We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in flat rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
147 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location in flat rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an updated hotel from years ago. I have my misgivings from reading some of the reviews;but, everything was ok. The room was a little musty, but the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The weather was horrible , so we didn't get to enjoy the lake. There is a larger lake across the street with walking trail and the lodge is within easy walking to the Flat Rock bakery and Hubba Bubba BBQ. Flat Rock play house could also be walked to as well

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We do thank you for your recent stay with us. It would have been nice to have better weather as the weekends have been rainy for most of the summer. We are glad that you did enjoy some of the local sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    39
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
40
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I would rate in negative numbers if possible!!!
I called the lodge the day after making the reservation online through booking.com, to make sure we had a King bed (booked for 2 nights Fri & Sat July 5th & 6th). I was told we would be in unit 502. I was able to go online and view pics of that unit & was impressed. Actually all of the photos on all sites showed very nice rooms. BUT, when we checked in we were given unit 221, I asked why we were not in the room I was told we would be in & the response was "I don't know why they moved you, maybe there was a plumbing problem or something". I asked if we still had a 1 bedroom suite with a King bed & was told yes so we figured it would be comparable.Well, we could not believe the room we were put in, it smelled of urine & mildew, we went to the store & bought Febreeze with 2x power & it barely made a difference. The 2 chairs in the "suite"were so gross we wouldn't
sit on them, the loveseat was OK but not all that clean, the kitchen towels, pot holders & utensils were not clean, the shower head was coming out of a hole in the wall & had a lot of mineral deposit buildup on it, the tub had old strips on the floor with black stains which I would think are probably mold/mildew.
We stayed that 1st night & left the next day. The only positive thing I can say is that the bed was very firm, it seemed to be clean & was not uncomfortable, BUT for $109 per night plus tax the entire weekend was a rip off. It was a rainy weekend & it would have been great to be able to cook in, lounge comfortably etc. but it was impossible to do so in that nastiness.
It also appeared that there were guests staying in the room we were originally supposed to be in.
We would never recommend this dump.
The website makes it seem quaint & out of town, it may be a private lake but it is not a real "getaway" location, it is in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nua6305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We do thank you for your past visit. Our records do show that you booked a 1 bedroom suite through Booking.com, they don't show that we received a phone call discussing the accommodations prior to your arrival. Suite 502 was booked prior to your reservation through our website thus it was not available for your use.
The black strips that you mentioned were anti-skid strips to prevent guests from slipping in the wet tub, they were not mold/mildew.
Our lodge is located in a neighborhood in the Village of Flat Rock, 3 miles from the town of Hendersonville. We do have 7 buildings that surround our private lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Room was ok, nothing to boost about. Clean and served its purpose 4 a weekend stay. The lake was nice treat to canoe and paddleboat. The pool was great to cool off and relax. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room had a/c unit but when I cut it off there was still some other unknown unit going on and off (cool air coming from vents in the ceiling) that kept the room cold. I am cold natured so being cold is not fun. We dealt with it and wrapped up at night. Not a big deal as we were in and out mostly enjoying the area and sights.

Room Tip: Call to confirm the room details that you see online for the room you want to book. I booked a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. The pool and lake do help relax after a busy day sight seeing and hiking. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We just returned to Orlando from a 3-night stay at the Mill House Lodge and will return again in the fall. We stayed in the executive suite in the Jordan Lodge and were extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the suite and the attention to detail given by the owner (Bob) and his staff. The location is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately maintained. The property surrounds a beautiful lake (paddleboats and canoes on the beach) with a waterfall that at one time powered a stone mill. The experience was quiet, relaxing and peaceful. Take it from a couple of Orlando natives—if you seek a calming getaway in the mountains of North Carolina, and you are willing to put up with birds chirping every morning and every evening, and you can handle the soothing sound of a nearby waterfall—and you don’t mind watching fire flies at dusk—this is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwotherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Mill House Lodge and Flat Rock/Hendersonville area. Many guests arrive planning to do a number of different activities and find themselves just relaxing by the lake; either reading a book, fishing or paddling the canoe slowly around the lake. The birds and fire flies to add a nice touch to anyone's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Outdoor pond, canoeing, fishing, paddle boats etc. was a hit with my children. The grounds were clean and the building was nicely painted. However, the room reminded me of an old fish camp from the 60's and the beds......wow......you could feel the springs under you with every move. This was truly an awful night's sleep and my 5 hour drive home the next day was miserable as a result. I would gladly pay more to stay there had the beds and room been up to date. When you are in the hotel business your beds at least should be comfortable. I cannot recommend because of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for visiting with us and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the lake, hopefully you were able to catch a fish or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, Sc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent two nights in room 101. I chose this "apartment" because of the description of the water falling over the dam at night. I love the beach, but it was too far for us to travel for just two nights. We did, indeed listen to the water all night long. It wasn't the same as the flowing of the ocean, but calming, nonetheless. The apartment isn't modern, but that wasn't what we were looking for. It was clean and comfortable. It was just far enough away that we were out of town, but close enough that we can go back to the local restaurants we tried. Incidentally, we were able to try several restaurants that offered discounts for just showing our room key. Nice. The little lake at the lodge was just right to canoe around and we spent some time doing just that. The price at the lodge is reasonable considering what a lot of places charge for just a room. We had a full kitchen with all of the cookware and dishes supplied to us. (Just like what we look for at the beach) I'd gladly stay here again for a night or two away from the norm of our hectic life.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpetmanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for spending some time with us. Suite 101 is our most popular because of the waterfall. Since, we don't have a restaurant onsite, we're glad that we could team up with some local restaurants for discounted meals. We do look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Price is hard to beat. On a small, charming lake with a dam/waterfall with well kept grounds. Small wooden pier was home to a solitary guitar and harmonica player on the weekend. Our room was a little worn and bruised but clean. Only dissapointment was the mattress was not very comfortable. Service desk available during regular business hours.
Almost within walking distance is the Wrinkled Egg, Hubba Hubba and Dean's Deli as well as a great wine shop called Just Vino. Donwtown Hendersonville is less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and had time to sit by the lake and relax. The local shops are definitely a treat for visitors as well as locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
1.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Property: Mill House Lodge
Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing