We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow internet and Dirty carpet”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stevens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stevens Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
1 review
“Slow internet and Dirty carpet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel needs internet upgrade and some new carpet. Dont count on getting any work done here. Make sure and bring your slippers so you can walk on the carpet in your room. The Staff was helpful but the hotel needs an upgrade badly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 63nickj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    164
    141
    76
    63
See reviews for
215
152
23
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked two nights at this motel in June. We ended up staying one night and then staying at another hotel down the road. Hotels in Carlsbad are expensive, but for the price here, I expected clean towels and a comfortable room. The room had an odor about it, the towels were visibly dirty, there were cigarette burns in the blankets, and the AC wasn't adequate. There are buildings close to the road and the truck traffic lasts all night. When we checked out, the front desk did knock $50 off the bill. Definitely not up to the standards I expect from Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomersaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Bedford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting Carlsbad Caverns. The prices were the most reasonable in the area that I was able to find. It's a motel v. hotel (room entrances on the outside) so that made sense. The front desk had cookies which were a huge hit with my boys. The rooms were large and clean.WiFi was spotty and I wasn't always able to get a connection. Fortunately we were there for the Caverns. They do have a decent breakfast buffet included in the rate - eggs , sausage, biscuits, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, etc. We would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
issaquah, wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

one word: cockroaches! since I must add additional words to reach a 200 character minimum, I will say that I presented the checkout woman with a photo of a dead cockroach in our bathroom wastebasket (my wife performed the execution) and she didn't seem surprised. She said that they come in looking for water, and that she would get the guy to spray. She thanked me...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dnb5502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

After a 15 day road trip, this hotel was a relaxing stop. Big, nice, and clean rooms. Comfy beds and plenty of pillows. Yummy hot breakfast with a variety of foods. Son enjoyed the pool. Lots of oil workers at hotel but still quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Emergency car repairs brought two weary travelers to BW Stevens Inn in Carlsbad, NM where we were greeted with helpful front desk staff who helped us locate a Toyota dealership (68 miles away) who could help us the next day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AJB2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

When in Carlsbad, I always stay at the Best Western because it is always clean and attractive with the best breakfast around and an excellent restaurant. The employees are always a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stevens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stevens Inn

Property: Stevens Inn
Address: 1829 S Canal St, Carlsbad, NM 88220-6517
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stevens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally know as Best Western Stevens Inn we are now Independent and are doing business as Stevens Inn Inc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stevens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stevens Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Best Western
Best Western Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing