We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful properity, and friendly owner.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torrey Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A beautiful properity, and friendly owner.”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The schoolhouse has been lovingly and beautifully renovated, and the grounds are wonderfully landscaped. The B&B is a great place to stay and relax while visiting Capitol Reef National Park. Ty is a welcoming and friendly owner, and makes tasty organic breakfasts. We thought the rooms were lovely as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    46
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
164
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My friend and I were on a 7 day road trip through southern Colorado and Utah and stayed for one night in this splendid B&B. It's remarkable that such a lovely place exists in this very small town of about 300 full time residents located near Capitol Reef National Park. So, if you are doubting whether or not to stay in this relatively remote location, do not be deterred, as this place provides excellent accommodations and Cafe Diablo (which others have written about) great food. The transformation of this old schoolhouse into a spacious and well furnished inn is remarkable and the owner has documented the process with interesting photographs from the era when the building served as the town's school.
We stayed in the Arithmetic Room which works perfectly for 2 friends traveling together. (If a couple were traveling I would opt for rooms on the third floor which are exceptionally large and have king sized beds, flat screen TVs, and spectacular views.) In the Arithmetic Room, the main, good sized room has a queen size bed and there's a separate room with a double bed. There's a passageway between the rooms where there's a comfortable chair and sink that also opens into the full, marble bathroom. All the furnishings are quite lovely; a great selection of antique and newer pieces. The rooms have large windows that provide beautiful views; the shades are very functional and do a good job of darkening the room for sleeping. The window air conditioner in the larger room does a good job of cooling that room, but the temperature in the smaller sleeping room, which has no air conditioner, was a little warm, especially since that room faces west. The grounds of the Inn have been exquisitely landscaped and provide many comfortable seating options for those wanting to be outside.
My hesitation in giving the Inn a five star rating stems mainly from the food situation (and, as another noted, the absence of the inn owner when guests were arriving). In an inn of this caliber one would expect to have an afternoon snack/drinks available but none were provided. As for breakfast, it was a quite modest affair and not served until 8:45 (though coffee was available earlier). There were 6 of us staying the night we were there, and the amount of the main hot item served barely provided adequate portions for each of us. That being said, the egg dish was very tasty and was made with organic vegetables (the owner has a large greenhouse on the property) and free range chicken eggs. I appreciated that the owner inquired about food allergies and provided a dish that was gluten free.
Finally, the wireless internet worked well in the rooms which is always a plus for me.

Room Tip: Couples should opt for a third floor room; for friends the Arithmetic Room works best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyMountaintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Inn was very nice...exceptionally restored. For sure it's the nicest accomodation in the area. Breakfast was very good. We were a little disappointed that the Innkeeper was not on site to greet us when we arrived. We arrived during the proscribed check in time to find a note on the handrail to let ourselves in and to call the innkeeper who had gone out to dinner with friends. When in the area, eat at Cafe Diablo. The food at Cafe Diablo is as good as any you'll find in NYC or Boston.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purt1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed for only one night in the Arithmetic Room. It was just as described on the website -- really a perfect retreat in Torrey. The massage chair in each room was a nice touch, and the views from the b & b are incredible. It is really nice to stay in a place steeped in so much history.

The breakfast was phenomenal, Ty was very friendly and helpful, and the overall experience was superb.

For the poster who posted about the lack of soap in the bathrooms, you'll be happy to know that our room came stocked with very chic toiletries.

Definitely stay here if you will be going through Torrey!

And Cafe Diablo was excellent, though beware that the portions are huge. Save room for dessert.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

If you are visiting Capitol Reef National Park in Utah, then the Torrey Schoolhouse is the place to stay. A beautifully renovated schoolhouse, this b&b offers spacious, airy, comfortable rooms and wonderfully colorful gardens. Host Ty is engaging and warm, and cooks a delicious, organic breakfast (ours was a chile rellenos "bake"). Be sure to ask her to tell you some of the schoolhouse's history -- including some amazing stories about Butch Cassidy!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_grossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have stayed in many B & Bs -- this is one of the best 1) Beautifully renovated schoolhouse with interesting history 2) massage chair by Sharper Image in each room 3) Service room on each floor with extra towels, pillows, irons, refrigerator 4) Delicious food 5) Friendly owner, Ty 6) Conveniently located to restaurants and small town of Torrey and the best: 7) the gardens and landscaping -- wow!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This former schoolhouse was lovingly and beautifully restored by the current owner, Ty Markham. All of the rooms were thoughtfully decorated. Our room included a massage chair which was welcome after a day of hiking. The rooms were well-furnished with many amenities. The organic breakfast was delicious. Ty was friendly and helpful. We loved our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrey Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrey Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Torrey Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 150 N. Center Street, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn provides lodging in a historic pioneer setting. The Inn was once the lifeblood of the whole county, including weekend dances, country bands, boxing matches, sometimes attended by local outlaws including Butch Cassidy. The Inn is close to hiking, biking, scenic trails, horseback riding, tours, and is the perfect base for your next National Park adventure! If you are planning a tour of Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, or Lake Powell, don't forget to include the diverse and spectacular Capitol Reef National Park on your route! A stay inTorrey to enjoy great food at award-winning restaurants, and to revive yourself with our Sharper Image rolling-action massage-recliners is a special treat. Come and relax and enjoy the historic elegance that awaits you at the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn!Located in the heart of Torrey, Utah--only minutes from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park--the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is the most convenient and luxurious lodging accommodation at Capitol Reef. Providing delicious ORGANIC full hot breakfasts, the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is also a wellness retreat. It is truly where "Capitol Reef meets comfort!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrey Schoolhouse Bed & Breakfast Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing