We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice All Suite Lodge”
Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice All Suite Lodge”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I came here with a group on a trip to Hendersonville and Flat Rock for a play at the Playhouse.
I was in a King suite that was considered an accessible room. The Suite has a separate bedroom and livingroom and a kitchen with a full size fridge, a range with an oven, sink, microwave and granite contertops. There was a coffee maker and a toaster and pots and pans. Additional items available at the front desk. The bathroom was large with a closet area inside of it.
Livingroom area was nice also with a hide a bed couch, desk, a flat panel TV set and a ceiling fan.
The pool area is nice but I find the pool to be rather small. Fitness center consists of a cross trainer and 2 treadmills and that's it. They had a good comp breakfast and they also cater food for dinners and functions and Weddings.
A few things that would make the room better is that the bathroom have a heat lamp or a heater in there since those tile floors can get mighty cold.
This place is great for group travel and there is plenty of parking for motorcoaches. Flat Rock
PlayHouse is about a 10 minute ride by car from this lodge and this lodge is right off I 26.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penguinlimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    63
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
116
93
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuxedo, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Scott Mutchmore and his staff go out of their way to make sure your event is everything you'd hope it would be! When you want no worries and absolute perfection in decor, waitstaff, and food, contact te Mountain Lodge.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was a first time stay for us but will not be the last, I hope. Staff was very prompt and courteous. Room was lovely. We especially liked having ceiling fans in the sitting area and over the bed. You just sleep better that way. Rooms have a kitchenette, but we did not use except that I made some herbal tea in microwave. Room was very quiet.Breakfast was adequate but not fantastic. I would prefer Belgian waffles to the itty bitty pancakes and there was also no "lite" syrup. Some other breakfast disappointments, but hey, we didn't travel for breakfast alone. The indoor pool looked nice but we did not utilize. They also have a waterfall area in the back which is manmade but looks very nice. They do a lot of wedding groups.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Really everything went well. "Mountain lodge" really feels like a Mtn. lodge but it's right off the highway, tucked away next to a beautiful landscaped wooded area. "Mountain Lodge" is in a very convenient location to all that the mountains have to offer. When we arrived, the front desk was prepared for us. Our room was very clean & comfortable, beautifully decorated, flat screen tv, dvd player, free wireless connection, and even a kitchen with a full fridge, a 2 burner flat top stove, a sink, and a 2 person bar counter with bar stools. The bathroom is also large, with a very relaxing waterfall showerhead. I would say to the owners though, invest in curtains that will keep the sunlight out, for those guest that like to sleep in late. I'll also like to mention Scott, didn't ask his position at the lodge until I saw him at checkout, foundout he's the manager/ part owner. Well Scott did a impeccable job at making our stay feel great & "Neighborly", I felt at home in this place, matter of fact the entire staff was friendly and all smiles. I felt very safe & comfortable here. I highly recommend visiting the "Mountain Lodge" families & couples looking for a getaway at a very reasonable price. Oh, breakfast was included, and I even think that they serve a free light dinner meal. No question this is one of the best deals in the N.C. Mountains! Thanks Scott an staff, for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

From September 12-15, Mountain Lodge was the site of a women's retreat for members of my church and our sister church. It was an ideal location for the spiritual renewal we sought primarily due to the exemplary service provided by Scott (one of three owners) and staff members Fide, his wife Rosalba and daughter Sophia, Doran, and Cheryl, and the most scrumptious meals prepared by Chef Mark. Beginning with our arrival, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel like royalty (a comment I heard over and over from others in my party) until our departure. Rooms were clean and the staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

Room keys were waiting and rooms were ready, along with personal notes of welcome and mints. Attention to details is clearly evident at Mountain Lodge. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: My room was in the middle of the 2nd floor and overlooked the parking lot, which was fine with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool61mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Our stay began with hubby checking in, returning to the car, and declaring, "They are SO nice in there!" And, they were! The staff was cheerful, friendly, incredibly accommodating and helpful during our entire 2-night stay. Rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean. Breakfast varied between hot and cold items, and each evening they offered a reception with free cocktails, juices, and hot appetizers. The hotel is very convenient to historic downtown Flat Rock and Hendersonville as well as mountain hiking (which we did) and Asheville. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The friendliness of the staff lived up to previous reviews. At the evening wine and snacks hour, the staff made a point of making themselves availiable for questions. We travelled on a Groupon but upgraded to the larger suite with two rooms; it was very comfortable. We also asked for a room at the end of the hall next to the stairs which was quieter and made it convenient to take the dog outside. There was a family in the room above us with kids who liked to run around at night but all quieted down by 11:00. Though the rooms have kitchens, they have very little cooking equipment, utensils, or glasses. We have very full days on our vacations and like to cook dinner in rather than go out to a restaurant. You can ask for what you need from the desk staff (apparently they stopped equipping the kitichens because people kept stealing stuff) but it is a nuisance to have to go downstairs each time you realize you need a different kind of kitchen utensil. Though the rooms were clean and neat, the carpets could have been cleaner. I did ask the maid to be sure to vacuum but it still didn't look great, Maybe they need a new vacuum. The back strairs were never done while we were there. The location isn't ideal for that evening dog walk; once you get out of the parking lot the road is quite hectic. Nevertheless, these are minor complaints. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms a the end of the hall and in the back are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
0.1 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
750 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
71 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing