We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Reviewed 9 July 2007

What a wonderful surprise. After the heat of the desert, these cabins were located in a much cooler location. The cabins were quiet, private, clean, and spacious. I particularly enjoyed hanging out on the front porch and enjoying the cool breeze. The owners even invited us to some practice steer roping which was kind of like having our own private rodeo in the back yard. We loved watching the mother goose waddle around with her babies behind her. The family dogs were gentle and quiet. Of our two weeks of traveling, this quaint out of the way location was my favorite. The kids were allowed to roam around the grounds and pet the horses. On top of everything, it was very affordable. The only downside to Torrey is very limited groceries. We arrived there on a Tuesday and there was no milk to be found. The groceries are sparce and high priced.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelmomWesternN_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2006

This was our rogue booking on a trip full of hotels and motels... and I was so hoping that was wouldn't be disappointed by a stay in cabins... we weren't.
Arriving mid-afternoon after a long drive, we were able to sit out on the porches and just soak up the warmth of the sun and listen to the rustling aspens. It was a quiet spot after 4 days of hectic travel... We had one cabin with 2 queen beds and one with a king... both were lovely and clean, and spacious - the king even had a couch. The ammenities were great - extra towels (lovely and soft) and a kitchenette with a microwave and coffee maker... there was a grill and table outside.
Being some way from town, the night was pitch black which made for amazing stargazing - saw the Milky Way with the naked eye.
It really was just lovely to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cathrynuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, while we hiked in Capitol Reef. We were very pleased with the cabins, the owners and the rate. There are 4 cabins (or 5?) and they sit in a large open space with great views of the desert and distant mountains. the cabins are clean, cozy, well lighted, heated, Satellite TV, a nice clean bathroom...no complaints. They have a front porch for relaxing after a hike and fabulous stargazing. We got our neighbors out stargazing and convinced them to turn off the porch light!
We would definately stay there again if we go back to Southern Utah.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregWakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2006

A great place, much better than staying in a hotel: bigger rooms, kitchenette, lots of lovely open space around you, very quiet. It's ten or so minutes to Torrey, then another ten getting to the center of Capitol Reef. We saw very little of the landlords as we spent most of our time hiking but they were very friendly when we did speak to them (and they have very friendly dogs!)

Incidentally while we were there we ate at both Cafe Diablo and Brink's Burgers in Torrey--at opposite ends of the price spectrum, but both well worth trying.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hoipolloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2006

Listen. Treat yourself to a cabin instead of a hotel room. Cowboy Homestead Cabins is away from the town, but only by minutes. The view is gorgeous, the cabins are clean and beautiful and the price is right. It was, by far, the best rest I had on my 1700 mile journey. I just wanted to stay up all night and watch the sky and breathe the air. Staying here was good for the soul, and I felt kinda sorry for the folks staying in the chain motels on the strip.
My visit to capital Reef was SO worth the drive. It made Bryce Canyon look anemic.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank UncadooPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2005

We recently stayed at Cowboy Homestead Cabins for 1 nt. near Capitol Reef NP. It was great! The cabins were neat and homey (not fancy). The location was nice, but a few miles from town. The views were breathtaking, and we enjoyed staying out of town a little (even though Torrey is small and pretty quiet anyway). The couple who own it are extremely nice and there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. My husband said it was the best night's rest he'd had on our entire trip (day 9 or 10). The cabins have kitchenettes, tv's, porches that face a nice view, and outdoor swings. My kids really enjoyed having space to run and stretch their legs. Thanks to all who made our stay memorable. We got a rate of 64.99/nt-very reasonable! FYI-there is no restaurant at the cabins, so eat in town or take food to prepare for meals. Thanks!

2  Thank trippinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2004

On our two-week jaunt of over a thousand miles last Fall, this place where we stayed three nights was supurb, in a wilderness setting with beautiful views The owners are from families born in this valley, they've done a great job making the cabins comfortable and cozy, and they are so very welcoming. We would stay there anytime we were lucky enough to return to the Capital Reef area.

3  Thank merrytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
4.2 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
3 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
827 reviews
3.7 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
32 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sunlit Oasis
Sunlit Oasis
#5 of 7 in Torrey
78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowboy Homestead Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowboy Homestead Cabins

Address: P.O. Box 750130, Located on Utah Highway 12, 3 miles south of Torrey, Torrey, UT 84775-0130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Torrey
Price Range: £81 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cowboy Homestead Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cowboy Homestead Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Hotel Torrey
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing