We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for one night in Torrey utah at the Broken Spur and we really enjoyed our stay. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The bed was really relaxing, the shower was just the right temperature, and we liked that our room was on the second floor so we had a beautiful view. The only down side was that the restaurant was closed and we didn't have a chance to eat there (not many choices in torrey this time of year.) Other than that it was a great stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Riedstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us despite the off-season. We recognize that Torrey is very quiet in winter. But the scenery is still very beautiful! Our steakhouse will open in March. We would love to have you come back and try it as well as our new bakery. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    300
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
181
367
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My expectations from other reviews were probably too high, but this is not a great or even good motel. It's very dated (structure, decor, bathroom fixtures, beds, etc.) but is kept clean and tidy. You'll be OK staying here since the owners clearly care and are doing what they can. But we were happy to leave early in the morning after one night.

As other have mentioned, no food available onsite during the off-season - not many choices nearby either (this is a small town with not much around).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us despite it being the off-season. Torrey is a busy place from April to November. Then it shuts down dramatically. We are glad to offer rooms for guests during that time, but we know there are not many places to eat. We also recognize that we are not a new motel. It was build about 1993. But we have done a lot of renovating, ie. painting, carpet in some rooms, draperies, new sheets, new towels, new bedspreads and this winter we are making new headboards for all the beds. We have only been here a year and a half. It takes lots of time and money to upkeep. Right now we are putting in a new floor in our steakhouse and building a bakery so we are constantly trying to improve. But we definitely want to make sure the rooms are clean and that you are comfortable. Please come back and see our new additions and try our steakhouse. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend for one night during the off-season in late November 2013. The room was comfortable and clean. We arrived late, and it being the off-season they understandably had closed up and left us a key. To my surprise, the next morning they apologized and gave us a discount for not being around! Just one example of the very friendly service that is noted in other reviews.

I've also stayed at the nearby Austin's Chuckwagon Motel as well as the Best Western Capitol Reef. I liked the Broken Spur and Austin's equally well and would happily stay at either again (Austin's closes during the off-season). The Best Western is OK too, but not quite as good in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you will be able to come back during the main season so you can try our steakhouse and bakery. Our goal is to make everyone's stay a comfortable one.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the broken spur inn. The place was almost deserted due to off season, but nonetheless we felt very welcomed.
The lady at the desk was very friendly and helpfull, the room was clean so there was nothing to complain about.

Unfortunately there was no breakfast ( off season).
When we returned our key in the morning there was no staff at the desk, so we left our key behind the counter in good faith.
When we started our car a guy in cowboy boots came walking by and asked if everything was ok. :-) We loved the laid back atmosphere and the trust that was given to us as guests.

This place must be an even better one to stay at in the right season!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry our steakhouse was closed, but there just isn't enough business to justify keeping it open in the winter. We keep the motel open because we are doing deep cleaning and renovating and so if someone wants a room we are glad to accommodate. Which explains our laid back off season. We certainly want our guests to have an enjoyable stay no matter what the month of the year however. Please come back again and enjoy our steakhouse and pool! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I spent one night at this facility in early November. My room had all of the amenities I'd expect from a motel, plus a lot of space and a nice bed spread. The adjacent steakhouse was closed for the season, which may have affected the atmosphere, but I'm a bit surprised by all of the gushing reviews on this site (which were the reason I stayed here in the first place). It's a fine place to stay, I just wasn't blown away. The motel is located up on a hill above the highway at the intersection of highway 24 and highway 12. There are closer hotels to Capitol Reef National Park, but it's just a short drive away. There was no breakfast available in the low season.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We know that our motel is not the newest motel around, but we hope it was clean. We are trying to upgrade all the time. For instance, we replaced the big tv's with flat screens this year. We also replaced some of the carpet in the rooms and we are replacing more this winter. We hope our guests feel welcome and that their stay is comfortable - that is our goal. Sorry our steakhouse was closed for the season. There just isn't enough business to justify keeping it open in the off-season months. We hope if you get back this way you will come visit us again and be able to eat in our steakhouse.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had been driving all day when we arrived in Torrey! The hotel was on a hill and very attractive. It's a renovated older style hotel with two stories and doors that open onto a porch/walkway. It has an indoor heated pool that was very nice. The lady who checked us in was nice and friendly and explained about things that I needed to know-like that breakfast came with the room. Nice! Our room was SO nice. It was big! And the bed was awesome-fluffy pillows, comfy mattress, nice décor. The view from our room was wonderful--those gorgeous red hills. The sink was separate from the tub and toilet and spic and span. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel that night. Our waitress was friendly and pleasant. We had a grilled cowboy steak and it was huge and tender and terrific. We should have bought one and shared it-that is how large it was. Yum! The room had speedy WiFi and a flat screen television. And it was QUIET! We did not hear a single thing. The next morning we had the breakfast that came with the room. I had oatmeal with cranberries-it was perfect. My husband had eggs, bacon and potatoes. If you don't like the free breakfast choices, you can purchase something else. But I thought the free choices were just fine! Excellent coffee! When we checked out, a gentleman helped me and was interested in how my visit had been and if we had a good time in the area. So pleasant! Stay here if you are in Torrey!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou_louRome_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests. We know we are not the newest motel around, but we are continually trying to make improvements. We are adding a bakery right now and a laundromat. Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and to have a clean room. Capitol Reef is a beautiful place to visit. We hope you can come back soon!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great location close to entrance to Capitol Reef park. We stayed here while we visited and hiked Capitol Reef. Free hot breakfast cooked to order. Family run, owners are lovely people. Room very clean. Torrey is a neat little town. Steak house restaurant reputed to be best in town, unfortunately we visited at end of October when many things were closing for season and the restaurant was only open for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestocking78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope your stay was enjoyable. We also feel bad about the steakhouse being closed. We did intend to go into November, but the government shut down did not help us at all and we ended up having to shut down earlier. We hope if you get back to Capitol Reef again you will come stay with us.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.2 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.2 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing