We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific resting spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific resting spot!”
Reviewed 19 August 2007

This is a great place to stay while visiting Capitol Reef National Park. The cabins are quiet, clean and spacious. The kitchen is well-equipped with coffee pot, toaster, microwave & fridge. And the beds are very comfortable! Make sure you try Diablo Cafe for dinner. Our best meal in southern Utah!

  • Liked — Quiet, spacious & clean
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

My husband and I loved this place. The cabin was so cute and comfortable. I loved the front porch and the view of the stars at night was magnificent. We wished we could have stayed another day. The owners are so pleasant and made us feel so welcome. Their dogs are friendly too. The cabins are located in a quiet place and the landscaping is very nice. The quaking aspens were very pretty. I would stay here again anytime. The price was very reasonable too and it is near Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western N.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

What a wonderful surprise. After the heat of the desert, these cabins were located in a much cooler location. The cabins were quiet, private, clean, and spacious. I particularly enjoyed hanging out on the front porch and enjoying the cool breeze. The owners even invited us to some practice steer roping which was kind of like having our own private rodeo in the back yard. We loved watching the mother goose waddle around with her babies behind her. The family dogs were gentle and quiet. Of our two weeks of traveling, this quaint out of the way location was my favorite. The kids were allowed to roam around the grounds and pet the horses. On top of everything, it was very affordable. The only downside to Torrey is very limited groceries. We arrived there on a Tuesday and there was no milk to be found. The groceries are sparce and high priced.

  • Liked — The front porch
  • Disliked — the lack of groceries available in the town
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelmomWesternN_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This was our rogue booking on a trip full of hotels and motels... and I was so hoping that was wouldn't be disappointed by a stay in cabins... we weren't.
Arriving mid-afternoon after a long drive, we were able to sit out on the porches and just soak up the warmth of the sun and listen to the rustling aspens. It was a quiet spot after 4 days of hectic travel... We had one cabin with 2 queen beds and one with a king... both were lovely and clean, and spacious - the king even had a couch. The ammenities were great - extra towels (lovely and soft) and a kitchenette with a microwave and coffee maker... there was a grill and table outside.
Being some way from town, the night was pitch black which made for amazing stargazing - saw the Milky Way with the naked eye.
It really was just lovely to stay there.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrynuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, while we hiked in Capitol Reef. We were very pleased with the cabins, the owners and the rate. There are 4 cabins (or 5?) and they sit in a large open space with great views of the desert and distant mountains. the cabins are clean, cozy, well lighted, heated, Satellite TV, a nice clean bathroom...no complaints. They have a front porch for relaxing after a hike and fabulous stargazing. We got our neighbors out stargazing and convinced them to turn off the porch light!
We would definately stay there again if we go back to Southern Utah.

  • Liked — clean, roomy, great rates
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregWakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2006

A great place, much better than staying in a hotel: bigger rooms, kitchenette, lots of lovely open space around you, very quiet. It's ten or so minutes to Torrey, then another ten getting to the center of Capitol Reef. We saw very little of the landlords as we spent most of our time hiking but they were very friendly when we did speak to them (and they have very friendly dogs!)

Incidentally while we were there we ate at both Cafe Diablo and Brink's Burgers in Torrey--at opposite ends of the price spectrum, but both well worth trying.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank hoipolloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2006

Listen. Treat yourself to a cabin instead of a hotel room. Cowboy Homestead Cabins is away from the town, but only by minutes. The view is gorgeous, the cabins are clean and beautiful and the price is right. It was, by far, the best rest I had on my 1700 mile journey. I just wanted to stay up all night and watch the sky and breathe the air. Staying here was good for the soul, and I felt kinda sorry for the folks staying in the chain motels on the strip.
My visit to capital Reef was SO worth the drive. It made Bryce Canyon look anemic.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank UncadooPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
4.2 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
3.0 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
742 reviews
3.7 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 8 in Torrey
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
3.2 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowboy Homestead Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowboy Homestead Cabins

Property: Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Address: P.O. Box 750130, Located on Utah Highway 12, 3 miles south of Torrey, Torrey, UT 84775-0130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cowboy Homestead Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cowboy Homestead Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Hotel Torrey
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing