We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant place to find!”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After driving HIghway 12 for a couple of hours we were so grateful to find this hotel. A nice family owned motel that was very welcoming, super clean and so affordable. We were so tired and anxious after driving through the canyons this was truly a blessing. This is a two family owned business that strives to give their best. The rooms are large, clean with great beds and sheets. The AC worked nicely too which was important for us from the south. Breakfast is included in the stay however our car was behind a delivery truck and when we went to eat they had already closed the breakfast area. But they went above and beyond and fixed us two containers full of eggs, bacon, potato hash and several muffins, biscuits and coffee cake. We ate outside on one of their picnic tables overlooking the mountains. The best view ever! Can't imagine finding any place better in Torrey and hope that many more visitors support this great business!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am always so glad when guests say their room is clean. We strive hard to make sure they are. I wouldn't expect my guests to stay anywhere I wouldn't stay. Sorry about missing the breakfast but it sounds like our cook fixed you up and you were able to enjoy an outdoor breakfast. Please come back and visit us again.
Thank you!
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

You couldn't ask for nicer owners. Don't let bad reviews change your mind. Our view was fantastic. The owner was always working some where on the property. The breakfast was great. It was freshly prepared and you had your pick from several hot choices and homemade pastries. There's a restaurant on site. My husband and will definitely stay here again. Our room had pictures of the west on the wall and we wanted to pack them in our suitcase. If you chose to stay here, you won't regret it. The motel also had free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SharkGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our goal is to make our guests feel welcome and have an enjoyable stay. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet which is new this season. Thank you and please come visit us again.
Thank you,
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Broken Spur for three nights while hiking the backcountry of Capitol Reef National Park. The room was spotlessly clean and large. Four pillows were provided for the two of us, a "touch" we always appreciate. The bed was uncomfortable: mattress seemed cheap and unforgiving. However, don't let my comment regarding the bed stop you from staying at the Broken Spur. The owners are terrific hosts, the in-door pool is what is needed after a long day of hiking in the canyons, and you'll never find a better breakfast anywhere, at any motel. Several very good small restaurants and a general store are only a couple of miles west of the motel, in the small town of Torrey. If you desire a big evening meal, the Broken Spur's restaurant is excellent. Other motel options exist nearby, but we'd never hesitate to return to the Broken Spur.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerrySVenice_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us. I am sorry your mattress wasn't what you expected. You should have told us and we could have moved you to a different room because we do have different mattresses. Our main goal is to make sure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay with us. Please come back again!
Thank you,
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location and a lovely little town. The room was luxurious with parking outside the room. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was a little disappointing with a limited selection. The restaurant has a good reputation but we did not eat there in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlesoapyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay even though your breakfast choices seemed limited. Our buffet is new this year and seems to be working better than the sit down order breakfast we had last year. Please visit us again if you are ever in Torrey.
Thank you,
Francine Hallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose the Broken Spur after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The room was clean, well decorated in keeping with the Western theme, nice sized, and the fridge is a great amenity. We were tired from travelling, so we ate at the Steakhouse. The food was very good and the portion sizes enourmous. They were having a special party for a rather large number of people which slowed down the service a bit - but this was not a problem for us. We used the pool, but were disappointed that the hot tub was not functioning. The only other critique that I could make is that the quote I recieved in my email confirmation from the hotel web site was incorrect. They explained that there was a 'glitch' in their hotel website that gives wrong quotations and that I needed to pay more as a result. I would recommend that you call the hotel directly to get your quote for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CincyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so we can know to make improvements for our business. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your patience with your dinner at our steakhouse. It can get extremely busy sometimes and we do our best to get everyone served in a timely manner, but sometimes it just takes a little extra time. As far as the website goes...we have just re-done our website and made some changes, including the free hot breakfast. Last year we didn't have that until late in the fall, and we have totally changed how we do it this year. If you booked your room before April it would have not reflected the free breakfast. Also, our rates are based on double occupancy, so if there are more than two people in the room there is an additional charge which pays for the breakfast. Our rates haven't changed - just the breakfast part and based on how many are in the room. But I agree....it is always better to call in to make a reservation, then you know exactly how much and you get the room you really want. Thank you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Broken Spur. It had great views and was very close to Capitol Reef. A plus is that Subway is located next door if you want to bring a sandwich when visiting the National Park. The owners and their son were very helpful and friendly. We felt very welcomed. The breakfast was really good with numerous hot offerings as well as delicious freshly baked muffins. We also had dinner there one night. My husband had a great steak and I enjoyed the chicken cordon bleu. There were nice views from the restaurant. I enjoyed the lobby area with its unique western-type decorations. I would gladly return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We just started the free breakfast this year and so far the guests seem to be enjoying it. We are able to have fresh muffins and pastries each day because of our new bakery. Our decor is a western theme because my husband and his partner have been in the ranching business for many, many years. We really are cattlemen! We hope you will be able to visit again sometime!
Thank you,
Francine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. It has a nice elevated location and a territorial view from most directions. I requested a rollaway for my son and they had a blow-up bed ready in our room when we checked in which was very nice. Rooms and bedding are very dated, but clean enough. Our room was in the back, and there was a lot of junk laying around outside the kitchen. Breakfast was adequate - bacon was excellent but the runny eggs were inedible. The pool looked decent but we never used it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron97062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review. This is how we can make improvements with our business. Our breakfast buffet is new this year and we learning a lot. We have three different morning cooks and they all cook breakfast a bit different. Eggs are one of the foods that are not always cooked the same. We do have one cook who likes them runny - personally I do not, but you would be surprised how many people like them that way. Sorry about the "junk" - we were at that time doing some cleaning out, but part of it was building supplies for our waterfall that we are building. Hopefully you can come back sometime and see the finished product! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E Sr-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: £65 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing