We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We changed our route to stop!”
Review of Capulin RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capulin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Capulin RV Park
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We changed our route to stop!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were headed to Taso and wasn't going up to Raton but after reading about the Capulin RV park and Chance and Joni we had to stop so we changed out route. Great decision as they are great people and have a great RV park. When you're there make sure you pick up some of the best meat. They have a friend that raises, butchers beef and they sell it. We have'nt tried it but will in the next couple of days and I'll provide another update. Wonderful Christian family that provides a great experience. Thanks so much, JK

Room Tip: Just let Chance what you're looking for and if he can provide it he will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9384jlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stop 4 times a year and spend the night. We find the owners and their kids to be some of the nicest Christian people. The RV sites are great and we have been stopping for yrs. Very Clean grounds and bath facilities. Great 1/2 point to where we go in Colorado. A+ from us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I typically like to travel from New Mexico to Colorado for hiking, camping, and other outdoor activities. Capulin is the perfect halfway point to stop and take in a nice day of hiking the volcano and then relax at a cabin in Capulin RV park. For only $46 a night the cabin which can sleep 4 comfortably offers a pretty nice value. No on site amenities to keep children occupied other than a hammock which kept my 8 year old son busy for a couple of hours. Clean restrooms and showers on site could have done without all the Jesus and gun propaganda that the owners place everywhere but all in all a great place to stop and recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Nice park with a very nice owner. We stayed in site 13, which has a hammock in back. It's only a few miles from here to the Volcano. We were on our way from Colorado to Fort Worth, a long drive and this was an ideal place to stay. Not only is it an nice park with a friendly owner, but Capulin Volcano National Monument is worth a trip for its own sake.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed at a cabin after visiting the volcano. It was clean, quiet, and affordable. Bathrooms and showers were clean and heated. Perfect place for a quick stop on the way to the mountains.

We drove back up to the volcano at sunset and the landscape is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Campsites did not look good, but cabin was great. If heading through, spend a few extra bucks on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safetydawg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We camped here on a recent trip to Arizona. It is on a fairly busy truck route but the truck traffic did drop off once it started getting dark. The RV spaces are nicely graveled and flat so no problem leveling up. We enjoyed the Capulin Volcano National Monument while visiting here. We were the only ones camped in here and it made for a great off the beaten path trip through New Mexico. They also have wi-fi available and do sell beef native to New Mexico, which was amazingly tender and delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzjeepco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Took a motorcycle ride with a friend to the Capulin Volcano. Decided to stay here as it was the only place around. Because me and my riding partner each had our own tent, the owner made us pay for two tent sites. I have never been to any RV park or campground that charged in this manor. So $36 dollars later we set up our two very small backpacking tents roughly 100 feet from the highway. In a weedy site between 2 signs/billboards that after dark are very bright and annoying. Everytime you wake up in the night from traffic noise, you think its morning due to the lights shining on your tent from every direction. This was not only one of the worst places I've camped at. Its also by far the most expensive. Do yourself a favor and drive back to Raton 30 miles away and go to the KOA.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Capulin RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capulin RV Park

Property: Capulin RV Park
Address: Intersection of Highway 64/87 and 325, Capulin, NM 88414
Region: United States > New Mexico > Capulin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Capulin
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing