We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful visit! We will return soon.”
Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
“A beautiful visit! We will return soon.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We just returned to Orlando from a 3-night stay at the Mill House Lodge and will return again in the fall. We stayed in the executive suite in the Jordan Lodge and were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the suite and the attention to detail given by the owner (Bob) and his staff. The location is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The property surrounds a beautiful lake (paddleboats and canoes on the beach) with a waterfall that at one time powered a stone mill. The experience was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Take it from a couple of Orlando natives—if you seek a calming getaway in the mountains of North Carolina, and you are willing to put up with birds chirping every morning and every evening, and you can handle the soothing sound of a nearby waterfall—and you don’t mind watching fire flies at dusk—this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwotherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Mill House Lodge and Flat Rock/Hendersonville area. Many guests arrive planning to do a number of different activities and find themselves just relaxing by the lake; either reading a book, fishing or paddling the canoe slowly around the lake. The birds and fire flies to add a nice touch to anyone's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    41
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
42
38
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Outdoor pond, canoeing, fishing, paddle boats etc. was a hit with my children. The grounds were clean and the building was nicely painted. However, the room reminded me of an old fish camp from the 60's and the beds......wow......you could feel the springs under you with every move. This was truly an awful night's sleep and my 5 hour drive home the next day was miserable as a result. I would gladly pay more to stay there had the beds and room been up to date. When you are in the hotel business your beds at least should be comfortable. I cannot recommend because of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for visiting with us and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the lake, hopefully you were able to catch a fish or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, Sc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights in room 101. I chose this "apartment" because of the description of the water falling over the dam at night. I love the beach, but it was too far for us to travel for just two nights. We did, indeed listen to the water all night long. It wasn't the same as the flowing of the ocean, but calming, nonetheless. The apartment isn't modern, but that wasn't what we were looking for. It was clean and comfortable. It was just far enough away that we were out of town, but close enough that we can go back to the local restaurants we tried. Incidentally, we were able to try several restaurants that offered discounts for just showing our room key. Nice. The little lake at the lodge was just right to canoe around and we spent some time doing just that. The price at the lodge is reasonable considering what a lot of places charge for just a room. We had a full kitchen with all of the cookware and dishes supplied to us. (Just like what we look for at the beach) I'd gladly stay here again for a night or two away from the norm of our hectic life.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpetmanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for spending some time with us. Suite 101 is our most popular because of the waterfall. Since, we don't have a restaurant onsite, we're glad that we could team up with some local restaurants for discounted meals. We do look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Price is hard to beat. On a small, charming lake with a dam/waterfall with well kept grounds. Small wooden pier was home to a solitary guitar and harmonica player on the weekend. Our room was a little worn and bruised but clean. Only dissapointment was the mattress was not very comfortable. Service desk available during regular business hours.
Almost within walking distance is the Wrinkled Egg, Hubba Hubba and Dean's Deli as well as a great wine shop called Just Vino. Donwtown Hendersonville is less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and had time to sit by the lake and relax. The local shops are definitely a treat for visitors as well as locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Nothing what we were expecting! We stayed in the Jordan Lodge.The place is very clean and very quiet! Yes the decor is old but it gives it a very lodge feel. We loved the porch and the view of the lake! The place also had a full kitchen, big king size bed,and a pull out bed in the couch.It is literally a 5-7 minute drive to downtown Hendersonville, where there all sorts of wonderful shops and great dining! It is also walking distance to the Flat Rock Village Bakery, great breakfast place! Coffees,hot tea, hot chocolate, fresh baked pastries! SO GOOD! This is wonderful place to stay for a great getaway and for a great price!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and partook of the restaurants and shopping in the area. There is quite a bit to do in the area. The Bakery is a great place to start the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice night at the charming rustic room overlooking the beautiful pond. A great place to stay. We had fun canoeing and relaxing. Nice front porches and clean rooms. Room for four + in each suite. Had breakfast at Mikes downtown Hendersonville.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for visiting the Lodge. Many guests enjoy their time canoeing on the pond, a few even try their hand at fishing. The porches are a great spot to review the day's activities and make plans for the next. Many just enjoy watching the sun disappear in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

About a year later I've again stayed at the Mill House Inn, this time with another daughter (sharing room 103, which offers two bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen area for around $125). The rooms were clean, comfy, and quiet except for the very welcome sound of water flowing from the mill pond through th race outside the bedroom windows. We really like the place--it has a good feel about it--and find the people who operate (own?) the place very pleasant and easy to deal with.

For dinner I recommend Mona Lisa of Hendersonville (785 N Church St--828-696-7858) for very tasty yet unpretentious Italian food...and wine!...at a very reasonable price. Another place that just has a good feeling about it...welcoming, personal, authentic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejhArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Thank you for your recent visit and indeed the sound of the water cascading over the dam helps many drift off to sleep in the evening. Great selections on your choice of restaurants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
1.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
741 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
445 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Property: Mill House Lodge
Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing