We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Very disorganized wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Very disorganized wedding venue”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I will start with the positives. Highland Lake Inn is a gorgeous place. It is nestled in the woods and truly feels like a mountain resort. The food is fabulous (at Seasons), but as a wedding venue I would urge brides who want a reliable, organized, venue to stay away. We had a multiple of problems with this venue over the course of the year we were planning our wedding. These problems ranged from 2.5 month wait on email response, to major issues with the bartenders at our wedding. If it were not for the food, the fact that our wedding guests could stay on site and the atmosphere of the place itself, I would have cancelled our contract and found a new venue. Once I started working with Crissy Walter in the last few months (She was the 3rd or 4th person assigned to help us due to people leaving), things did improve and she was a pleasure to work with, but overall working with this venue was a major headache as a bride and I would not wish that on anyone.

Room Tip: The Primrose Suite is gorgeous, romantic and perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent wedding at Highland Lake Inn and also, for sharing your concern with instances of lack of communication on the part of Highland Lake Inn. We were pleased that you found our facility, our grounds and our food delightful. We loved that you loved our Honeymoon Suite, The Primrose.


Still, we want to share our deepest apologies for the lack of attention you experienced in the early spring before you got to our wonderful employee, Crissy. It is not our intent or our way to have anyone feel ignored by us, and we sincerely felt you were happy with your experience as we listened to your comments after the event. We take great pride in our more normal high level of service standards and are saddened you felt we did not do our best as we coordinated and communicated to you prior to your very special event.

Our sales manager who was coordinating the details of your wedding suffered a serious medical emergency late last year only to find out in late February she would be unable to return to work. During the interim we filled in the coordination of your wedding with another employee who unexpectedly left us and relocated to another state. I am certain this unfortunate sequence of events was disturbing for you. This should not be your concern though. The event coordinator you were able to speak with beginning in March, quickly picked up to ensure all was well-planned and executed prior to each wedding during this spring and summer season. As you can see from all the wonderful reviews here on Trip Advisor, our more normal services levels and communications are very high. We have hosted 1000’s of successful weddings here in the last 15 years where we have delighted our guests in everything we did. We intend to consistently do that going forward and will use your criticism as a gift to help us refocus our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    87
    23
    13
    12
See reviews for
128
143
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The stay there was amazing! The first 3 nights we stayed in the Lodge and the other 2 we stayed in the Primrose Suite. Both were extremely clean and well kept. The Lodge has a large lobby area that was perfect to hang out with the family we had there and a downstairs rec room that entertained us all for hours. Breakfast every morning was great and a huge selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place to someone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful view of Highland Lake Inn & Resort. We are so pleased to have you stay with us. Yes Primrose is a wonderful cottage as well as the Lodge. The Lodge is especial great for families to have open space.
It is always our desire to have guests feel at home and comfortable with their stay whether traveling with family, as a couple or an individual.
Thank you again for sharing your experience at Highland Lake Inn and Resort and Season’s at Highland Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was in charge of planning the family vacation for 2015 or 2016 summer and wanted to stay here. Planning was very easy using all of the wonderful info on the website. So I sent everyone (over 30 people/families) the website link to get their input, and when my sister-in-law tried to find out about the various lodging types, the website no longer described the different accommodations. Having to put in specific dates at this point just to see what types of lodging you have was a ridiculous waste of our time. Also - a 1-2 paragraph description of the resort is not helpful in the least without pictures and links for more info - which you can't even get to without plugging in dates. The old website had links to more things to do in the areas around the resort, and there's no info on kayack or golf cart rentals, or anything else for activities on the resort grounds anymore. And saying to contact you by phone is not really an option for 30+ of us. So - Needless to say - that with an unusable website that family members around the country can tap into, no one is interested anymore in staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, Director of Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for sharing with us the troubles your family is having with our website. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. We have been updating and working to enhance our website for a “friendlier” site. There might be a possibility the family member was viewing our site in a “mobile view” with only the three bars giving the opportunity to view our lodging, menus, activities and other special features. Also, a guest should not have to use the “reservation now” button to find out about our rooms. We are working with our webmaster for the correction of this unfortunate experience. We invite you to contact us to work with the sales team to provide information to plan your family reunion with us. Our sales team is available to help you “see” the rooms on line and work through a great family reunion package price for a 2015 or 2016 reunion. We look forward to hearing from you and letting us share the exciting place of Highland Lake Inn & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely Inn. We stayed in the Lodge, a rustic building with lots of old fashioned charm. We enjoyed walking the property seeing the lake and waterfall taking in the peace and tranquility of the grounds. We met friends for an exceptional dinner at the Seasons restaurant. Breakfast is included and truly the two we had were among the best we've enjoyed at any hotel in our many travels. It's worth going back just for those exceptional meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfassbender, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
How delightful that your stay with us was so pleasant! Our grounds are lovely this time of year and we invite our guests to fully enjoy the property. One of the nicest things about staying here is knowing you are within walking distance of a wonderful meal...so we are happy that breakfast and dinner with us were memorable as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to spend a long weekend here and had a relaxing and wonderful time. We will be back!
The resort has cabins and a B&B hotel, where we stayed. The bed was very comfortable, the room was nicely furnished and clean.
The breakfast buffet was impressive and very good.
If you are looking for a place that is quiet and off the highway and back in the woods then this is your spot.
However If you have the urge to get out of the quiet the fun city of Hendersonville is only 10 minutes a way.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our property. We are delighted that you had such a memorable experience and we hope that you plan to come again soon. We wish you and your family a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, FLorida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent one night at the beautiful Inn and just loved it! We relaxed in the hammock, paddled on the beautiful lake with a nice cool breeze, saw a cute rabbit hopping around (probably toward the organic garden (look out Mr. McGregor) and the hubby loved looking at all the different birds on the grounds. Saw the tennis courts and pool but did not partake. Lots of children and dogs that appeared to also love the place!! THe dinner and breakfast were wonderful as was our lovely server Jessica. Had one of the great big heirloon tomatoes from the Asheville Farmers Market with my breakfast meal which only enhanced their pimento spread and fried green tomato's that were provided. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had an internet issue which was resolved to our satisfaction. I look forward to going back again and enjoying this gem of a hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKelleyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner with us at Season's. We have passed on your kind words to Jessica; all of our servers are so delighted when guests enjoy their dining experience! We are also happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the property while you were here. We do hope to see you again soon and wish you and your family a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

During our stay, the food at the restaurant, which is pretty renowned, was average at best. The room in the lodge was acceptable but again nothing special, and really "creaky". Wifi worked well, which is sometimes a problem in "rustic" places.

Room Tip: If staying in the lodge, consider using a white-noise generator. It's "creaky".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8005551212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We at Season's want EVERY meal and dining experience to be exceptional and are so sorry that you found your meal lacking. If you would be interested in elaborating on your comments, please call our Restaurant Manager, Cathy Horton, at 828-696-9094. We learn from constructive criticism and would welcome your input!
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodge. This is an historic building and a better fit for your stay may have been a room in our Woodward House. You can see all of the accommodations that we offer on our website hlinn.com. We have something to fit everyone. We hope that you and your family will come again this summer so that you can have a very memorable Highland Lake Inn & Resort experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
749 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
71 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville

Property: Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Address: 86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Flat Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the early 1900s-when a group of visionary gentleman from the South Carolina low-country founded Highland Lake Club-the land that now comprises Highland Lake Inn & Resort has been attracting visitors looking for rest, relaxation and recreation. Set amid 26 scenic wooded lakeside acres in Western North Carolina, perhaps no other destination in Western North Carolina combines an authentic mountain experience with such an array of amenities and services. Each season offers guests something special, something unique, which beckons exploration. Our guests enjoy full access to our on-site amenities that will satisfy or exceed the expectations your family, group, or significant other. We pride ourselves on a unique brand of service-that's both anticipatory and responsive-to make sure you and your company enjoy everything we have to offer. Our amenities include dining at our award-winning Season's Restaurant; exploring our 26 wooded-acres either on foot or riding our complimentary bikes; discovering the 40-acre lake by fishing from the dock (catch-and-release) or boating using our complimentary canoes, kayaks and paddleboats; staying outdoors enjoying our swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day), volleyball, tennis, horseshoes and badminton; heading inside to our family game room for pool, ping pong and foosball; or, relaxing with an in-room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Flat Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing