We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Central Utah Gem”
Review of Torrey Schoolhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torrey Schoolhouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlebury, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“South Central Utah Gem”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Torrey is a most pleasantly surprising town. About halfway between Moab and Bryce Canyon, where Routes 24 and 12 intersect, it is in a beautiful valley and has an official information center, several art galleries, excellent cafes and an historic bookstore. Torrey also has its old schoolhouse, where Butch Cassidy came to town socials, meticulously restored and wonderfully renovated to a spacious, comfortable and meticulously clean B&B. Ty, the owner, gave us a friendly welcome and overview of where to find whatever we might need, before excusing herself for family commitments. Diane, who served an excellent breakfast, generously and expertly filled us in on the history of the building, the town and the area. Our room, on the third floor, had impressive views west and south, a wonderful vibrating chair, interesting local tribal decor, and all the comforts of home. Some 'not to miss' places in southern Utah are Route 12, Torrey and this Schoolhouse B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent, best to choose by one's taste in their unique decor, but those on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    46
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
158
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a beautifully remodeled old schoolhouse that maintained the character of the building structure but changed the inside to be a wonderfully decorated & comfortable hotel. The main room on the first floor was the schoolroom and is now a great room for lounging and dining. There are many book choices, old and new, related to the local territory and the history of the area. Ask the owner to tell about her opening party just after the restoration--she captured some great history that could have been lost forever. Overall, a great place to stay surrounded by beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceofWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

There are few places that I can recommend without any reservation and Torrey Schoolhouse B&B is one of them.

The Inn is in a restored 1916 schoolhouse (duh!) and is superbly decorated with period furniture but, get this, there is a reclining massage chair in every room and one in the great room on the first floor. Ah, that chair felt so good after a day of hiking to photo op locations in the canyons and hills in the area.

And, unlike many restored older homes used as B&B's the schoolhouse did not have the overdone cloying potpourri scents so prevalent in other locations.

Breakfasts (served at 8:30) are enjoyable social events with great meals. Don't be in a hurry to get away. Linger over another cup of coffee and exchange tales of sites seen, trails hiked, photos taken, etc.

Find a reason to stay here.

BTW - for dinner try Cafe Diablo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beedub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Restored schoolhouse beautifully remodeled. Each room tastefully decorated. Great view of the mountains from our room. Perfect spot to stop prior to starting your trip down scenic Highway 12. We left early and so never had breakfast, which was a 0800 with no early option. Chuck Wagon General Store a block away had great coffee and croissants. Visit would have been better if we had been greeted by the host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmandSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The owner did a superb restoration of what must have been a wreck of an old school. The building is furnished with some very nice antiques and decorated with old books and photos of classes from the distant past.

The rooms are adequately furnished, and the beds are comfortable. The Sharper Image massage chairs in each room are a unique amenity.

The second floor rooms have reasonable outside light and are probably best in the summer. The third floor rooms are flooded with light and have great views Likely they are at their best spring and fall. I suspect that summer finds them a little too hot.

Heating an old building of this size is a real problem. Space heaters are provided in the rooms and they keep them quite comfortable. A pellet stove kept the large lounge (possibly the former auditorium / gym) at a pleasant temperature

The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have reasonable outside light and are probably best in the summer. The third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfunutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night and this incredible facility. What a pleasure to be a lucky guest to experience the schoolhouse so remarkably restored. What an amazing job, Ty the owner, did to create a place so beautiful and peaceful. The building has been restored from top to bottom. We almost changed our plans to stay another night. The breakfast featured food grown in Ty's own gardens and orchard. The location to Capitol Reef is perfect and there are many great places in town to eat. Ty recommended the "Diablo Café" and we left after a remarkable meal wanting to go back again and again. It's a must. Many of the folks at the B&B had dined there multiple nights. Probably, the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at. Everyone was in awe of the beauty of the rooms and common space. I would definitely return when we venture to southern Utah again.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor was not only the largest but had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for one night after a treacherous motorcycle ride through the mountains in the dark, cold rain. We were freezing when we finally arrived and so glad we had reserved our room in advance! The town, Escalante, had quickly booked up. We stayed in the Chinle Room. It had all the amenities we needed for a comfortable night's rest. The breakfast downstairs was delicious, my favorites were the poached eggs, bacon and fresh fruit. Everyone was so helpful as we were on our way to Capitol Reef. We had some motorcycle problems and did not have the correct tools. The owner was nice enough to lend my husband some tools to get us on our way!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XNAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrey Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrey Schoolhouse

Property: Torrey Schoolhouse
Address: 150 N. Center St, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torrey Schoolhouse B&B Inn provides lodging in a historic pioneer setting. The Inn was once the lifeblood of the whole county, including weekend dances, country bands, boxing matches, sometimes attended by local outlaws including Butch Cassidy. The Inn is close to hiking, biking, scenic trails, horseback riding, tours, and is the perfect base for your next National Park adventure! If you are planning a tour of Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, or Lake Powell, don't forget to include the diverse and spectacular Capitol Reef National Park on your route! A stay inTorrey to enjoy great food at award-winning restaurants, and to revive yourself with our Sharper Image rolling-action massage-recliners is a special treat. Come and relax and enjoy the historic elegance that awaits you at the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn!Located in the heart of Torrey, Utah--only minutes from the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park--the Torrey Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is the most convenient and luxurious lodging accommodation at Capitol Reef. Providing delicious ORGANIC full hot breakfasts, the Schoolhouse Bed and Breakfast Inn is also a wellness retreat. It is truly where "Capitol Reef meets comfort!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torrey Schoolhouse Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing