We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incomparable service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
1 review
“Incomparable service!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We had a large family gathering for a wedding, and looked at a lot of places before settling on this place. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the owner/manager (Scott) was quite simply the best hotel customer service person I have ever come across (and I travel a lot, all over the world). He was making breakfast, rearranging tables so we could all sit together at breakfast, mowing the lawn..he even went out and bought starch so my brother could iron his shirt - delivered right to our room!!! At night we didn't want to make noise in the lobby so they opened up the conference room for us, set up a couple of tables, and allowed us to have a few beers and listen to music (Ipod connection provided) as long as we wanted.

Oh by the way, the rate was unbelievable - the 1 BDR suite is very large too. If you ever have to stay in Flat Rock, you MUST stay here.....

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    62
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
111
93
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I had the pleasure of attending a friends gorgeous wedding this past weekend and the bride, groom, and family were all staying at the Mountain Lodge. We attended a dessert social at the lodge and it was wonderful, but where the lodge and staff stands out is in the excpetional service and hospitality that they afforded my husband and I in a difficult situation.

My husband and I were in an odd situation being in between hotels, unable to check into the bed and breakfast that we'd reserved until 3 pm, which left us little time, if any, to get ready for the wedding. We had all just returned from a pre-wedding group hiking trip, so needless to say we were in need of freshening up, so in a bit of a pickle. The bride graciously offered to let us get ready in her room, but it was her wedding day and I just didn't feel right for her to be preoccuppied about us being able to get ready...the bride shouldn't have to worry about anything on her special day! We were in the lobby and I explained to her the imposition I was feeling and the manager overheard our conversation and offered my husband and I a room to use to get ready for the wedding and to just chill out in until it was time to leave. I was so surprised, it was such a generous thing to do that in this day and age is really few and far between. The gesture meant so much to me....the Mountain Lodge is a wonderful facility, the rooms are gorgeous, and the staff is absolutely amazing, both to their guests and even the guest of the guest are treated VIPs! I will recommend this hotel to anyone that will listen and when we visit Flat Rock again, we will most definitely stay at the Mountain Lodge! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannainnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York PA
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2009

It is a large + to find a hotel of this superior caliber that welcomes pets.
Alice, Cheryl and Scott are professional, gregarious hosts.
The suite was all but spotless with a personal welcoming note upon arrival.
This is definitely the place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in a room with two queen beds, a stove and microwave and large fridge. The service provided was great! It was a nice touch that you were greeted by name each day. Made you feel at home. The fire in the common area was a lovely touch and provided a good opportunity to speak with other guests. The breakfast was same each day-cold cereal, eggs, french toast, pancakes, and sauage links, oj and milk, yougurt. Coffee was available throughout the day and needed to ask for the hot water-however tea bags were always available.
The evening hour also available was soda and some snacks-hot finger foods.
We attended a wedding that took place in the lobby-which was amazingly beautiful and put together well as we saw the transformation. The reception was in their "conference" room which was great!!! The indoor pool was nice-the water was good but the room a bit chilly.
The staff was very accomodating-whatever we asked they were able to do. Our door was broken but they fixed it in no time and our remote's batteries were dead and those were immediately changed.
We did have other rooms in the hotel as well and the only thing is that there were no extra toliet paper rolls in the bathroom.
The location was right off of 26 and cl;ose to much-South Carolina, Biltmoore and Asheville.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may2004bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastonia, nc
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed during the weekend of Valentine's and received a free bath robe, bottle of champagne, candle, and box of chocolates to celebrate the occasion. Though this lodge is located right of I-26, you can't hear the noise from the interstate and the lodge is well located as a night stop for those who plan on making day trips to hike the mountains. Scott, the manager, recommended some terrific mountain trips like the Carl Sanburg Home *15 minute drive* and Pearson's Falls *20 min drive*. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful including cereal, grits, breakfast bars, fresh fruit, yogurt, sausage etc. Downtown Hendersonville is wonderful and is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel is brand new and the king suite included a kitchenette *for leftovers from the terrific Cypress Grill downtown,* 2 flat screens, a writing desk, crown molding, 2 heater/ac units, etc. The room was large enough, with an actual bathroom counter to store items, and a large closet for a week stay. Indoor pool plus free wifi internet!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We had a mini family reunion at the new Mountain Lodge in Flat Rock. Everyone loved it! The decor is beautiful and the rooms are spotless. The management and staff are attentive, friendly and helpful. The Mountain Lodge is conveniently located off of Interstate 26 so it makes a great home base for all types of sight seeing trips. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are thinking of having an early family Christmas celebration at the Lodge.

  • Liked — The service and beautifully appointed rooms and lobby.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElfAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2008

The hotel is only a couple of months old and it was really nice. It was nicely decorated, contemporary meets mountain lodge. It was nice and clean and the employees were really helpful and friendly. About a half an hour from the Biltmore, but there are several places to eat around there and the complimentary small breakfast buffett was decent, enough to get you through to lunch. The indoor pool was really great for a quite swim with our 2yr. old. We usually stay with the Marriott, but due to the last few time being horrible we decided to try something new. The price was really fair and overall the stay was great. I would stay again. I hope they keep up the good work and keep it clean and guest friendly.

  • Liked — The great room, cleanliness, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lady2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
717 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
60 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge

Property: Mountain Lodge
Address: 42 McMurray Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-5810
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic ALL-SUITE Mountain Lodge nestled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains and convenient to Asheville, Historic Hendersonville and I26. The perfect place for affordable vacations, weekend getaways, reunions, retreats and honeymoons. You and your family will enjoy quality time together and the montage of local activities and attractions including; Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock State Park, Dupont & Pisgah National Forests, NC Arboretum, Flat Rock Playhouse, Apple Valley and the world famous downtowns of Hendersonville and Asheville! Western NC's only ALL-SUITE Lodge with luxurious "Suite Sleep" bedding. In addition, you will enjoy the sounds from our waterfall, relax in our indoor pool, or play a board game in our library. Award winning in house chef, nature trail, s'mores bonfire, waterfall courtyard, fitness & business center, basketball & more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing