We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopping place, convenient overnight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlsbad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlsbad RV Park and Campground
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good stopping place, convenient overnight”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We arrived after about a 9 hour haul. Very friendly folks, quick check in, park is average. We were able to get in, get set up and go to dinner in very short order. And it is on the Passport America discount program. Not fancy, but very good for our needs. I will stop there again when traveling thru the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGJ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    29
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
27
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Kinda old and hokey facilities, but usable. Restroom terrible, how much does a bucket of paint cost again? Yours is peeling. Friendly staff. Would have given it an average had it not been for the swimming pool down for maintenance reasons over Memorial day. Very bad form when it's 100+ outside. Business 101: The facility should have had proper contingency plans worked out so your not chasing off paying customers. Wife report: "They clearly don't do maintenance." Marked ratings according to poor business planning on the parks part. Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank New Mexico Camp... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Gulf Breeze, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just a bit pricey for a 4 day stay. A little more than $150 and I had a %10 discount! Friendly and helpful staff. WIFI was in and out. Cable is nothing more than analog (antenna) TV. Does have a pet friendly dog run. Never did use the pool or other facilities so can't comment on them. Would stay again but not for long, just because of the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed only one night and had a couple of issues. First the gal at the front desk assured us that we didn't have to worry about hooking up to the water which she was charging us for because it was only going down to 40 degrees. We were getting inconsistent weather reports on line and figured they would know better than us what to expect. It went below freezing, but fortunately we have an outdoor thermometer and were able to disconnect before damage was done. We were also charged for a 50 amp electrical hookup, but when we tried to plug into it, our high quality internal surge protector indicated that the line was ungrounded, which in our system means it won't connect. Same error occurred for the 30 amp, but not on the 20 amp. So we ran on 20 amps (no microwave, blowdryer, etc.). When we inquired about the grounding issue, the male owner indicated that a lot of people with surge protectors had gotten the same errors, but that his electrician had checked it out, and said everything was fine. He suggested that ours and other camper's surge protectors were no good, and that we should basically override ours. REALLY!?!?!

This place was only concerned about making money and not what damage they could cause. Regrettably, we ran our water pump on their 20 amp and it hasn't worked since.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheriBfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a comfortable park, appears to be pretty full all the time. Office personnel were very helpful. Our site was on the edge of the park, which we definitely appreciated. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. My only real complaint is that the wifi is non-existent -- frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTnative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertram, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family came here on a last minute stop on our New Mexico vacation. The staff was friendly and helpful. We went to the game room, it was a blast, several items required no money. I think we had more fun here then at any other RV park we have stopped at. It was clean, and not too small. I would come here again. It even had a heated pool, we felt the water with toes, and it was warm, but since we did not bring shorts or suites did not swim. I will remember to pack them next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrrisonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed here one night so that we could see the Caverns. It is about a 30 minute drive to the Caverns. The front desk lady was extremly friendly, let us leave our camper in overflow parking because we got there to early to check in. The bathrooms were ok, not gross but nothing spectacular. The cable hookup was nice too. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank betboop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlsbad RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlsbad RV Park and Campground

Property: Carlsbad RV Park and Campground
Address: 4301 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220-9033
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Carlsbad
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing