We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If not for the price...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If not for the price...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

First things first. I read other reviews where people obviously expect more for the price. Yes, the rate would fetch an elegant experience in most major cities. Guess what, this is not a major city. If you want to take your children to a place where adults aren't "enjoying themselves," as they were in a pool at another national chain, allegedly reputable hotel we drove by, accept the high prices the more well known, safe places will charge. Second, you know you are at a Fairfield Inn, so expect the standard, but nothing more or less. -- There was nothing wrong with our stay. The hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and attentive. The complimentary breakfast had a decent variety and was on par with most Fairfield Inns. -- They will accept most discounted rates as in AAA, government, etc. Yes, the rate is highway robbery, but all the nice places seem content to commit the same crime. The following day, we paid $90 less at a five star resort in Taos.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    95
    59
    14
    14
See reviews for
118
69
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I am a Marriott sliver member and used points for this visit with my nephew, niece and their 3 yr old. It was fine for one night stay but it would be nice to know that the pool was closed if a family were staying several days. The breakfast could only have been better if real eggs were used, as it did seem they were possibly powdered a bit odd tasting. Otherwise for one night the facility was good, and the fitness room was large enough for my nephew and I to use it for yoga as it was large enough to spread out two mats.l

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Kellie Araiza, Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites-Carlsbad, NM
KellieA@intermountainhotels.com
(575) 887 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, young son, aunt and I spent one night in the Fairfield Inn. The staff was friendly, and allowed us to check in to our room an hour early. Upon inspection, the room and linens were clean and updated, with a green and blue color scheme. The bathroom was well maintained with no stains and plenty of towels. Breakfast was provided and included eggs, two kinds of sausage, a nice yogurt selection, bagels, muffins and other baked goods, waffle maker and assorted hot and cold cereals. The location felt safe, and the parking lot had good lighting.

The only cons for this stay were the pool being drained so we couldn't go swimming, and the eggs at breakfast were very odd tasting - most likely powdered - and we didn't finish them.

I'd recommend and stay here again; however, points were used to pay for the rooms and I cannot speak for the value of the room, financiall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyElfMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Don't waste your money or points staying here! Pool is closed; the front desk has no idea when it will reopen. There are no outside areas to relax; no shade available since the pool area is closed. They really need to pressure wash the entry and public areas; very dirty. Not the Marriot property that I'm used to seeing. Poor house keeping practices; my bed was barely smoothed out.

Room Tip: Since it's on a main highway ask for a room on the back; truck traffic 24/7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madre803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
First off I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Carlsbad. I apologize for any inconveniences our pool being out of order may have caused you during your stay. Unfortunately it is out of our control as to when it will reopen. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We've stayed at Marriott properties for over two decades and this was one of the worst. Right now there are not enough hotels for the demand in Carlsbad and the hotel must be using this to as a reason to provide poor service. Astonishingly, I caught the house housekeeping staff inserting their own "Do Not Disturb" sign in the my door in order to get out of making up the room!

Room Tip: Stay in Roswell or El Paso
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie A, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of any assistance, please don not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Kellie Araiza Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites-Carlsbad, NM
KellieA@intermountainhotels.com
(575) 887 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I used points to stay here because the price was so high. (The points price was very reasonable.)

Good breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool which unfortunately gathers a lot of leaves. There's also a whirlpool. In addition to the pool area, there's an open patio area for gatherings.

My biggest complaint was the windows. Terrible! Both nights I stayed there were windy, and the whistling and groaning noises were unbelievable. I was woken up several times.

The small gym was adequate for me (had a treadmill).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,320 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our family stayed in a suite for one night in May. Overall, the hotel was ok but it wasn't worth the $230/night that we paid. From what I could see, the pricing issue isn't unique to this hotel as everything in Carlsbad seems to be priced too high.

I haven't stayed in a Fairfield Inn in a while but I was surprised that our room was so modern looking. It had the Ikea-based look of a W hotel. I would have preferred something more traditional. Also, I wouldn't recommend paying the extra money for a suite. Based on the layout of the suite, the extra room isn't very usable. Save the money and get a regular room.

The breakfast was good but it wasn't as good as the Holiday Inn Express breakfast that we got the night before in Alamogordo. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Address: 2525 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6521
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico is just minutes away from the famous Carlsbad Caverns National Park, the Living Desert Zoo & Gardens State Park and the Pecos River. Experience more than 117 known caves at the Carlsbad Caverns - all formed when sulfuric acid dissolved the surrounding limestone. Located in the northern part of the Chuhuahuan Desert, Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico is centrally located to Roswell, Artesia, El Paso, and Midland. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico provides you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Our knowledgeable and courteous staff is available to help 24 hours a day. Take advantage of our complimentary amenities at Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad New Mexico, including breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi in the lobby. Enjoy comfortable and spacious guest rooms that allow you to work and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Fairfield Inn And Suites Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing