We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken Spur”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Dillon, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Broken Spur”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife, daughter and our grandchildren stayed at the Broken Spur for a week in October,2013. This inn is operated by two very competent owners who really care about their guests. The staff is friendly and was always willing to make our visit as comfortable as possible. Rooms are clean and well kept. The restaurant has a remarkably good chef and great waitresses. It is conveniently located to Capitol Reef National Park. Off the main road; it is very quiet and has a convenient, well maintained pool. Nice views of red cliffs to the north. Water is from a mountain Spring and excellent for drinking.

Room Tip: We like a room with car parking right in front of the room and this facility has quite a few. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and to have an enjoyable stay with us. We also try to maintain clean rooms. That is very important to us. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again sometime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    328
    81
    14
    7
See reviews for
200
396
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

When we arrived, we found the door to the room open and the key in the lock. Dumped on one of the chairs were the towels. Later we found that there were no cups or glasses in the room. We took the key to the front desk, and the receptionist seemed confused as to why the door might have been open and the key in the lock! I suspect that the person cleaning the room got interrupted and never went back.

The room was large, but the bandwidth on the wi-fi was NOT! In fact, trying to stay connected was so frustrating that we finally gave up. Breakfast was small if you ate the included one, we should have ordered and paid for a larger breakfast, instead.

The inn is up on a mesa and it is pretty windy up there! My traveling companion had trouble sleeping from the wind noise.

That having been said, this is a middle of the road inn in the middle of the road between Bryce and Arches, and reasonably priced. Nothing special, however!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side of the building as the reception desk, (facing the enclosed swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I apologize about the room not being ready. Obviously something to do with our housekeeper. As for the wi-fi, we have put in a completely new system, so hopefully from here on out it will work well. Wi-fi is a service that we provide free of charge however. Usually when I stay somewhere we have to pay to use the wi-fi, so it is a complimentary service and we do try to keep it running smoothly. When it doesn't it is out of our control since we rely on other people to provide it to us. I can't control the weather either or the wind. If it was blowing here, I am sure it was blowing clear through town. We hope your stay was comfortable and we hope you will come back again. We have made more improvements this winter. We are continually trying to upgrade. It takes time and money to do that. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MO USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and were happy with our choice. The room was clean and very quiet. The only issue we had was with the water temp in the shower. It cycled from Hot to cold to ok. They provide a complementary hot breakfast which was very good. It's location is close to the entrance of the park.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gailmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I get out west twice a year. We love being outdoors and seek comfortable places to stay while hiking etc. The Spur was very good-large clean rooms along with a real hot breakfast included. The family that runs the Spur are great-friendly is an understatement. We stayed for 3 nights-enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The catch word phrase for this hotel is 'pride of ownership'. From the owners all the way down to the staff, one gets the sense that they really care about the guest's experience. we stayed there 3 nights and got more than our money's worth. the room was clean, spacious and had all the amenities and more than one would expect in this price range. The free breakfast was outstanding and served with a smile. The owner even gave us a great tip on what to see on the way home. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piston60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked a one night stay here at very short notice and were very pleased with the location and the size and cleanliness of the rooms. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and we could happily have stayed here longer.
The complimentary breakfast was rather basic but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When I made reservations at the Broken Spur I did so on the basis of the #1 rating. You need to understand that it is #1 in Torrey.. which is a very small town which perhaps just doesn't have any exceptional motel/hotels. It was a throw back to the 60's. It was certainly adequate, but having been built some time ago-the walls are pretty thin.. my suitcase (which was sitting on the dresser) rattled when they turned on the shower in the room next door. The place needs a little bit of work on the outside-- wrought iron railings need some paint, etc. The free breakfast was about a C-, very unexciting. HOWEVER-- our stay was fine. I am not sorry that we stayed there-- it was clean and neat and it was adequate for our needs as a short stop-over while seeing beautiful southern Utah. The view was lovely and the people who served us were exceptionally nice and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hometowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We apologize for the rattling of the suitcase. I don't think it was the shower next door, it was probably the washer in our washroom. We try to finish up the laundry before guests come and not to start too early in the morning, but a lot of laundry requires lots of hours and our washer being so large does cause some rattling. Sorry! We also realize the wrought iron railing needs painting - again! We have actually painted all summer, but it is hard to stay ahead of guests and weather. It rained so much the last of August and first of September that it caused a lot of rusting. Believe it or not we work on it non-stop. Our free breakfast was actually a trial run. We didn't start it until the 12th of August. Before that you had to buy breakfast in the restaurant. We decided to try it, but because we have a restaurant we are not set-up for continental breakfast. We certainly want our guests to be satisfied. The main thing is to just tell us you need more or would like something different. We are still trying to decided what to do for next season so we appreciate your comments. We are glad your room was clean and that you were treated well. That really is our main goal - to make people feel welcome. We would love to have you come back - and hopefully the railing will look better when you come. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing