We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with lots.....lots!....of faux satin”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky with lots.....lots!....of faux satin”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I liked this motel. It is like stepping back two or three decades, and it also felt like the set for a soft adult movie! But I liked it. There was a fun, brash aspect to decoration, beds were plush. We ate in the motel restaurant, as it is situated a good walk from the main town (I use 'main' loosely; this is a small town. Maybe bigger than most settlements if you're touring the grand circle national parks). I had a good quality steak; as ever, big portions. they have an interesting beer selection worth looking at.
The Spa area was not well-kept. The Jacuzzi was tepid, and the pool a bit chilly.
All in all, I liked the place. Very friendly staff, drawing on their individuality. A quirky place that does the job.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first (UK) or second (US) floor - i.e, the one not on the ground! A little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback so we know where we can make improvements. About our spa area...we have an inspector that comes once a month and keeps us on our toes. If it looked bad, it was probably after a lot of traffic had been in it. It is flushed every morning - we can't do that when people are in it. The temperature of our pool never varies. It is always between 84-87 degrees. If the outside air is cold it makes it feel colder and in May it was way cold. The first plunge is cool but after a few minutes it feels great. I swim every morning so I can check the temperature and make sure it is OK. We certainly want our guests to feel welcome. I think quirky means unique or strikingly unconventional. Perhaps unusual but in a good way.....so we will take it as a compliment because we are unique! Please come back again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    325
    80
    14
    7
See reviews for
198
393
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This motel reminded me of the roadside motels we would often find ourselves in as kids on a family roadtrip in the 1970s. The decor is a bit dated but the price is right. The room was clean and comfortable. It was too cold in April to use the pool or other facilities. As for location, it's absolutely perfect. If you're coming on Highway 12 (stunning) from Bryce Canyon, it's located on a hill directly across the junction of Highways 12 and 24. It couldn't be more convenient or easier to find. We filled up on the baked goods at breakfast as we knew they'd been baked fresh on the premises. And don't miss the lovely, tranquil Capitol Reef National Park, about 11 miles east of Torrey and the Broken Spur, which is especially beautiful in the setting sun, when the rocks glow a brilliant red.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. This is how we know where we can improve. Since buying the motel in August of 2012, we have continually been renovating. We have actually updated quite a few things, but we still have a list of things we need and want done. We hope to update the vanities this winter which should make a huge difference. Come back again and visit us so you can see the next changes we have in mind.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A clean, spacious room on a hill with an Imax view - what more
does one need? The highway below is quiet for an intersection
where two main county roads meet, the proprietors are friendly
and the breakfasts generous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermy1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Our main goal is have a clean room for our guests so we are always glad to hear that it is. We never get tired of our views either. Please come back again and visit us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this motel. Nice, clean, spacious rooms. Attached restaurant was very good. Owners very friendly & nice. Planning to go back there next year & stay more than one night. Did not have time to use pool area but looked nice. Bakery smelled wonderful & free breakfast was awesome!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We know there are many choices of motels in Torrey so we want you to know we appreciate your business. We are glad you liked your stay and we would love to have you come back. We already have our winter projects lined up, so there should be some changes when you come again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent a night here after touring Capitol Reef and were glad we chose this motel. One of my pet peeves is poor lighting in motel rooms. Not here! The overhead light in the room is bright enough for sewing (if one so chose). There are table lamps for all other functions :) The room was clean, well maintained, plenty of towels, comfortable bed, and the complimentary breakfast was good with a nice variety of choices. The staff is pleasant and efficient. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Excelemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad to know you liked the lighting. Some of our rooms are better than others and we have been replacing the fluorescent lighting with new modern fixtures. There is always something to upgrade. We hope you will visit us again sometime soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What more could you ask for?
The people who work there are very friendly and go out of their way to fulfill your requests. We visited the area on our motorcycles and when we checked in we were given a 2nd floor room. I asked if there were any 1st floor rooms available, the lady at the front desk did her magic and we got a 1st floor room.

The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. My only complaint was the pillow, they need better pillows. Despite the pillows I had one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in a motel.

When you get to the room don't put your camera away. The view from up on the hill never stops. The sunset makes the red rocks an explosion of color and the views across the valley to Boulder Mountain never stop.

Breakfast in the morning is more than you'd get at some restaurants. Eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, pancakes I could go on and on. It was all hot and plentiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and just about every room has an amazing view. If it doesn't, a few steps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. We appreciate your business. And I agree about the pillows. I am happy to announce that we have been replacing all the pillows this year with some nice new ones. We only have a few rooms left to have new ones in every room. So if you ever get back this way come in again and try them out!!! I always ask myself, "Would I want to stay in this room?" and then I try to make it inviting and comfortable for our guests. Please come back and visit us again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stopped at the Broken Spur for the night on our way from Bryce to Monument Valley. When we arrived, there had been a mixup with our reservation (they had made a mistake and listed us as coming in the night after), but we were happy to take one of the new double queen rooms instead of the king we booked. The owner was very friendly and apologetic, but it all worked out in the end, so we were quite happy.

The room was recently remodeled (still had that new carpet smell) and had a good view of the mountains in back of the property. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet, and we slept well after a good dinner in their restaurant.

Breakfast the next morning was included with the room, and there was a selection of eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc. The only downside was that the food had been out for a while and, despite the warming trays, was a bit cold. Still, it tasted okay and fueled us for the next leg of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. This is the only way we can make improvements for our guests. My biggest fear is that someone will walk in with a reservation that I don't have in the computer and I am completely booked! So I am glad that our mix-up turned out OK. Our breakfast buffet is new this year and we are trying to make sure the food is warm but it is a little hard to get it just right. You want the food warm, but you don't want to keep cooking it. Also, we have three different morning cooks. A lot of the food being warm is dependent upon them getting there on time in the morning. We will pass this information on to them and hopefully be able to keep it just right. Please come back and visit us again if you ever get this way.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing