We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners hard work and great personality shows.”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Owners hard work and great personality shows.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This motel is very nice, perfectly clean and should satisfy even the hardest person to please. Owners are super friendly and aim to please you. The wife said they purchased the place a year or so ago and have completely remodeled everything and they DID IT WELL.Owners were working late night to check us in and back at 7:00 to serve breakfast. It is easy to see they have and continue to put a lot of hard work into this place. Thanks for a great stay. Super place to stay.
Had a mix up with our rooms, needed three and they only had two. We thought we would have to find another place to stay so we stopped along the way at "The Michael Myers Motel" in Hanksville to look at a room... called the Broken Spur back and said "we will sleep on the floor if we have to". They got our rooms straightened out and we are SOOOO glad we continued on to this hotel. We got a good laugh and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear from our guests so we can know where to improve. And we are soooooo glad that we were able to get you the rooms that you needed. We love meeting new people from all over the world everyday and we appreciate your choosing to stay with us. Hopefully you can visit us again soon.
Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    301
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
181
369
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We made reservations here based on other reviews--who are these people that were so pleased? Were you in the same motel? The coverlets were satin bedspreads--not the newer no-bedspread type of place. The fan in the bathroom must have had 10 years of lint in it and the light cover was not only cracked but full of dead moths. One had to get out of bed to turn the light on or off because it's placed far too high to reach from the bed. You could choose to turn on the desk light or the microwave or the frig, but not all--there were not enough plugs. You have to insert a credit card or a drivers license to open the frig door--so weird! As previous reviewers noted there is no coffee in the rooms--why? And the breakfast?--You are served one egg, one piece of bacon and some lukewarm potatoes--nope, no toast is available--there were other options but they were just as limited. I would never stay here again when there are far better places in Torrey to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate comments from our guests so we can know where to improve. We chose the bedspreads we have because they are different and they accentuate the red rock surroundings we have. The fan believe it or not was cleaned when the season started - not ten years ago. My housekeepers are suppose to keep the lights cleaned out. Sometimes dealing with hired help is anything but easy, but as the owner I do try to check rooms frequently for such problems. You have me confused about the light switch. I can't turn mine on or off at my own house without getting out of bed. Everything should already be plugged in when you come unless guests move things around. The fridge that has to be opened with a card of some kind was here when we bought the motel. It took us 3 months to figure out how to get into it...it is weird. We have been replacing them as we can afford it. We provide free coffee to our guests all day long in the lobby. Because you cannot get coffee stains out of carpet, we had to replace several rooms with new carpet. That made us decide to leave the coffee makers in the lobby. As far as toast goes, just ask....there are lots of breakfast options on our menu. We really try to make our guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay. However, we know we can never please everyone. It is a difficult task to keep everything running smoothly but we try our best working 18 hour days every day. We also know we can always improve and that is our goal so we will continue to work on things each day. We have a lot of improvements we want to make this winter.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Torrey is not that big of a place but there's a great hotel here...Broken Spur Inn. we had a king size bed and it was great. very quiet room on the 2nd floor nice hot breakfast in the morning - nice front office staff. quiet area around hotel also. great views of the cliffs just out your door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Our location gives us a nice plus because we do have great views. We want our guests to feel welcome so we hope our staff is accommodating. We love meeting new people from all over the world every day. Thank you and we hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Not much to say about Torrey but it's well located for Capitol Reef National Park. Broken Spur Inn is not what its name might suggest, indeed it is newly refurbished and both bedroom and the hotel facilities (swimming pool, reception and restaurant) are in very good order. The free breakfast was excellent by motel standards. Bedroom was large, cable TV better than most motel stays. Staff were very friendly. This motel is a cut above the average motel and deserves to prosper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We always welcome comments from our guests so we can know where to improve. We have been owners for a year and have enjoyed meeting so many great people from all over the world. Our goal is simple - to make our guests feel welcome and to have a comfortable stay. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Broken Spur was a wonderful choice. We came out of Capital Reef early in the afternoon and our room was ready for us. Cable TV selection and internet access were good. The bed was most comfortable and we got a great night's sleep.
Their restaurant provided a good meal at a fair price. For breakfast in the morning you sat down in the restaurant and could choose from 5 items on the free side of the menu or you could choose to pay for a larger selection on the other side of the menu. We chose the free breakfast and both the service and food was very good.
It is well worth stretching your drive by an hour to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murph0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for letting us know what you thought of your stay with us. We just started the free breakfast so we are still experimenting with what works best. We are also glad the service was good. That is very important to us. Thank you and we hope you can visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The warmth, good humor and general anxious to please attitude of the cowboy husband and wife who own and operate this place percolates down to all the staff. See the 212 pound cougar mounted in the office and get the story that goes with it . The pancakes are the best I ever ate. The view from the parking lot is worth the trip by itself. All under an enormous lighted American flag.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbasspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope our guests feel welcome when they come. A home away from home. Glad you enjoyed the pancakes! We do have gorgeous views and we do love our large American flag. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We selected this motel in based on the comments on Tripadvisor and I have to say, they were right! The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub were great to enjoy after a day's ride on our motorcycle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danm812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We hope our guests feel comfortable while here and that they have clean rooms. Glad you enjoyed the pool and hot tub also. Please visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.2 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.2 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing