that management would offer to move us to another room--they told us we could move if we wanted. It's still pouring rain so we set up a trash can to catch the drips and finally unstopped the toilet ourselves. Then.......the ceiling started leaking in another place, blew open a hole in the ceiling and sprayed the room with water. That was it--we had to move!

Here again, I expected some assistance, some sort of apology or compensation--nothing. In short, this is a run-down property--overall not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTR1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nice place, very inexpensive & clean.

The room was large enough, the only drawback was the size of the bathroom, a tad on the small size. Though the water pressure was very good.

We had breakfast in the Cafe. Tasty, large portions. The wife and I could have split a dish.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel is pretty nice. Its a little town and all hotels seem similar. Good for $70. Location is about 10 miles from park entrance. Food at Cafe is good.

The reason I am giving this a 4 start are the following reason:
1. Noisy heater and not so good insulation
2. Slow food service at Cafe
3. Extremely small standing shower which usually leads to water spilling on bathroom floor

Room Tip: We were in room no 10. It has its own little entrance and u can park right in front of the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over many years. We never "loved" this property but enjoyed the outdoor space and the end rooms, nine and ten, which are larger. The rate is cheap. Our dog loved it. But the place isn't in good repair. I am not sure if they ever wash the comforters on the beds...this last time they looked REALLY dirty. There was a part of the ceiling hanging down from a recent water leak. There is an old washer sitting on the property. There is an ugly mobile home with multiple ugly adjacent buildings behind the hotel that is not just an eyesore, but the owners have a rooster that crows incessantly from daybreak on, as well as a few caged small dogs that yap without end. Previously, there was a great deal of shrubbery to block the view of that place but it's been ripped out. We have enjoyed this "dive" for the most part and have good memories over the years but just cannot stay in such a dirty room anymore. It also has a very, very small 13 or 15 inch or so TV with very limited channels and a shower that is so tiny you cannot even turn around in it (or at least it does in the end room we were in). They have done a few things to fix the place up, such as tear out the dirty carpet and put in wood floors (looks like they did the job themselves). We kept hoping it would be fixed up but it's never happened. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel. Most are your average run of the mill places though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingHobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had an excellent breakfast on 4/20/13. Omelette was terrific, bacon good, and very good coffee. Things are cooked to order so be patient. Would definitely return to the cafe. We were in an RV so did not stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank RockyFtCollins_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Don't be fooled by the well-worn exterior. This little café serves basic, tasty meals. It's not gourmet cuisine but it's one of the better among few choices in the area. Our salads were indeed super fresh; the main dishes good as well. My wife claims the pie she had for dessert was among the best she's ever had from a restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidB371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.6 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
827 reviews
2.9 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#4 of 7 in Torrey
287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe

Address: 360 W. Main St., Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range: £60 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing