We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE STAY HERE!!!!”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Yucaipa, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“PLEASE STAY HERE!!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were going to stay at the Best Western or even, Howard Johnson's (GULP!!) seeing how they're hotel chains. I am so glad we didn't.
The Broken Spur Inn/Motel was just what we were looking for. A clean, comfortable, spacious room with an amazing indoor pool all to ourselves. The shower had water pressure that I haven't felt in a hotel in a long time! The grounds were nicely maintained and the view was magnificent! Not only is it a place to sleep, but it also has a steak restaurant, beauty salon, conference room, and gift shop!!!
I do not normally ask people to stay at any of the hotels I am reviewing. However, I want this business to be successful. The owners are an amazing family willing to bend over backwards any way they can to make your stay the best! Hope to someday return.

Room Tip: We decided away from the main office in back for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzowuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you! We are glad you stayed with us also. We love to hear from our guests about their stay. We hope you felt welcomed and we are glad you enjoyed the pool. Thanks for wishing us well in our new business. Our goal is to make our guest feel at home and have an enjoyable stay. Please come visit us again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    320
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
191
390
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Highly Recommend!! It is a nice family owned operation. A few minor glitches were attended to promptly and satisfactorily. Best lodging in the area. Good restaurant. Outstanding TV system. GJ Hannon - Mclean, Virginia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We are glad we were able to work through all those glitches and for your patience. We also appreciate your constructive suggestions. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Please drive safely in that nice car!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I tried a different Hotel this trip and was blown away by the quality of the rooms and the great food in the restaurant. This is top drawer food service and is an excellent place to stay if you are in the area. You are just a few miles from Capital Reef National Park and the front desk people are a wealth of information about the entire area. You will not go wrong. This is one of the few hotels in Torry that has a nice clean pool available for all guest. It just doesn't get better then this for the price.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to make sure our rooms are clean and our food in the restaurant is good quality. We are glad you enjoyed the pool. It is the good people who stay with us that make our job rewarding and enjoyable. We hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked a room here because all of the other hotels in the Torrey area were full. We are so glad we did. The Broken Spur is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff is friendly and the restaurant very good. Plus, they gave us 10% off our breakfast bill when we brought our room key with us. The room rates are reasonable and the so are the restaurant prices. We ca't say enough nice things about this place. We will definitely book a room here again and recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family who may be traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
We are so glad you were able to book a room with us at the Broken Spur. We have only been open since August 2012 after being closed for almost a year and so we are trying to let people know we are open again. We enjoy meeting new people everyday and our goal is to make your stay a great one. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Not a lot of choices to stay in Torrey UT, close to the park, but Broken Spur is definitely the best choice! Fairly new building; extremely clean and comfortable. The owners/hosts and staff are very friendly and do everything they can to make you feel at home. The pool and jacuzzi are indoor, with toilet & changing rooms, and open till 10pm so you can recuperate from a day in the park. Their restaurant is as good as it gets in Torrey. Great breakfasts, very good steaks, amazing burger. A little pricey on the menu, but everywhere in Torrey is a bit overpriced. We ate at a few places, and Broken Spur is the best overall. The park is only 10 minutes down the road. Internet is free, and very good. And your cel phones work here, as well. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. If your car GPS cannot find the address (ours could not), just punch in the intersection of U-24 and U-12.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge and microwave when you make your reservation. Not available in all rooms (we learne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilaFred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review as we love to hear from our guests. And yes it is a good to request a microwave and fridge if you need one as all of our rooms do not have them. Our goal is to make people feel welcome and enjoy their stay. We certainly hope you will be able to come and stay with us again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The room decor is very nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. The views from the balcony are spectacular. We did not have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant because they were getting ready to close the kitchen by the time we checked in. My wife and kids went to the pool and were pleased with the pool but were disappointed that the jacuzzi was not working. If you are visiting Capitol Reef, you should definitely stay here, it's close, convenient and comfortable. The only reason I don't give it a rating of 5 is that it was the most expensive hotel that we paid to stay at during our "Grand Circle" road trip of visiting the various National Parks in Utah, Colorado, and Arizona.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing the pool, you will have great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FitTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Broken Spur Inn. We are glad you liked the pool and feel bad about the hot tub. Our heating element went out and we had to order a new one. It came in about 2 days, so unfortunately your stay was during that 2 day period when it wasn't working. So sorry! We also feel bad you didn't arrive in time to eat in our steakhouse. We actually close at 9,but sometimes if we are way busy we don't get shutdown until 9:30. As far as our rates go, we try to be comparable to the other motels in town. We do give multiple room and multiple night discounts, and also triple A, senior citizen, military and ARP, We are also in the process of providing free hot breakfast for our guests starting about the 12th of August. We have a few things to work through first. We certainly do enjoy meeting lots of new people from lots of different places. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

...this place to stay. Our room was immaculate, the beds were comfortable and as you've heard in other reviews, the views are amazing. We ate both dinner and breakfast there (don't miss the buttermilk syrup for your pancakes...to die for!) and the owners were there visiting with everyone. If you're traveling through don't miss this place to stay. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments! We certainly do appreciate your business. We are glad you enjoyed the buttermilk syrup (a family recipe!) We enjoy meeting so many nice people as they pass though. Thank you again and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.6 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing