We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with your pet”
Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with your pet”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The friendliness of the staff lived up to previous reviews. At the evening wine and snacks hour, the staff made a point of making themselves availiable for questions. We travelled on a Groupon but upgraded to the larger suite with two rooms; it was very comfortable. We also asked for a room at the end of the hall next to the stairs which was quieter and made it convenient to take the dog outside. There was a family in the room above us with kids who liked to run around at night but all quieted down by 11:00. Though the rooms have kitchens, they have very little cooking equipment, utensils, or glasses. We have very full days on our vacations and like to cook dinner in rather than go out to a restaurant. You can ask for what you need from the desk staff (apparently they stopped equipping the kitichens because people kept stealing stuff) but it is a nuisance to have to go downstairs each time you realize you need a different kind of kitchen utensil. Though the rooms were clean and neat, the carpets could have been cleaner. I did ask the maid to be sure to vacuum but it still didn't look great, Maybe they need a new vacuum. The back strairs were never done while we were there. The location isn't ideal for that evening dog walk; once you get out of the parking lot the road is quite hectic. Nevertheless, these are minor complaints. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms a the end of the hall and in the back are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    62
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
112
93
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here while visiting Asheville with my son for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a great view of the waterfall behind the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Perhaps my experience the first night with door- slamming, running in the hallway children until 11 PM was due to the coupon promotion which offered a stay for 2 or 4 for about half the usual price. When I asked the next morning for a room change the guest service representative was accomodating, told me to leave all my bags in my room, and said that they would be moved to a new room. Later that day I returned to find that all had been moved as promised. That night was quiet and the children were no doubt free to bother another guest as they were staying for several more days. The guest rooms were clean and pleasant. Bedding was comfortable. I needed to print a few pages, but found that the desk in the lobby which served as a business center had only a computer. I found out by chance that I could print to the front registration desk and retrieve my printed work there, but that was a little inconvenient. The evening reception was pleasant. Beer and wine were available by request from the guest services representative. Breakfast was a little sparse as I have no taste for the artificial egg omelette, prefer whole milk to watery 2%, and like butter, not magarine, on toast. The coffee was OK and there were a few pats of butter available on the second day of my stay. There is an attractive courtyard with a waterfall out back near the pool area, but only about 5 or 6 chairs so if the hotel is full it would be first come-first served for those. The hotel is located in a strange place behind other buildings. GPS can help get a visitor there. Right now, the road area in front of the hotel is under construction so it would be best to plan arrival during daylight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The area is great to visit and to fully appreciate all that it has you need a few days. An excellent base to venture from is Mountain Lodge. The lodge is conveniently located right off Rt. 26 with an easy on/off ramp. Hop back onto 26 to go north for 25 minutes to be into Asheville or south to get to Spartanburg in 40 minutes. The Hendersonville mega stores like Wal-Mart are 5 minutes north on 26. You can go that way to get into the quaint downtown Hendersonville area also or you can just get onto the local road out front of the property and take it to the Spartanburg Hwy. which leads you to one of the cutest mountain towns I have been in for a long time.

The Inn is managed by one of the owners named Scott. He is a young, tireless and hard working guy who is committed to making everything right. He and his great team keep the place working smoothly. It is clean, the furniture is very functional and the kitchenette offers an easy way to save a few bucks by eating in – they have utensils, pots, pans, etc. Previously mentioned Wal-Mart is near and there is Ingles just a mile away.

But you don’t need to cook breakfast because the lodge provides a decent Sysco egg omelet and burrito along with pancakes, meats, fruit, etc. They also provide snacks around cocktail time – not bad. While we were there a bantam car group of at least 60 people came in for a long weekend. The lodge handled them with ease. Even gave them space out front to erect tents to display their cars and had a cocktail social one night.

The place is dog friendly as long as your pooch is well behaved – if not that nice guy Scott will give you a stare that will make poochie whimper – kidding but nearly true – no barking or bugging guests allowed. Our older Golden Retriever was treated like a queen. Just make sure the pet is flea free and pick up the messes outside.

The staff is great as I mentioned earlier but special recognition goes to two folks in addition to Scott. Matt the night manager who gets everything straightened out from the day before and has everything for the present day ready, including breakfast. And Red (Cheryl) behind the desk daytimes who treats you like you are a member of her family and she gets it right for you.

I will be happy to stay there again in a future trip.

Room Tip: Next door is a sister Inn that looks and sounds like this one but it is older. Don't be confused...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aging_nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendell, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We took our family to Flat Rock for three days and were fortunate to stay at the Mountain Lodge. Everyone on the staff was excellent. We had two toddlers with us, and it did not matter what we needed for us or the kids, the staff produced it immediately. The kitchens in each room were so nice for a family to use. There was a full refrigerator in the room. The outdoor waterfall was beautiful. Our 3 year old and 20 month old could pretend to "fish" to their heart's content and be very safe. The back area was a great place for the boys to run and play. The indoor pool was wonderful for family swims. The open, cabin like setting of the lobby provided a great place to gather for our family. The staff truly understand what customer service is.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Really nice hotel! The lobby and outside area were beautiful. Nice little waterfall feature in the back of the hotel was a nice touch. The pool was disappointing, it was small and was it was located indoors. The rooms were nice and large. A kitchenette area was available and that's definitely a plus when traveling with children. The beds were comfortable and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was clean and a decent size for a hotel. No exhaust fan in the bathroom though. So bring some air fresher!
Hotel was in a great location. Easy access to restaurants andthe highway. Front desk staff wasn't always available. It seem everytime I need something, I would catch them when there was nobody at the desk. Another quick tip would be to make sure your room key is no where near your cell phone. It erases the data of the card somehow and leaves you locked out of your room and when you go to the front desk, nobody is available. LOL. The hotel does a great job specializing your stay with welcome letters in your room and by writing personal notes on your room key sleeve. It shows they care and really are trying to make you feel welcomed.
All in all, we would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't choose the third floor if you are looking for conveience. The elevator is really slow and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed two nights in July at this lodge. Such a nice place. The staff was so very nice and helpful. Cocktail time in the early evening was a nice surprise. Wish it had a hot tub....that would have been really nice after a day of shopping in the surrounding area!!! will visit again when up that way.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor facing the parking lot.....it wasn't noisy at all which facing the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sewingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing