We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broken Spur Inn
Nearby Hotels
Capitol Reef Resort(Torrey)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noor Hotel(Torrey)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanksville Inn(Hanksville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (845)
Filter reviews
845 results
Traveller rating
363
364
96
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
364
96
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakeswestern themebaked goodscapitol reefroom was cleanon siteseparate buildingfree breakfastpotatoesnational parkhot breakfastindoor poolroad tripgreat place to staynext morningsmall towngifford house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 845 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Received a warm welcome at reception. Not sure if they are the owners, but it is obvious that whoever is, are putting a great deal of time and attention into the Broken Spur Inn and this shows in its appearance. It was therefore a shame that some poor maintainance in the rooms lowered the overall satisfaction of the stay. Doors not locking, sink plugs not connected, leaking pipes - silly little things that could easily be rectified and should have been picked up by houskeeping. However greatest concern was the high water pressure which made the faucets very difficult to operate without getting showered in extremely hot water. Good restaurant if a little expensive and souless decor, but food and service was good. Hot breakfast was included and good value.
Please accept this review for what it is, constructive critism. Would I return? Yes, a good little hotel, could be great with a little attention to detail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manonthepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. This is the only way we know how our guests felt about their stay. We have a great maintenance man who gets right on things the minute they are reported, but unless housekeeping reports it, we don't always know. We feel it is important to pay attention to detail as well. We want to have clean rooms where our guests can have a good restful night. We decorated our steakhouse to reflect who we are - real ranchers and cowboys. Sorry you didn't like it, but glad you liked the food. We hope you will come back again soon and stay with us here at the Broken Spur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We only stayed one night in the this small hotel in Torrey as we were on our way from Cedar City to Moab. We wished we had booked for longer.

The location of this hotel is truly wonderful with great views of the surrounding red faced cliffs.

This is an older style hotel but our room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

Breakfast featured muffins and breads baked on site as well as freshly made pancakes, eggs and bacon.

The hosts, Travis and Holly, made us feel very welcome and gave us very good advice about a scenic route to Moab which was our next stop.

This was a great find and I highly recommend it; we will certainly return when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We certainly hope you will be able to come back and stay a little longer next time! Our motto is "Kick Off Your Boots and Stay Awhile!" We are constantly trying to improve and make upgrades so our guests can have a great experience while here.
Thank you,
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for two nights while visiting Capitol Reef and Grand Staircase-Escalante. It's nothing fancy, but everything worked, I got two great nights of sleep, and the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the cook at breakfast who gave me tips on spots to explore on my next visit.

The rooms are a bit dated (reminded me a bit of my grandparents' trailer from years ago), the bathroom was small, and the toilet was really low, but most importantly, everything was clean and comfortable. Additionally, the WiFi worked great, and the room included a microwave and fridge.

The excellent included breakfast is what put this up to 5 stars for me, as they provide eggs, bacon, pancakes, and more. A great way to fuel up before heading out into glorious nature for the day. I'll definitely be back the next time I visit the area.

Room Tip: The Broken Spur is up on a hill (you can either enter from the east side closest to the park or the quaint lighted road on the west side from the gas station), so it's a little secluded and quiet by its nature. I doubt there's a bad room in the complex.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thunderable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your business. We are glad to hear that the wi-fi worked great as that is very important to us. We are also glad that you enjoyed the hot breakfast to start your day. We are continually striving to update and remodel our rooms. This year we added new flat screen tv's and new headboards. We want our guests to have a relaxing stay and feel welcome. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This motel really is out in the back 40, cause that's where Torrey is. The staff were top notch, very pleasant and helpful, I did not book ahead since it was off season and I was trying to not pay the trip advisor, slightly higher rates!I There were many other options in town but the room quality for the rate charged was good. Large room and bath, very clean and seemed to be newly redone.
The earlier comments of "barely ok", "not blown away", irritate me once again. This isn't Sydney, Aus. or Toronto, Ca. it's Torrey, Utah!!!!!!!
Not related to the motel but, the pizza/burger bar that was open provided surprisingly good meals both of my nights. Subway nearby was excellent as well.

Room Tip: I had a newly renovated room, ground floor and it was great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are many options in town. We also realize we are not a brand new motel, but we have done a lot of remodeling since we bought it in 2012. We want to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests with beautiful views in every direction. We hope you will be able to visit us again sometime. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Broken Spur is where we always stay when we visit Capitol Reef (about once a year). A classic motel owned by a local family, with a very friendly atmosphere, where the owners themselves will greet you and make sure that you feel at home. Spectacular views, great location and an absolutely outstanding value. Large and comfortable rooms, excellent beds, very quiet, very clean. All that you need for a great stay in one of Utah's most magnificent areas. You will not regret choosing Broken Spur over the characterless chain operations nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gowron808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We appreciate your review and we are glad to know that you like to come back! There is always something new to see here. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews