We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great independently owned inn”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great independently owned inn”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the reviews on this site and was not disappointed. The room was clean and spacious and the AC worked well. I was initially given an upstairs room and the staff easily accommodated my request to be on the ground floor. The breakfast that is included is plentiful and tasty with options for everyone. You can't beat the price and location for an independently owned and operated inn like the Broken Spur. The furnishings in the room are a little dated and the mini-fridge has to be opened with a card (kinda weird) but those shouldn't be the reasons to deter you from staying at this fine establishment.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PHLkatattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is from reviews that we are able to improve on our business. I agree about the mini fridge being a little wierd. It is actually a min-bar and came with the motel when we purchased it in 2012. We have been replacing them one by one, but 50 new fridges really adds up and we have been trying to do a lot of other renovating as well. Our goal is to continue to update and make improvements. And hopefully by the end of this season the mini fridges will be gone! We would love to have you come back again sometime - and see what changes we have made!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    327
    81
    14
    7
See reviews for
199
396
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night when we were on our way to Bryce Canyon. Our expectations were nog very high, but opun arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The room is comfortable and very large. The included breakfast is nice. My husband enjoyed the swimmingpool. Staff is friendly. Just a fine place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MHVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We know it can be hard to know where to stay when traveling in a new place. We appreciate your staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our free breakfast is new this year and it seems to be working out pretty well. Thank you again and we hope you can stay with us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really liked this motel. The staff were very welcoming, and put themselves out to make our stay enjoyable. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, we especially enjoyed the homemade cakes. Also more than enough tables available for breakfast. This hotel was a bit different from the norm in that it had a nice cowboy/western feel to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John295E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy so much having people from all over the world stay with us. Our goal is to provide a welcoming and comfortable stay. Our breakfast buffet is new this year and so we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope you can visit us again someday.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had high hopes for this place based on what I had read on TripAdvisor. When we arrived it looked promising but soon went downhill. The high class restaurant they boast about is overpriced and set up like a greasy spoon. They have two buildings in the complex and they are simply two story motel units. We had a ground floor room overlooking the road. When we walked into the room it was a scene right out of a porn movie. Slick polyester bedspreads with a florcesent light mounted on the ceiling. When you walked on the floor you felt as if you were going to fall through. The beds folded both people into the middle and were extremely uncomfortable. The front door had a button lock in the door handle that you couldn't even tell if it was locked unless you grabbed the handle from the outside. There was no security lock and had I not had my own security I would have been concerned with this significant safety hazard. A credit card could have opened that door in about 3 seconds. The kids went to the pool and it was indoor but was in it's own "building" if you will. It was more like what you would build to make a backyard pool an "indoor" backyard pool. The windows were dirty and there was one table with two chairs that could be used and a couple of lounge chairs and that's it. The hot tub was murky and old and the whole building was run down. Here's the part to be concerned with if you have young children ---- one of the kids was in the shower and a second one flushed the toilet at which time the one in the shower was extremely burned. There is no way that water should have been that hot in a motel that would have children staying at it. Upon checking out the old man running the counter was on the phone and as I stood there to speak with him he just motioned for the keys and waived. Sounds good to me, if you don't care then we'll share our experience on here for others to be aware of.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HPDRoy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We feel bad that your stay was so unpleasant. I can't compare our bedding to a porn movie, because I've never seen one. We simply wanted the bedspreads to match the red rock color that surrounds our area. If you would have simply come back to the front desk right then, we would have gladly refunded your money and you could have gone elsewhere. There are lots of motels to pick from in Torrey. We could be very offended by all the many things that were wrong with your stay, but we do our best to make our rooms comfortable and clean and to make our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We found this hotel after a long drive on Route 12 during a spring snowstorm. As we got to the intersection of 12 & 24 we were tired and ready to stop for the night, and saw the sign for Broken Spur Inn and Steakhouse pointing up the hill directly across from the junction. What a great find! This is a small two-story hotel and I think it must have great views from every room – I know ours did.

The office staff were very friendly, and we were quickly booked into a double queen room on the first floor. This is the type of motel where you pull your car in front of your room – convenient for unloading, especially when the weather is not so great. The room was large and comfortable, with a refrigerator and microwave. There was an ice machine a couple of doors down. A hot tub and pool are located in the center of the property in a separate building. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

At the junction there's the hotel and a gas station, and you can drive a little further into the small town for other restaurant choices but we decided to eat at the on-site steakhouse. Good decision – we had a great steak dinner with fast and friendly service.

A hot buffet breakfast is included with the room and it was terrific, better than we've had at most places we've stayed during our trip. There were scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, and potatoes, along with cereal and juice. The baked goods are from the on-site bakery and were absolutely delicious.

If you're looking for a well-run family motel this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you noticed the signs because being up on the mesa, we have to make sure people know where we are. We realize there are a lot of different motels to choose from in Torrey. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and to provide a clean and quiet room. Our buffet breakfast isalso new this year and so is our bakery. We are evaluating if we want to continue this next season. So we appreciate your comments. Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the suite which costs a bit more, but had a large jetted tub. The room was clean and had a small fridge and microwave. It was perfect place to stay after a long motorcycle ride.

The staff was friendly and the free buffet type breakfast in the morning was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Hunter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We only have a couple of rooms with the jetted tub so we are glad you enjoyed yours. Our buffet breakfast is new this year and we hope our guests enjoy it! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Pleasant hotel. Room was comfortable but a bit on the small side. Room furnishings looked new. This is an old style motel where you park in front of your room and all the doors face the parking lot. The office staff were friendly and helpful. No elevator. All rooms are non-smoking. We ate at the motel restaurant one night and it was good; also with good service.

Room Tip: No elevator. If carrying your luggage up stairs is a problems, request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFreqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and have a nice stay. We are constantly trying to make improvements for our guests. Hopefully you can come back and stay with us again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing