We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay just for the amazing rooftop views!”
Review of Hotel East Houston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel East Houston
Ranked #342 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay just for the amazing rooftop views!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We stayed for one night over a weekend. It was pricey but I really wanted to stay here just for the rooftop terrace and amazing views. Yes, the rooms are small but this IS the city and apartments are this small here. If you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, then the small space should not matter. There is no breakfast available but they do have coffee and tea between certain times in the morning. There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance of the hotel with mixed price points. We walked the Brooklyn Bridge and the views were phenomenal. At night we brought a six pack up to the roof and enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building. Make time to hang out up there. Rooms were clean and quiet (!) and service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arielrose04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    187
    64
    12
    14
See reviews for
24
200
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I enjoyed my stay for four nights at this hotel. Nice, stylish, clean place with helpful staff and fast wireless. I took a queen size room with a really nice bathroom which had effective air con in the intense NY summer heat. Also the roof terrace is really beautiful. Worth noting that although there is great tea and coffee all day tthey don't do breakfast. I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had booked one of this hotel's single rooms. The room was so small, smaller than indicated when I booked the room, that I had to remove one of the night stands from the room in order for my suitcase to fit in the room. To make matters worse, it was difficult to unpack it, as the tiniest of tiny wardrobes only fitted 4-5 hangers. When I asked at reception where I should leave my luggage, the only response I got was that they knew the room was very small and that I had to live with it. They suggested to bring more hangers, pretty useless, as the tiny wardrobe could only hold the 4-5 already in there. This hotel should really give more consideration to its guests, for example by providing some extra shelves so that one can actually unpack luggage. And why dark wooden panels on the walls, this makes the room optically even smaller!

On the plus side: I liked the wooden floors and the shower. The bed was not bad either, so I basically only used the room for sleeping. Nevertheless, definitely not an experience to repeat and not good value for money.

Room Tip: Don't trust the room sizes given. In reality they are much smaller and you also have to take int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at your hotel last July and I was recently reminded about my stay. This hotel is amazing, especially for those of us on a budget. We had such a pleasant stay, in a very clean, quiet, and beautiful room. We expected the room to be smaller, obviously because it is NYC, but it was very functional and exactly what we needed. I will definitely stay here again. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in May. Reception staff were very friendly and the hotel had a very welcoming feel to it. Room was very small but adequate as sightseeing most of time. Tea and coffee available in basement as well as free internet access. A little noisy at night plus our room on 6th floor suffered from a noisy generator. However, overall very comfortable with good restaurants nearby and less hectic than Midtown Manhattan. Also pleasant roof terrace with good views. Would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The room was small, however, the hotel is well kept, beautiful, worth every penny spent:) Our AC broke down and they fixed it immediately. Coffee was fantastic! Right next to the subway...we went to da Bronx, Queens, Brooklyn & Manhattan. Very nicely located.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzers, Liechtenstein
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

East Houton Hotel has small rooms with nice bath rooms, comfortable beds in a convenient location with a really nice rooftop bar/garden/balcony and free wifi. Can be a little bit nosy with the east houston street in front of the room but during the night is generally quite. Homepage better than the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
144 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#382 of 467 in New York City
44 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#92 of 467 in New York City
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#374 of 467 in New York City
267 reviews
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#395 of 467 in New York City
24 reviews
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#362 of 467 in New York City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel East Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East Houston

Property: Hotel East Houston
Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel East Houston 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel East Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing