We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver,NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our 4th stay at Mill House Lodge in 2 years. My husband and I are looking forward to our autumn visit this year as well. It is clean, the grounds are trimmed beautifully, the help is friendly and its cozy. If your goal is to sit on the porch with a drink in hand, and enjoy the tranquility and breathe in the scents of fresh cut grass, mountain breezes and rain coated long leaf pine, then come visit. You won't be disappointed. We look forward to our stay so much that we usually book our next stay within weeks of our return. It is a hidden jem I hardly want to tell others about, but looks like some have discovered it for themselves. Julia Z

Room Tip: Room 301 is nice because it only has a neighbor on one side and it faces the lake for coffee in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_NCJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad your accommodations were enjoyable and your had a great time. Let us know if you need anything or have any questions. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
39
37
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a nice experience at the Mill House Lodge. The room was clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner, but was alright. The bed was VERY comfortable. The location was perfect. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We're very glad your stay was enjoyable

As a historic property we work hard to be a welcome 'home from home' for our guests, while you enjoy the wonderful location and attractions here in Western North Carolina.

We love that you felt our beds were really comfortable, and will certainly look at the bathroom, as we strive to provide not only a comfortable an relaxing lodge, as well as a very clean one.

Again, thank you for your visit and the feedback,

The Mill House Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Quaint and rustic. Clean and you can't beat the value. The owners where accommodating and though it wasn't fancy, it was clean and comfy. Our kids loved the pond and pool, and waking up to the sounds of nature is wonderful. Flat rock is situated in the middle of many outdoor activities. Check out Flat Rock play house, hike up to Glassy Top mountain for some spectacular views and breath on the fresh air!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scartlettelizbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.

As a historic property we work hard to create an enjoyable experience, and are very thankful to hear from all of our guests.

Flat Rock, Hendersonville and Asheville are just some of the wonderful gems here in Western North Carolina.

We look forward to serving you again

The Mill House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The room was not rustic. It was dirty and musty. The floors were disgustingly dirty and I had a 2 year old that wanted to play on the floor. We were told there was free WiFi. When we couldn't connect we were told that, we just had to connect to the WiFi out on the porch and then go into the room. When that didn't work we were told that they didn't know what to tell us. Then when we talked to someone cleaning the rooms we were told that the WiFi never works in our room. Then we found out that, yes the WiFi would work if we were to sit at the pool or out on our porch and our porch faced a brick wall. Never mind that I wanted to use the WiFi in my room while my 2 year old slept.

The mattresses were old and the linens were worn and scratchy. The cabinet under the bathroom sink leaked; the only place you could put your toiletries. Not only that, our bathroom door wouldn't shut. We went to the front desk and complained about the door, we were told that the manager would be notified. We heard nothing.

I also found it very interesting that it was hard to pick a room for the time we wanted to stay in the area because their website showed everything was booked. In the two lodges that I was near, there were maybe 5 rooms rented. Two of those being booked by my party. I will say that when I checked out I complained about having to go over my data to be able to use the Internet. I requested a small refund for having gone over on my data and for the inconvenience. While I did receive a small compensation the entire experience left a bad taste in my mouth for this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your stay. We appreciate that every guest has a choice as to where they stay. We work hard to ensure that our guests overall experience is as enjoyable as possible.

It is always sad to hear when a guest has a less than satisfactory visit. We thank you for your comments and as always review them and look to ensure that the next guest does not have a similar experience.

We would love to hear from you privately, so please contact us further via email - info@millhouselodge.com, please reference your stay.

We do know that other members of you party enjoyed their time here and stayed much longer, and again are saddened that your stay was not as expected.

Respectfully
The Mill House Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Don't even know where to start. It was an adventure for me and my 8 year old daughter. However, the adventure turned horribly wrong when the owner -BOB, ended up being the creepiest person ever. We cooked a pizza in the oven and the smoke alarm kept going off. I didn't realize until 3 alarms later that it was the carbon monoxide alarm going off. When I finally got someone to answer the office door, BOB (I figured he was a $10/hour employee bc of how he acted, but later found out he was the owner), was horribly unprofessional. When I told him about the carbon monoxide issue, he immediately started muttering under his breath and made me feel very uncomfortable. I won't even get into the whole story, but I've never had such a bad "customer service experience" ever. I'm a single mom and this night was my 8 year olds "present" for doing such a great job in 2nd grade. Too bad we were made to feel so weird from pointing out a danger to all the guests. We had to leave the hotel at around midnight to search for another room. I can understand an oven malfunction, but the owner's reaction to the issue made me feel truly unsafe. My daughter, who I just hiked the Camino trail with in Spain, was bawling and begged me to leave this place. Hate that he puts such a negative light on this potentially beautiful spot in the mountains. Ps / I've never given a bad review of anything. The only word to describe my experience was "creepy." My sister, after hearing our story, found another review saying how "creepy" Bob is. Beware.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SOTss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Owner at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback; we understand that you were upset about the incident, and value your opinion. The alarm/carbon monoxide detector was tripped as a result of the smoke from burning a pizza in the oven at 11:00 PM that evening. In addition, as we discussed, all the windows were closed, the fan was not running, and the air conditioner had been turned off.

As in any enclosed space -- especially an historic property -- ventilation and air circulation is a priority when using the stove and/or oven. Once the smoke was gone from the room, the alarm and CO2 light were back to normal.

It was quite an unfortunate incident, and we do However it was completely isolated to your room; No smoke detectors were lit or sounded in any other room. While I understand that you would have preferred us to vacate all of the guests from the lodge at midnight, removing the batteries and taking the alarm off the wall are never an option, and these actions pose more of a safety hazard to other guests, than our decision to let them sleep comfortably.

We regret your decision to leave our facility and find other accommodations. We did refund your money, and call you the next morning to follow up. We sincerely hope you were able to enjoy our beautiful mountains, and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aynor, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here about 18 years ago and just had not made it back. Thought we would try again. Though dated, the room in Lakeview was very clean and neat. We had our own porch complete with rocking chairs and a lovely view of the lake. Though truly minutes from every convenience, the location is peaceful and tranquil. We enjoyed the canoes and the paddle boats. We also like the idea of not being closed up in a hotel. Here, you can relax in your room, read on the porch or take a walk around the lake. The village of Flat Rock is 1/2 mile down the road and has a fantastic bakery. We also enjoyed the Garden Show this weekend in downtown Hendersonville ( a 10 minute drive)- we parked and walked along main street and enjoyed the many shops and restaurants there. Asheville is 18 miles from this location if you choose to go, however, we found there was plenty to do and see in the Hendersonville area. Had a minor injury and needed medical care. The Pardee Hospital is minutes from the lodge; we received excellent care there. Overall, a relaxing weekend. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Lakeview is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It's wonderful that you returned. Though 12 years, between visits, lets hope you will visit sooner.

We're constantly looking to improve our guests experience and love that the experience keeps you wanting to come back for more.

Humbly,
The Mill House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
287 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've stayed at this property several times & found it to be everything I required! Love the off the grid feeling & being close to major hiking venues! Location was great with regardd to meeting friends in Asheville later after hiking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oek9mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We love to hear from our regulars, and why they love it.

Thanks again.
The Mill House Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
1.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
60 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
717 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Property: Mill House Lodge
Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing