We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We found our room to be large and the bed comfortable. We had a ground floor room which was nice so we didn't have to lug suitcases up the stairs. We found the refrigerator not plugged in, so we had to unplug the microwave since we needed the fridge. The towels in the bathroom were fluffy and soft. Something you don't find very often in smaller motels. Breakfast was excellent and was included. Good choices of cereal, eggs, pancakes, bacon, ham and potatoes, as well as oatmeal and fresh baked coffee cakes and muffins. The staff was very friendly. If we ever find ourselves in the area, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor if you have heavy suitcases since there is only stairs to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailandSteve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed the fluffy towels! We are also glad you enjoyed our breakfast. The buffet is something new this year so we hope our guests enjoy it. Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Please come back again soon.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We didn't spend much time in the room as we came to hike at Capitol Reef National Park. The room was comfortable and clean, although a little outdated. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room which was great. The best part was breakfast which was included and it was awesome. The pancakes were made from scratch and there was a plethora of baked items that were to die for. The staff was super helpful/friendly too. Did use the hot tub one day after hiking and it was clean and well maintained! Why do you have TV's in the rooms though????? Only kidding, we didn't turn it on once.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jads8627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We appreciate your review and letting us know how your stay with us was. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as our buffet is a new idea this year. So many great hikes in CRNP. Hopefully you were able to hike several. And glad to know you were so busy you didn't have time for tv. That's the way a vacation should be. We appreciate your business and hope you can stay with us again sometime.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had an excellent 5 day stay at the Broken Spur when visiting Capitol Reef National Park. The free hot breakfast started each day off great and the pastry was excellent. All the employees at the Broken Spur, including the owner and his wife, went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. The cook came out of the kitchen every morning to inquire what we had done the day before and what we had planned. We also had dinner twice at the restaurant and received excellent service and good food. On the negative side, the hot tub could have been a little hotter and the daily maid service was lacking in some respects. The shower also had a tendency to go hot and cold. I will certainly stay here again if I return to CRNP.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hiking in CRNP. We are sorry the hot tub wasn't hot enough...ironically, my husband turned it down because someone complained it was too hot! Maid service is something we deal with daily...please come stay with us again and we will make sure the daily maid service is of great quality. Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Did not stay there overnight.
Only had Breakfast on our way to the Park.
If you like to eat of Plastic Plates and like the lowest Quality of Plastic Cutlery,
then this is your Kind of restaurant.
Quality of Food was all right for the Price.
Personally i like to pay more and don't add to the ever growing Plastic waste in our World.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Your review was a little puzzling to us. There is a reason we use paper plates and plastic cutlery. Did you notice any waitresses that morning? No...therefore there is no one to pick up your plates and silverware. Our breakfast is designed in a way that we feel best suits our guests that stay with us. When you have 50 rooms full at night, they all seem to come in between 7 and 8 in the morning. Having a buffet makes our breakfast go so much easier. Everyone can help themselves instead of having waitresses trying to fill coffee cups. We feel our quality of breakfast is great because everything is homemade, including the sourdough pancakes and pastries that come from our very own bakery. And yes, even the eggs are real. The main thing is to have good food - and we do have that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting Capitol Reef. The location is good, easy to find and the price is reasonable. We had booked online and did not receive any email so I called them. They could not find our reservation so we made a new one. No problem just glad we called on it. The room was good and the bed comfortable. I would say the service at the front desk was OK, not overly friendly but OK. They do have a free breakfast for guests and the guy at breakfast was very friendly and told us about some locals sights. This is a small town and the motel is older, with a small bathroom but I thought it was kept up well and it was clean. I have not stayed anywhere else in town but this seemed to be a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We also recognize there are lots of options in town, so we are glad you choose to stay with us. Having friendly front desk staff is very important to us also. We love living in a small town and the opportunity we have to meet great people from all over the world. We certainly hope if you have the chance to come back to Capitol Reef country, you will be able to stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Received a warm welcome at reception. Not sure if they are the owners, but it is obvious that whoever is, are putting a great deal of time and attention into the Broken Spur Inn and this shows in its appearance. It was therefore a shame that some poor maintainance in the rooms lowered the overall satisfaction of the stay. Doors not locking, sink plugs not connected, leaking pipes - silly little things that could easily be rectified and should have been picked up by houskeeping. However greatest concern was the high water pressure which made the faucets very difficult to operate without getting showered in extremely hot water. Good restaurant if a little expensive and souless decor, but food and service was good. Hot breakfast was included and good value.
Please accept this review for what it is, constructive critism. Would I return? Yes, a good little hotel, could be great with a little attention to detail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manonthepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. This is the only way we know how our guests felt about their stay. We have a great maintenance man who gets right on things the minute they are reported, but unless housekeeping reports it, we don't always know. We feel it is important to pay attention to detail as well. We want to have clean rooms where our guests can have a good restful night. We decorated our steakhouse to reflect who we are - real ranchers and cowboys. Sorry you didn't like it, but glad you liked the food. We hope you will come back again soon and stay with us here at the Broken Spur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We only stayed one night in the this small hotel in Torrey as we were on our way from Cedar City to Moab. We wished we had booked for longer.

The location of this hotel is truly wonderful with great views of the surrounding red faced cliffs.

This is an older style hotel but our room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

Breakfast featured muffins and breads baked on site as well as freshly made pancakes, eggs and bacon.

The hosts, Travis and Holly, made us feel very welcome and gave us very good advice about a scenic route to Moab which was our next stop.

This was a great find and I highly recommend it; we will certainly return when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We certainly hope you will be able to come back and stay a little longer next time! Our motto is "Kick Off Your Boots and Stay Awhile!" We are constantly trying to improve and make upgrades so our guests can have a great experience while here.
Thank you,
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E Sr-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: £73 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, bedfinder AG, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing