We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stevens Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 22 June 2014

When in Carlsbad, I always stay at the Best Western because it is always clean and attractive with the best breakfast around and an excellent restaurant. The employees are always a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The 1st room had a cooling problem and the a/c sockets in the bathroom would not hold on to the plug. There were also may flies in the room. After killing 10 and going out for dinner, there were more flies. Then the a/c quit completely. We moved but only had one bed. Moved again in the morning to another room that was supposed to be clean and ready. After hauling suitcases across the complex we found that the room was still occupied. Frustration.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dick. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed at the Best Western in carlsbad and it is a very nice hotel. The exception being that I was at the hotel bar eating dinner and talking with friends and when it hit 21:00 a security guard told me I needed to leave. When I asked why he stated it was because I didn't have on a collard shirt......at the Best Western.....not a country club but the Best fricking Western! Long story short this place will get no more of my money because they are kicking very good paying customers out for reasons that are unacceptable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were pleased with the room size, but found that the room was a little dated. The breakfast was good enough and there were cookies at the front desk. The internet never worked. In addition, there were no chairs at the pool. If you had small kids who wanted to go in the pool, you would have to go in with them or sit on the cement to watch them.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We originally booked a suit, booked severall weeks in advance, called the night before to check on the room to get there and have no room at all. We we're offered two queen beds and some extra blankets for someone to sleep on the floor. Our group is on a 11 day road trip with no way to change plans, so we agreed for one to stay on the floor. To find out OUR BEDROOM WAS TAKEN not once but TWICE. The service was terrible, Justin blaming the horrible service on a human error and was no help to finding a extra bed. We canceled our room and stayed at the Days inn in town who was very helpful and not a bad rate at all!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katelynwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my fifth stop on my road trip from Los Angeles, California to Quebec city, Canada. Great hotel but not a great value. They have a good breakfast, the staff was friendly, the room was large and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The motel rooms were large and clean, much nicer than I would expect from a place with doors that open to the outside. The bed was comfortable and I received a decent night's sleep. These are the important things.

On the other hand. We stayed in building 6. The internet here was on-and-off (mostly off). We had great wifi signal on all of our devices, we just couldn't reach the internet. I first thought it was just overcapacity on the network, but I woke up early (6:15am) and tried with even worse luck.

The breakfast food was good, typical of what one would expect at a motel, however it seemed a bit disorganized. The place was very crowded, with no instructions on where to sit, whether to get in line for the buffet, or sit down first, it was just frustrating. When we finally sat and got our meals, we had to run down a waitress for silverware. A meal ticket is required to get the 'free' breakfast, we enjoyed that on the front it was printed, "don't forget your server, please tip"... We never saw a server.

Anyway, it was a decent nights sleep, but we'll probably try to stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in building 6 if you want good internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: £135 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing