We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rare gem for NYC”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #351 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a rare gem for NYC”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a very good place for a short stay. The hotel is situated near subway (2 Avenue), all kind of restaurants are close to the hotel (Katz Delicatessen is round the corner). My room was small but cozy, warm and it had everything you need. And the most important - the hotel has a wonderful terrace on the 7th floor with a fantastic view on skyscrapers - you can have your own breakfast/lunch enjoying the view and life in NYC.

One problem is that the water in shower was hardly hot during my stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizaveta_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    188
    65
    12
    15
See reviews for
24
202
75
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Nice thing is it's really near a subway. Staff are very courteous. A lot of food choices around the area. But i find it expensive for a downtown location. No breakfast, and the basement kinda dark if you want to spend sometime to have your coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrowbackTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NT Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I am not sure what others expect but as old backpackers and plush hotel users - people have to make up their own minds for us this hotel was the perfect way to end our journey in NY and our third and final hotel for the trip. We had just come from the Novotel Times Square and at half the price 151 offered a great final stop we wish we had arrived a few days earlier and saved our pockets! Our room looked over the side street so at night there was some noise from the bar but close the window and...no noise. The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and adequate, especially compared with some of the more pricey hotels in Central NY. Staff were friendly and really helpful. Subway to Brooklyn, Central NY (10 mins and you are there),close little spots to eat or stroll (20 mins to Little Italy, Chinatown,Mott St, Broadway) for other great spots and
wonderful shopping. Katz deli ( where Harry met Sally) is to the right and do go for wander that way for little galleries and some suburban life in the Big Apple. Free wifi and wonderful roof top deck - not offered in much more expensive hotels. We went to the Whole food mart next door OMG cheeses and beers! On the roof top what a treat! One thing- the coffee and the room it is served in - get some plants, nice smelling candles or something to make it a little more homely - easy to do cheaply in NY and we would have been there each morning just to say hi and start the day. Full on breakfast not required as there is too much outside but a nice space to start the day is always going to do wonders. Overall hotel is great.

Room Tip: Stop whinging - really if you can find a better hotel for the price I'd like to see it. NY is ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Do not trust the photos, my standard room and the corridors were full of dirty spots and black marks, damaged old burst furniture. Cheap and fine dirty carpet, noisy elevator that rings at every use and next to 4 rooms, nothing is sound proof. One TV channel had no sound. No breakfast served. There was a Gedeon Bible in the tiny wardrobe. I was charged $250 per night what a misery. Heavy and super noisy street work that makes the East side of Houston Street very noisy and unwelcoming. This hotel would not have 2 stars in Europe. It is what we call in France a seller of sleep and not a Hotel welcoming its guests. See added photos….

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank European T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timgmt, General Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear European T,

Thank you for your honest comments. I’m sorry to hear your stay with us was less than enjoyable. We are in our seventh year in operation and some things are beginning to show their age. We are in the process of retouching and repainting our walls, furniture, fixtures and are also in the process of finding a solution for removing the stubborn stains that remained in this room even after shampoo cleaning in the Fall.

However, we do not have any upholstered furniture in the room you stayed in, never mind any such furniture with burst seams in this room. Our elevator does ring when it reaches the called floor, but I don’t believe that this is unique to our hotel. We have even gone as far as muffling the bell to reduce the noise level of the rings so I can’t imagine it being that much of a nuisance especially considering the location of your room away from the elevator. We haven’t advertised continental breakfast since early 2012 when we canceled the service and extended our coffee & tea hours. During Christmas Week, however, we did bring back pastries and danishes for our guests, but I’m sorry you weren’t with us during this period. As for the construction on Houston St., we have no control over as it is an ongoing City project. Actually we get remarks from guests that our double paned windows do a good job at keeping a lot of the noise out.

Thanks again for commenting on your stay with us. If there’s any chance you’ll return to us, I’d be happy to show you the progress we’re making in maintaining our rooms and help arrange a more pleasant experience for you.

Sincerely,

Tim Cho
Hotel East Houston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just returned from three days in NYC to attend my nephews wedding and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It certainly wasn't highly rated (either 21/2 or 3 stars) but the location was most important to us. It was about 20 minutes from LaGuardia and it is close to both Little Italy and Chinatown (two areas we wanted to explore by just walking over from the hotel). We were greeted at the front desk by Alan who was extremely helpful in every way (restaurant recommendations and calling for cars). One night we wanted to celebrate on the roof terrace and Alan sent up the wine glasses. We also met the general manager who was also quite gracious. We discovered Katz Deli was only two blocks from the hotel and we tried it more than once! The room is small but well done. The bathroom was clean with a very nice shower. Overall, good place for the price!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timgmt, General Manager at The Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear funat65,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you, and I agree, Allen is very helpful indeed. I’m glad to hear you found our location and walking proximity to Little Italy and Chinatown convenient. Situated at the edge of Lower East Side and East Village, we are also within walking distance to SOHO, Nolita and Greenwich Village. So choosing us for your home base in NYC was a very savvy choice in terms of location. Thank you for mentioning our Terrace and wine glass service as well as our small but well-kept rooms.

I hope you had a lovely time celebrating your nephew’s wedding and I thank you for letting us be your home base during the festivities.

Sincerely,
Tim Cho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

One gets accustomed to spending more than $200 per night in New York, but in Midtown that will buy you twice as much space as this small hotel offers in its minuscule rooms. When I checked in to my Queen room I thought there had been a mistake - the 8x12 foot sleeping area (less than two feet on either side of the bed) was much smaller than the norm, but the front desk (extremely polite and helpful staff, by the way) assured me I in fact had a mid-sized room. I can't imagine an adult managing a room any smaller but the option exists.

Room size aside, the East Houston is small and clean though it is a stretch to call it a "Boutique Hotel." The location is perhaps more properly Bowery than SoHo, but it is very convenient: adjacent to a subway line, a block from an enormous Whole Foods and easy walking distance to both SoHo and NoLita. (The Whole Foods has a world class, and separately housed, beer department, by the way). There are a couple of good restaurants nearby and many good dining options within a longer walk or short cab ride. The staff is very helpful but it's not a spot I would go back to - it's too much like a Japanese-style pod hotel, and there are better options nearby that offer more space for about the same price.

Room Tip: See if there is a special - ask for a King room and don't go for anything less than a Queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bawlmer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff was fantastic, and very kind. Very clean hotel. Not a Five Star, but great for the price. The location is really good too, with access to the F subway line a block away.Close to bars, places to eat,and many attractions. The rooms are small, that was the only down side, just a bed and a bathroom.There is a glass wall that seperates the too, but it was ok for the wife and I. Great view from the rooftop deck also.This was a great place to spend a weekend, or a overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#374 of 466 in New York City
50 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#324 of 466 in New York City
144 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 466 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#399 of 466 in New York City
26 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#370 of 466 in New York City
269 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#366 of 466 in New York City
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Property: The Ridge Hotel
Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004 (Formerly Hotel East Houston)
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing