We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nine day stay and would do it again without reservation (but I would get a room reservation).”
Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Calabash, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Nine day stay and would do it again without reservation (but I would get a room reservation).”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The area is great to visit and to fully appreciate all that it has you need a few days. An excellent base to venture from is Mountain Lodge. The lodge is conveniently located right off Rt. 26 with an easy on/off ramp. Hop back onto 26 to go north for 25 minutes to be into Asheville or south to get to Spartanburg in 40 minutes. The Hendersonville mega stores like Wal-Mart are 5 minutes north on 26. You can go that way to get into the quaint downtown Hendersonville area also or you can just get onto the local road out front of the property and take it to the Spartanburg Hwy. which leads you to one of the cutest mountain towns I have been in for a long time.

The Inn is managed by one of the owners named Scott. He is a young, tireless and hard working guy who is committed to making everything right. He and his great team keep the place working smoothly. It is clean, the furniture is very functional and the kitchenette offers an easy way to save a few bucks by eating in – they have utensils, pots, pans, etc. Previously mentioned Wal-Mart is near and there is Ingles just a mile away.

But you don’t need to cook breakfast because the lodge provides a decent Sysco egg omelet and burrito along with pancakes, meats, fruit, etc. They also provide snacks around cocktail time – not bad. While we were there a bantam car group of at least 60 people came in for a long weekend. The lodge handled them with ease. Even gave them space out front to erect tents to display their cars and had a cocktail social one night.

The place is dog friendly as long as your pooch is well behaved – if not that nice guy Scott will give you a stare that will make poochie whimper – kidding but nearly true – no barking or bugging guests allowed. Our older Golden Retriever was treated like a queen. Just make sure the pet is flea free and pick up the messes outside.

The staff is great as I mentioned earlier but special recognition goes to two folks in addition to Scott. Matt the night manager who gets everything straightened out from the day before and has everything for the present day ready, including breakfast. And Red (Cheryl) behind the desk daytimes who treats you like you are a member of her family and she gets it right for you.

I will be happy to stay there again in a future trip.

Room Tip: Next door is a sister Inn that looks and sounds like this one but it is older. Don't be confused...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aging_nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    63
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
116
93
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendell, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We took our family to Flat Rock for three days and were fortunate to stay at the Mountain Lodge. Everyone on the staff was excellent. We had two toddlers with us, and it did not matter what we needed for us or the kids, the staff produced it immediately. The kitchens in each room were so nice for a family to use. There was a full refrigerator in the room. The outdoor waterfall was beautiful. Our 3 year old and 20 month old could pretend to "fish" to their heart's content and be very safe. The back area was a great place for the boys to run and play. The indoor pool was wonderful for family swims. The open, cabin like setting of the lobby provided a great place to gather for our family. The staff truly understand what customer service is.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Really nice hotel! The lobby and outside area were beautiful. Nice little waterfall feature in the back of the hotel was a nice touch. The pool was disappointing, it was small and was it was located indoors. The rooms were nice and large. A kitchenette area was available and that's definitely a plus when traveling with children. The beds were comfortable and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was clean and a decent size for a hotel. No exhaust fan in the bathroom though. So bring some air fresher!
Hotel was in a great location. Easy access to restaurants andthe highway. Front desk staff wasn't always available. It seem everytime I need something, I would catch them when there was nobody at the desk. Another quick tip would be to make sure your room key is no where near your cell phone. It erases the data of the card somehow and leaves you locked out of your room and when you go to the front desk, nobody is available. LOL. The hotel does a great job specializing your stay with welcome letters in your room and by writing personal notes on your room key sleeve. It shows they care and really are trying to make you feel welcomed.
All in all, we would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't choose the third floor if you are looking for conveience. The elevator is really slow and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed two nights in July at this lodge. Such a nice place. The staff was so very nice and helpful. Cocktail time in the early evening was a nice surprise. Wish it had a hot tub....that would have been really nice after a day of shopping in the surrounding area!!! will visit again when up that way.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor facing the parking lot.....it wasn't noisy at all which facing the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We made reservations at the Mountain Lodge because it was close to the Flat Rock Playhouse, but we had no idea what a nice place this is. Although it is right off an interstate exit, the lodge was excellent. The lobby is beautiful and the room had many amenities. It had a full kitchen including a full size refrigerator. Every afternoon they have hot snacks for the guests which changed every day. The Lodge also had a hot breakfast including sausage, bacon, and eggs.The hotel employees were very friendly and helpful. The lodge has a heated indoor pool. There is also an outside courtyard with a waterfall. If you stay at the Lodge I would highly recommend going to the Flat Rock Playhouse. It is as good a playhouse as you can see within hundreds of miles. The hotel is only ten minutes from Hendersonville North Carolina which has a renovated downtown business area with shops and restaurants Although you might think that a hotel called the Mountain Lodge would be up in the mountains and not off an interstate,, it still was a plesant surprise which was worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This lodge should win some award for friendliest staff. Tey were willing and able to answer any question or request we had. The rooms were spotless as was the inviting lobby and pool. The setting was perfect for getting to good restaurants, sightseeing, nature hikes, you name it, they had it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

WOW! What a hotel very clean and quite. This is a pet friendly hotel, however NO smells. I will return with the family.

Standard HI bed, with much nicer furnishings. Even has a ceiling fan over the bed, just like home :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
761 reviews
2.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing